We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and bright” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Guarana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Guarana
Save
You added Hotel Guarana to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and bright”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We only spent one night here, but enjoyed the accommodations. The kids thought the mosquito netting was neat and the fans kept the place cool. The cabina was clean and only a couple blocks from the main strip. The desk staff were helpful and the grounds filled with flora.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    64
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
94
44
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and found the room and small private terrace really charming. Our beds also had much appreciated mosquito nets. The atmosphere of the place was cozy and serene and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. In fact its entirely thanks to one of the staff that we took an impromptu white water rafting trip - which turned out to be absolutely amazing!
Would definitely recommend this little oasis...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My daughters and I shared a room at this very affordable place located in the heart of Puerto Viejo easily accessible to great restaurants and bars. The hotel is clean and well looked after and what really made the stay so wonderful for us, was the owner Paulo! What a wonderful, warm, kind-hearted Italian man he is and so accommodating. On one of the days we wanted to go check out Punta Uva beach and we asked him the best way to get there. We could have rented bikes - a steal at $5 for the day but I haven't been on a bike in years and was a little apprehensive so we consider either a taxi or bus as it was quite a walk...nowhere near the 15 mins some locals said it would be! Anyway, Paulo said he was going to his farm and he would drop us on the way which he did and he said he would check back in about 4 hours and if we were still there he would take us back. It was along the way for him, it was out of the way but he did it anyway and that's the kind of first rate service you can expect from Paulo. We all felt very teary when we said goodbye. He said we were welcome back any time and we didn't even need to pay....I may take him up on that! Paulo if you read this review...its from your Indian friends..mum and two girls who recently visited. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I visited Cabinas Guarana a few years ago (our first time to Costa Rica together) and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice to stay here. We opted to take the public bus system to Puerto Viejo and it turned out that a couple on our bus were friends of the owners, and not only gave us tips about Puerto Viejo, but also gave us a ride to the hotel in their taxi. All that to say, Puerto Viejo is a great community!

Cabinas Guarana itself is a wonderful place. The rooms are modest but excellent for the price. Clean and quiet with access to a commons area and kitchen to store and prepare snacks.

The location is perfect. It is very close to restaurants, a grocery store, and the touristy markets. While getting to the nicer beach takes about 5-10 minutes, the walk itself was one of the best parts of our trip (tip: while you can walk the main road south to playa cocles, there is a little path that winds through the trees right along the ocean. It is absolutely wonderful).

We loved it so much that now having visited the country multiples times we have slated Cabinas Guarana as the first destination that we will be doing a return visit (as soon as possible)!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a very lovely hotel or cabins in the center of Puerto Viejo. Excellent service, the rooms are always clean, the owners and workers of the hotel are great people always willing to clear doubts and offer advice to travel.
Love the place, can't complain at all.
Will be my first option when I go there again.
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I often travel to Puerto Viejo as it is one of my favorite towns in Costa Rica. The people are friendly and laidback, it is a great place to relax. I ALWAYS stay here and have never had any complaints that I can remember. I like that it is close to everything in town yet far enough away that you can escape the noise and relax or sleep, no matter the time of day or night. Some of the hotels and hostels can get very loud, also depending on the location there may be a bar or restaurant very close by and can prove difficult to rest or take a nap. There is a grocery store very close by as well which is always handy if you need anything. The price is very economical, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Puerto Viejo.

Room Tip: If you take the first room to the left, I cant remember the number, you can connect to the WiFi from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is lovely when you first walk in with all the jungle around it, we got a private room for $30 a night if we paid cash before 9pm, otherwise if you paid with a card it would have been $35. The room was nice but a bit dark as the jungle offers no light through. We had a hammock outside our room. The bathroom was clean, it had an electric shower with hot water. The room was cleaned daily. The staff were friendly one minute, but then rude the next. There is a communal kitchen. Close to great cafe Bread and Chocolate. We hired bikes for $5 each a day which was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guarana

Address: Puerto Viejo Center, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guarana is a small hotel full of owners charm. We have 12 rooms individually uniquely decorated. We are situated in one of the most quiet and central streets in Puerto Viejo, 200 m. Only steps to beach and restaurants. The hotel is safe, private and set in a lush tropical garden of flowers and fauna. Services include; Wireless, Laundry, safe in room. English, German, Spanish, French & Italian spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guarana Hotel Puerto Viejo
Hotel Guarana Costa Rica/Limon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Guarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.