We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tortuguero Wildlife tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuguero Wildlife Tour

Tortuguero Wildlife Tour
Puerto Limon-Moin -Costa Rica, Puerto Limon 1000, Costa Rica
(506)8371-2323
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in Puerto Limon
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Our business is specialized in a variety of tours around the Caribbean in Puerto Limon Costa Rica, we offer reliability, responsibility and safety first.We travel to Tortuguero National Park and other attractions in the Caribbean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tortuguero Wildlife tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We toured with these folks on Nov 16. Arrived via cruise ship but chose to book ahead of time with them because we, as senior citizens, sometimes move at a slower pace and didn't want to slow down the rest of the tour. Our guide, Fernando showed us so much wildlife along the canal, took time to make sure we spotted the hard to find animals, really worked at driving the boat and being our tour guide. We were his only passangers, what personal service! Once back on ship and conversing w/passengers from the ship's excursions we realized we saw just as much, perhaps more, for less $$. Sandy Kreidler

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Informative, interesting, and enriching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We scheduled a halfday tour with William before arriving to Costa Rica. We confirmed the trip with him before departing, and called to confirm the day before once reaching our hotel. We were a little worried when he said he wouldn't be able to make it last minute, but Manuel would be our guide. He must have sensed our worry because he called us back with a description of Manuel an his cab number so we would know who to meet at our hotel.

Manuel was on time, courteous, and spoke very good English. He was very proud of his country and town, and was extremely informative. Along our hour long car ride around the area he stopped many times to show us bananas, paprika, local fruits (most we were able to try), flowers, and monkeys and sloths in the wild. He also told us about some of the history of the area.

We scheduled seeing a banana plantation as part of our tour. This part of the tour was brief, but interesting to see how they are harvested. We also had a boat tour with Carlos. This was a highlight too. We saw many local birds, more monkeys, and sloths, and crabs. Felt safe on the boat, and again Carlos was very informative. The last part of our trip was a tour of Limon/Moin. While we were not really in a shopping mood the driving tour was interesting and we got a feel for the local vibe. Didn't really feel like we were okay with exploring on our own (both the fact that this was our first full day in the country, and because of the language barrier) but Manuel was great pointing out important buildings to their history, and showing his pride in his hometown.

Overall this was a great firsthand way to see the area. We had good communication with William beforehand, and he obviously knows who can be trusted as part of his tours by allowing Manuel to be his replacement in an emergency.

Would highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“William Guerrero (TUCA) knows customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I highly recommend William Guerrero and his company, Tortuguero Wildlife Tour". My wife and I contracted a boat to take us to Tortuguero with my mother and brother at the last minute. "Tuca" as William Guerrero is known by nickname or "apodo" accommodated us easily, but when when we arrived at the Moin dock to get on the boat, my wife realized she'd left her passport on the bus in Limón. Tuca went out of his way to help us contact the bus station to give them our contact information should they find the passport, delaying the boat launching until we could try what we could to get the passport retrieved, including giving instructions to a taxi driver to check on it the next time he went to the station.

The boat was comfortable, relaxing and the driver (not Tuca, but among his regular drivers) took his time helping us spot a lot of wildlife and slowing down, stopping and returning so people could take pictures

We had a great stay in Tortuguero and the good news is when we returned and had cell phone service we found out that my wife's passport had been found. Tuca's patience and his handling of the unfortunate incident, but in the end story with a happy ending really showed that he cares about his customers. This caring, coupled with the excellent tour, makes his company stand out above all others.

Since going on this first tour, we've gone one more time with his company, again accommodating us at the last minute when my sister who visited us decided she'd like to go to Tortuguero. Thanks, Tuca and expect to see us again or sending our friends on your boat should they decide to visit Tortuguero or want a canal tour. Pura Vida!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tortuguero Wildlife Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had pre-booked our tour with William indicating the areas we wanted to visit. He was very good about responding to our emails and the cost was reasonable. We were told to meet outside of our Ship the Island Princess and someone would be there with a sign. When we got there no signs with our names. We did see another gentleman with a sign who worked for William and asked him where our driver was. He did contact William and within 20 minutes our ride was there not sure if the taxi driver is affiliated directly with William but his name was Alex he was awesome.
He picked us up and off we went my husband is an avid bird watcher and Alex stopped to show us all birds along the way and allowed us to take lots of pictures this certainly would not have happened had we been on a group tour. First stop was the zip line we arrived and went into the office we were the only customers and it seemed to take awhile to find the correct paperwork for us to sign. We got into a jeep and were taken to the top of the mountain with our two guides. It was an unbelievable experience we had such a great time and there was no one but ourselves no lines or waiting. We returned to the base and still no customers like our own private zip line tour. Back to the cab and stopped several times along the side of the road to look at birds. Next stop was the banana plantation that was very interesting the tour was given by Alex. We got back into the taxi and headed for our canal trip along the way a little boy was holding a sloth and Alex pulled over I was able to hold the sloth which was sooo cool. We tipped the boy and off we went. We arrived at the canal and met up with William who apologized profusely about the early confusion. We boarded the canal boat and were pleasantly surprised once again it was just the two of us. We saw all kinds of wild life including camams, sloths, lizards, crabs, and lots of birds and we were able to get some great photo's. The canal trip was about and hour and Alex our driver and William holding a hercules beattle were awaiting us. Our trip with Tortuguero Wildlife was amazing we loved having our own private tour and learned alot about the wildlife in Costa Rica.Can't way enough good things about our tour guide Alex he was very informative but didn't talk your ear off. We do plan to return to Costa Rica and spend a week enjoying the wildlife and the other things Costa Rica has to offer. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for a great adventure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“At last a relaxing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have to thank Jorge at Willie’s Tours for booking this tour for my wife and me. We had been on the go for almost three weeks and Jorge had highly recommended this tour for us. We had utilized him for several other tours and he was providing our transfer back to Alajuela from Puerto Viejo. Since it was on the way and we were not in a rush this turned out to be the perfect tour in so many ways. Our driver, Jose left us off at the docks at Port Limon and we were met by Willie’s wife. My wife and she bonded immediately. Willie (no relation to Willie’s Tours) met us shortly with his boat. What lasted next was one of the most relaxing enjoyable boat rides up the Tortuguero National Park. It gave my wife and me a chance to see the park from a totally different perspective. Willie’s keen eye spotted many unique birds, monkeys, and crocs. When we stopped for lunch along the way his wife spotted a baby sloth no more than five feet from us. Willie brought us back to the docks where Jose was waiting for us and our drive to Alajuela.
We would strongly recommend this tour run by a very knowledgeable and caring couple

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuguero Wildlife Tour also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Tortuguero Wildlife Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuguero Wildlife Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.