We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved every moment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Korrigan Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Korrigan Lodge
Save
You added Korrigan Lodge to your Saves list
Punta Uva | Korrigan Lodge - Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved every moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This stay was awesome. The facilities are well appointed--4 individual cottages with a large bed, safe, shelves, and small bar fridge (used for holding our snacks, beverages, etc). The bathroom had a nice shower, and it was all very clean. There is a central breakfast/meeting area where every morning we had the most incredible breakfast--artfully prepared fresh fruit (4 varieties per day), yogourt and granola, and then the mystery course. One day it was homemade banana and chocolate crepes, another day fresh baked croissants, a different day beautiful fresh brioche...and just when you couldn't eat any more, there was eggs, bacon, sausage, toast...a real delight! The beach was about 300 m away--beautiful, quiet, and perfect for swimming. There was an endless beach. We didn't even get to the end of it. Bassam the wonder dog was always ready to accompany us to the beach.
Pierre and Marisse were fantastic hosts. All of our needs (dinner recommendations, taxi, information about everything in the area) were met above expectation. Pierre also proved to be an expert on all sorts of wildlife, from army ants to sloths and birds. He took us (at no charge) for a four hour hike through a nearby national park, pointing out monkeys, sloths, birds, ants, etc. Alas, we saw no caiman (alligators) on this journey. He also described the history of the region, the plight of some of the indigenous people, and Costa Rica's dedication to environmental preservation.
We were unable to go on a second hike days later, in which the participants went to a waterfall.
There was an informal happy hour attended daily by most of the people at the Lodge (by chance, all Canadians while we were there). It was so much fun!
I understand Pierre and Marisse will be leaving shortly to another venture. The physical Lodge was great, but it is these two people that made this experience outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
193
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at Korrigan Lodge, we only wish it could have been longer. It was the ending of our holiday after a 10 day bus tour of Costa Rica. Marisa and Pierre were terrific hosts, we felt so welcomed. They were so informative of the area, restaurants, wildlife and history. The breakfasts were just delicious and the presentation suberb, by far the best we had on our whole trip! The little cabinas were so unique, clean and comfortable. The comfy hammock on the deck was such a relaxing spot to listen to all the jungle sounds of birds and monkeys. We enjoyed the beach everyday which is only a short walk away, sometimes Bassam the resident Black lab would come to the beach with us, much to our enjoyment. The little beach bar and grill offered delicious shrimp and the best Carribean rice we had ever eaten too.We loved our trip to Costa Rica and Korrigan Lodge was just the icing on the cake. We want to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edsion
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My daugther and I just returned from a stay at the Korrigan Lodge and all the reviews that lead us to making our decision to stay there were spot on!! Amazing grounds, nice, clean hit with modern bathroom! Great filling coked to order breakfasts. Out hosts Piere and Marisse were so accomodating, from an early breakfast to accomadate a tour, and a breakfast in our room the night before when we had to leave at 6AM. Also, in arranging taxi serivce, and info on restaurants. Bassam went with us to the beach, jogged with me and even went in the water! We had mosquito nets, but did not need them...also, ceiling fan kept the place cool! Worth the trip and stay. we were sad to leave! Super close to beach and some excellent restaurants! This is this place to stay, hands down!!! Thanks agian!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Korrigan Lodge turned out to be the perfect place to start our trip. Our hut was super adorable and clean, and the reception/breakfast area turned out to be the focal place at the lodge, where all the guests would congregate and get to know each other at various points during the day. Maryse, Pierre and their dog Bassam are truly what makes this place special. They treat all their guests like old friends and go above and beyond their managerial duties. Their breakfasts were top notch and Pierre's enthusiasm for the wildlife and history of Costa Rica was truly contagious. The lodge is situated only a 20mins bike ride to Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, as well as right across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever visited. It is also only a short walk away from El Refugio (an Argentinian restaurant with 5 star quality food and service. not to be missed!). I could go on and on. Korrigan Beach is the place to be if you are in the area. Our only regret is that we didn't allow for more time there. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived to be met by the warmest welcome imagineable, from Ingrid and Erwan and also Pierre and Marise who are looking after things while Ingrid and Erwan are in France. We spent the first 45 mins before unloading looking at Sloths and Spider monkeys and Toucans that tend to inhabit the surrounding trees. Amazing! Korrigan has been lovingly created with the least possible impact on the environment, and each hut/cabin is a delight. There are only a few of them, so the attention given by Pierre and Marise to guests is unrivalled. Now, to Breakfast! Easily the best breakfast we had in Costa Rica - lovely fruit arrangement, delicious yoghurt and cereal sprinkle, a different pastry everyday and on top of that your choice of eggs, bacon and sausage cooked to order - wow! Pierre is an avid animal watcher, with an infectious enthusiasm and went out of his way to spot things for us. No review would be complete of course without mention of the wonderful resident dog Bassam, who accompanied us to the beach for a swim and guarded our stuff...so thank you to all at Korrigan Lodge for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed 8 nights at the Korrigon Lodge. The cabinas are beautiful, simple, comfortable and well maintained. We had the pleasure of meeting the owners; Ingrid and Erwin, their family and Pierre and Marise. They were all wonderful. They all went out of their way to share information about the area restaurants, wildlife and beaches. We loved the breakfasts. Pierre helped us with a minor medical situation by driving us to the local Doctor. It was a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It's been almost a year since we were there, but to this day, this place has completely raised the bar of hospitality. Pierre and his wife were the caretakers of the hotel while the owners were taking time to raise their baby. Pierre went above and beyond to take care of his guests. He's passionate about the nature and wildlife, and ran around showing everyone the various flora and fauna on the property. He even took us on a private nature hike (with Bassam following of course :) to Punta Uva and the beach. If that wasn't enough, he then drove us and another guest into the jungle and led us on a long hike to beautiful waterfalls and swimming holes. That's not all! The next day he drove all of us hotel guests to Cahuita park and guided us down the beach/reserve showing us even more flora and fauna. Just note, all of these various trips are actual tours that you can take, but he took us all there just because! I can't say this is to be expected by all guests but it was definitely generous and we had the most amazing time thanks to Pierre. Of course the bungalows themselves were really amazing too of course, clean and new, and in a beautiful tranquil jungle setting. We had only booked 2 nights but loved it so much we booked a 3rd night, in a different bungalow because ours was reserved already.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Korrigan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korrigan Lodge

Address: Punta Uva | Korrigan Lodge - Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korrigan Lodge is located in Punta Uva, just a few steps from a beautiful beach, nestled in the heart of the tropical forest. This is an ideal place to fully appreciate the richness of nature with its lush vegetation and its abundance of animal life.Ingrid and Erwan, your French hosts offer quality lodging in 4 comfortable and luxurious bungalows surrounded by a harmonious and enchanting environment designed to guarantee relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Korrigan Hotel Puerto Viejo
Korrigan Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korrigan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.