We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okey Dokey Day Tour Puerto Limon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuguero Canal

Tortuguero Canal
terminal de cruceros JAPDEVA | Cruise Terminal, Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
83622550
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okey Dokey Day Tour Puerto Limon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked Okey Dokey A1 day tour with Charlie on-line several months prior to our visit on the MS Zuiderdam. As promised, we were met by Jonathan at the dock rear fence after going through the local craft market. In fact, Charlie made several phone calls to make sure we and his staff was doing well. Jonathan and driver Steinton, took us to the attractions and gave a great narration of their country and site details. At the Tortugero Canal, we were hosted by Rupert and his cute son. Charlie’s folks and Rupert were exceptional helping my 85-year old father in law enter and leave the boat. While Rupert couldn’t promise we’d see any animals, we saw howler monkeys; sloths (one close enough to touch); lizards, Cayman, iguanas, boas, and lots of birds. His young son (4 y.o.?) used a small mirror to point out the animals. Lunch was at a beach side restaurant and after a short city tour; Jonathan and Steinton had us back to the ship in plenty of time. It was a little warm – with the AC going full blast and the van bit old, but hey, I’m flexible and their enthusiasm and love for their country more than made up for the shortcoming!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tortuguero Canal Boat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

With a good guide and a small boat, you can see lots of different animals and birds in their natural environment, including herons, sloths, monkeys, iguanas, and caymen. Wonderful way to spend an hour or two.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tortuguero canal tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family (husband and 8-year old daughter) and I visited Costa Rica for the first time in October of 2012. One of the best part of our trip was taking a boat ride from the Moin port (near Limon) along the canals towards Tortuguero on "Riverboat francesca". This is a nice small boat operation run by Modesto and his wife (from Michigan) Francesca that takes tourists along the beautiful canals of Costa Rica.
Mr. Modesto is really an awsome guy who has been doing this for over 20 years (thats what he said) and seems to be extremely knowledgeable about the entire river front and can so quickly spot birds, monkeys, crocodiles even at varying speeds on the boat. because it was the lean season (green season) it was just us three on the boat with Modesto, which made it like a private tour without te cost of paying for one. He is a kind gentleman who spotted birds, crocodiles etc. and made my daughter so happy.
We didn't get to meet Ms. Francesca, but I need to thank her very much because she influenced Modesto to take us on this boat ride even with no other passengers to make it worth his while. This lovely couple live in San Jose, which is about 3 hours from Moin port; so for him to drive all the way to come to Moin and take us on this trip was special.
Anyway, if any one wants to experience a nice boat ride along the nice thick jungle of Costa Rica, you should take this canal ride to Tortuguero from Moin on Riverboat Francesca.

Thanks
Sheryl

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVERSE CITY
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Torguguero canals in a downpour, not the best conditions for good animal viewing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The bulk of sighting is by boat. We were in an open, motorized boat. Some guides use canoes. I think this would be less intrusive.
Unfotunately when it pours rain as it did during our day of sightseeing, the animals are under shelter and not seen. We did see many birds, insects and amphibians.
The guide was well informed and concerned that we were sightseeing in a downpour, but there was nothing to be done.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slothes, Iguanas and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our canal tour was great. Very quiet in the afternoon and our guide was stupendous. He could find the tinies of animals from 20 feet away! Our favorites were the slothes but the birds were gorgeous and we even saw a few cayman aligators. Loved it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuguero Canal also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tortuguero Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuguero Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.