We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback riding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway Nature Day Tours

Greenway Nature Day Tours
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
(506) 2297-0889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 attractions in Puerto Limon
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With over 20 years tour operating experience in Costa Rica, Greenway Nature Tours is excellently positioned to fulfill all your Costa Rica Travel - Vacation and tour requirements. Our business is making your dreams of the ultimate Costa Rican rain forest come true. No other tour operator can offer you our personalized service, expertise, information quality and staff capability to organize vacation and travel in Costa Rica efficiently and safely - from coast to coast all to match your budget. We are experts on Costa Rica Vacations, Eco-tourism, Tours, Transfers, Shore Excursions and Educational Trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canton, Ga.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horseback riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Words can not express our thanks to Greenway Staff for making our tour a memorable one for our 50th anniversary. Fredrico, our guide while horseback riding was wonderful and very knowledgeable explaining the history of the ranch and country as well pointing out local plants and birds. Jenny and Mario went the extra mile to make us and the other guest feel like family. I will recomend Greenway Tours to all my friends.
Thank You GreenwayTours for the supprise anniversary photo.
Francis and Robie Hunt

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwayTours, Owner at Greenway Nature Day Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for celebrate your aniversary with one of our tours. We feel very pleased with it.
We wanted celebrate the ocassion with you and for this reason we take our time for get the fresh flowers for you. Actually I drove 90 minutes from the office to the horseback riding venue in order to guarantee to get them in perfect conditions and fresh. We are very glad to hear that you enjoy the bouquet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    6
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Croc Watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We went on a tour with Greenway tours from Punta Arenas to the Tarcoles River. We had a very close encounter with a large crocodile - our boat driver grounded the boat and hand fed fish to a 3m crocodile with inches of our boat. This was the highlight of the tour which also included a walk across hanging bridges in the rain forest.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenwayTours, Owner at Greenway Nature Day Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Very nice to hear that you enjoy the crocodile tour. This is one of the most liked experiences and we are very glad you enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding way to learn about Costa Rica and have a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Truely an outstanding experience particularly if you are arriving for the day by cruise ship. Our guide Oleman met us immediately when we disembarked the ship. We were a party of 4 (all in our 50's) and chose their 6 hour adventure tour combination. With a highly energetic and knowledgable tour guide, this experience will leave us with lifetime memories; clearly the highlight of our vacation.
The actual downtown of Limon is not very nice. Stop only if you want a good cup of locally grown coffee but otherwise pass through en route to the rain forests, banana plantations, and the Tortuguero canal.
What a difference by going early before the large tour buses with their lines and loud discussions (not meant as a snob but rather as a comment when in a beatiful natural environment can most likely be appreciated with less people). The canal cruise on a small open, safe, and private boat was excellent. The local driver who grew up in the area was very animated and pointed out monkies, sloths, camens (crocodiles), various birds,etc. close enough to give us great picture and memories.
The tour also included us stopping for locally grown fruit and seeing the banana plantations which was great. The bananas were much smaller and sweeter then those we are able to purchase in the U.S. The highlight however, was zip lining above the rain forests on what we felt was very safe, daily maintained and inspected, long cables. After our guide pulled into the zip line facility, we were introuduced to two employess who were extremely knowledgable and encouraging about our experience we were about to go on. They explained us and fitted us with all the gear and safety equipment and answered all out questions. Yes, the initial fear when one steps off a platform knowing whats below is intense. However, each zip line thereafter was fun, somewhat intense, and more comfortable. We all knew that we would like to continue this for many hours but the 90 minutes, with the 9 platforms, was awesome.
We all felt that this was a very private, comprehensive, fun, reasonable (well priced) learning experience and can easily recommend this for people of all ages.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“6 In 1 Tour Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am a travel agent and traveled with 26 people on the Celebrity Equinox. I hired Greenway Tours . We loved our tour and and guide Jackie. The company was so easy to
deal with the bus was clean and comfortable. The driver was excellent. I would recommend them for a private tour in Costa Rica

Marie Carroll

Everyday Travel

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exciting and educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time on our Zipline and Banana Tour in Costa Rica. At our guide's suggestion, we included the Tortuguero Canal boat tour as well and were glad he recommended this addition.
Unlike most overcrowded cruise excursions, this trip was small, personal and professional.
The entire experience was exciting, informative and memorable.
We'll certainly visit Costa Rica again!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway Nature Day Tours also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Greenway Nature Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway Nature Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Greenway Nature Day Tours to your Saves list