We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geckoes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geckoes Lodge
Save
You added Geckoes Lodge to your Saves list
Margarita Road | Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge
1 review
“Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Head and shoulders above anywhere else we stayed in CR.
We spent a magical week in the luxurious, architect designed, Casa del Bosque, surrounded by the majestic sight and incredible sounds of the rainforest highlighted by the occasional sighting of howler monkeys, toucans, hummingbirds or morpho butterflies. It felt truly exclusive with only two beautiful, Casas sympathetically arranged with complete privacy from one another in a lush spacious setting.
After a day visiting one of the nearby beaches (Punta Uva, Cocles and Manzanillo were all stunning) it was bliss to return to our immaculate, lovingly finished, casa and take a refreshing dip in the plunge pool or swing in the shady hammocks. Every possible need had been anticipated and nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful hosts Zoe & Tom. Their charming support team Jose & Tita were efficient and unobtrusive.
All in all it was a truly magical place to call home for the week.
We enjoyed many delicious and varied meals all within short driving distance.
El Refugio Grill was particularly good, as was Maxi’s.
I recommend the local cocktail - Caipirinha. (one was probably enough)
The local animal rescue centre is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
69
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The rooms are luxurious, the setting amazing and the hospitality and service faultless at this beautiful private guest lodge in Puerto Viejo. Zoe and Tom took great care of us organising trips and helping us to get around and discover the beaches and rain forests in the area (renting a car or golfcart is recommended to get around easily). We hiked in the rainforest, saw many exotic animals, tried new cuisine and relaxed on lovely beaches and in our own private plunge pool - unfortunately a week was too short to see and do everything we wanted to!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our stay at Geckoes Lodge could not have been better. The location, while off the beaten path enough to be quiet and secluded, was just a short ride away from restaurants and attractions. If you're looking for a place to stay right in the middle of the Puerto Viejo nightlife, this is not the place, if you want some peace and quiet (jungle sounds aside), this is the place for you. Tom and Zoe, the owners, were incredibly helpful and did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

If you don't have a rental car, we would recommend renting a golf cart or 4-wheeler (quad). The taxi service is reliable and efficient, but we enjoyed the freedom to be able to go the beach and town without having to call a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

It sounds like a cliche, but Geckoes is actually more wonderful in person than the beautiful pictures on their website show. It truly feels like you're in a magical treehouse, surrounded by the jungle.
Every amenity has been thought of - from the simple (seasonings, a pair of scissors in the kitchen), to the practical (umbrellas, flashlights, wildlife guide) to the romantic (candles, soft lighting) to the relaxing (hammocks, novels, games). It truly feels like a home away from home. The kitchen is wonderfully stocked with every appliance and amenity; a wonderful fruit basket, refreshing bottle of wine, and juice and milk stocked the fridge. After a long drive from San Jose, Tom offered to run and pick up a pizza for us. Our first eve was spent with pizza and wine, soaking in our own private pool. Does it get any better?
Amenities (groceries, restaurants, wi-fi) are all a short drive away, as are wonderful beaches. They're close enough to be convenient, but just far enough away you truly feel away from it all.

Tom & Zoe are warm, wonderful hosts who have created a true gem. Whenever the stress of L.A. gets too much, I close my eyes and imagine the sound of the monkeys, insects and birds in the morning at Casa Bromelia, sipping my cup of Costa Rican coffee and swinging in the orange hammock!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Casa Del Bosque was so much more than we anticipated! The beauty of the backdrop of the jungle to the special touches and the wonderful service of the owners and caretakers made our visit most memorable. The house felt like home! The privacy of the plunge pool and the extra special amenities enhanced our stay! The location of the property was perfect- a short drive to town and the beach yet secluded and quiet. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

After a long trip, starting in Bremen(Germany) we arrived in a totaly different world in the Caribbbean part of Costa Rica. Geckoes lodge offers two beautiful houses.We stayed in Casa del Bosque. In the morning you open the windows and you see the overwhelming rainforest. it's a very romantic house. nearby are beautiful beaches en lot's of animals sharing their world with you! Indeed barefoot luxury .
The owners(Zoe and Tom) are perfect hosts who make you feel comfortabel from the start.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

By far the best lodge we have been during our 3 weeks stay
We spent eight nights at Geckoes in the Casa Bromelia (2 times 2 bedrooms) and enjoyed a wonderful vacation despite above average rainfall. The house is new, very clean and in a very nice cultivated property in the middle of the jungle.
The house is very high quality and has a nice architecture with lot of well designed details. We traveled a lot in this area and we never saw a comparable house. On the property are 4 houses, in one lives the owner, in the other one lives the gardener Jose together with his wife Tita. Tita is responsible for cleaning the house and running a laundry service which she did perfect.
We always found beautiful tropical bouquet of flowers not only in the living area, but also in the two bedrooms and in the two bathrooms.
The kitchen is fully equipped with high quality equipment. We found enough coffee and a big basked of fresh fruits to survive the first days. Well sorted supermarkets are just 5 min away by car.
The property is big enough that no one in the 4 houses disturbed each other. We and our two kits enjoyed also our private pool/Jacuzzi very much.
Everything in this house is above the norm. The bathroom has a big window to the jungle so you have the impression that you take the shower in the middle of the jungle.
Both bedrooms have fans and mosquito nets. Btw., we had no mosquitoes during our whole stay.
The owners Tom and Zoe are thoughtful and kind, giving their guests enough privacy but offering all sorts of help when called upon. My wife for example asked for a hair dryer, the next day Zoe provided to us two hair driers, one for my wife and one for my daughter.
The location is perfect. You have a couple of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen in Costa Rica very close to the property. Manzanillo is just a 30 min drive away. We have been there several times and enjoyed the beaches and food at Maxi’s.
We have visited the Parque National Cahuita during a day trip and had a great dinner in Cahuita at Coral Reef.
Tom and Zoe know the area very well and were really helpful with recommending tours and restaurants.
Thanks so much to Tom and Zoe for making our start to our 3 week Costa Rica unforgettable. We definitely will come back to Geckoes being next time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geckoes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckoes Lodge

Address: Margarita Road | Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckoes Lodge has two luxury holiday houses, each with a private plunge pool in a magnificent rain forest setting. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, bedrooms with bathrooms en suite, terrace and barbecue next to your private pool. It's a place to escape to but only minutes from spectacular beaches, superb restaurants and all the activities this coast has to offer. Holiday in Barefoot Luxury at Geckoes Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geckoes Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geckoes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.