We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sel et Sucre

Sel et Sucre
100 Metros Sur de la Parada de Bus, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70401, Costa Rica
2750 0636
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 100 m from the sea. Unique place for tasty french crepes (savory or sweet), salads, waffles, fruit juices... and much more! Open from 12pm to 9.30pm. Closed monday.
Heredia
1 review
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Came here with my boyfriend for lunch and then came back for dinner. Crepes were wonderful, filling, and inexpensive. The restaurant is owned by a very kind and friendly man from Bretagne, France who knows Crepes (who better than a Frenchman right?). the owner speaks English, French, and spanish and gave quick service with excellent value. Fairly wide variety on the menu, also with waffles and fresh fruit drinks and cocktails, and two cozy hammock chairs to sit in while you wait. Take out service as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful freshly made food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Visited with family and had a wonderful meal
Only downside was the time taken for preparation but was worth waiting for
Salads also were freshly prepared and delicious

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious treat while traveling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had the La Caraibe sweet crepe with carmelized pineapple, vanilla ice cream and coconut and it was a delicious, large portion that was very well presented. Very cute, comfortable place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Filling Savory Crepes / Perfect Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

If you think crepes can't be a full meal, you'll be suprised after gorging on at crepe filled with ham, rich cheese, and a fried egg on top. Everytime we walked by, it looked like a one-man show, so don't expect it to be super fast. It's worth the wait, though, and the breezy interior was a nice place to rest. This meal kept us full until lunch and was just the morning start we needed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious crepes, salads and bowls of fruit smothered in yogurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have been staying Puerto Viejo for several rainy days now, and Sel et Sucre has become my restaurant destination of choice. What shines through every meal I have eaten at Sel et Sucre is the crisp, fresh ingredients used in each dish. I have eaten the large bowl of fruit with yogurt and granola several times now for breakfast and always it has been served fresh, crisp and chilled. This may seem like a no-brainer, but with all the restaurants in town not having air-conditioning, you can be served a bowl of fruit at room temperature -- think warm and humid -- that tastes so limp the creepy crawlies wouldn't be interested in it. A restaurant just down the street from Sel et Sucre serves there breakfast fruit/yogurt bowl that way -- I found out once.

And Sel et Sucre's crepes and salads are to die for. My favorite crepe contains goat cheese, spinach, tomatoes and almonds and comes with a small salad. I'm dreaming about it right now. Perhaps perfect crepes are in the DNA of Sebastian, who with his wife has run Sel et Sucre for 3.5 years. Sebastian hails from Brittany, France, the Land of Crepes, so you know you are going to be WOWed. And each meal at Sel et Sucre is served in lovely dishes, with that special touch of French elegance.
Sel et Sucre offers dessert crepes, too, though they remain on my to-do list. So little time, so many crepes...
If you love good food, good value, and especially if you love crepes, drop by Sel et Sucre and prepare yourself for a real treat. Great prices too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sel et Sucre also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Sel et Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sel et Sucre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.