We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specialty events at Cile Rojo! Regular nights are great, too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chile Rojo

Chile Rojo
Main St. | Second Floor, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
00506 27500025
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Specialty events at Cile Rojo! Regular nights are great, too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We did our second special event meal ther last night, a wine pairing dinner of four fabulous courses, and really enjoyed good wines from France. They periodically do these special meals, the last one we did included sushi making lessons. Even on a normal night the meals are consistently good and the service is excellent, all in all, a good value. The rest of the family enjoys the two for one cocktails, and the Monday night buffet.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    85
    31
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good food pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had a really nice meal here, the menu is varied, the cocktails were good and the staff were friendly and able to offer advice and even things that weren't on the menu.
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive for small portions! Wrong name for type of food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I was told to go here for spicy food and read a mixed menu from sushi to Thai food but the portions are small and very pricey. My cousin just wanted to snack so she had an order of fries and we counted 9 fries on the plate! I ordered Guacamole with Chips and the chips were wonton chips (about 8) with literally 2 tablespoons of guacamole and then there was the order of fish tacos with cold tortillas!!! Disgusting and overly priced for their portions. We were there during Happy Hour so we ordered Sangria and it was like drinking cheap wine with canned Del Monte fruits. Don't waste your money there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My Longstanding Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I live in Puerto Viejo and whenever I go out to eat Chili Rojo is one of the first places I think of. Their Chicken Satay and their sushi are my usual choices. I love to sit at their balcony and people watch the street below. It provides entertainment for one eating alone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great food, real friendly owner...500 colones (1US dollar) strawberry tequila shots. Ummm, yes. The burrito was great and the homemade jalapeño hot sauce was unreal. Highly recommend for good food, laid back, in the middle of everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chile Rojo also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Chile Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chile Rojo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.