We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Brown Tours

Oscar Brown Tours
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
(506) 350-6415
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had made arrangements through Carol to take the combined Jaguar Rescue Centre and Tortuguero Canal Tour, and as arranged, met out guide Lorenzo (Carol's brother-in-law) outside the terminal.

We had an interesting ride through the countryside on our way to the Jaguar Rescue Centre, and arrived just before it opened at 9:30 a.m. The tour of the Rescue Centre was one of the highlights of our cruise to the Panama Canal. Lorenzo told us to take our time looking around the Centre, and that he would be waiting for us whenever we came out. That was really appreciated, since we got very involved looking at everything. More than 2 hours later, we emerged, to find Lorenzo patiently waiting for us. It was really great being in a small group (3 in total - all in our 60's), being able to determine for ourselves where we spent our time,

From the Rescue Centre, we travelled back through Puerto Limon, stopping briefly while Lorenzo bought us coconut water to try (very refreshing), and on to the Tortuguero Canal.

Oscar Brown Tours uses small boats for the Canal Tour, and our boat (much like a Boston Whaler) could hold about 8 comfortably with 4 rows of benches. Our Captain, Walter, and his grandson were a great team. Walter very ably steered the boat, and his 8-year old grandson, who had very keen eyesight, was terrific in finding all sorts of things for us to see. We saw a variety of herons (white, grey and blue), lots of sloths up in trees (I still don't know how he managed to find so many!), monkeys and iguanas. We had a very fruitful trip along the Canal, with lots of sightings thanks to our remarkable team of Walter and grandson!

Back on land, Lorenzo took us to a very nice open-air restaurant on Playa Bonita, where we enjoyed a delicious lunch (included in the price of the tour) washed down with a local beer. The setting was very pretty, and we would have enjoyed staying longer. However, when on a cruise ship, time is limited, so Walter brought us back into Puerto Limon, stopping briefly for us to purchase some Costa Rican coffee at a grocery store, and then returning us to our ship with time to spare.

A concern most cruisers have is the dependability of an independent tour operator getting clients back to the cruise ship in time for final boarding. We had no problems with Oscar Brown Tours. Lorenzo was very conscious of our time restraints and was excellent in accommodating our preferences. I thoroughly recommend Oscar Brown Tours. Try them - you'll have a wonderful day and a truly memorable experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
myrtle beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“oscar brown tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wonderful tour with Marlon who showed us a lot and was very informative. He even stopped at a grocery store to help us get coffee. We recommend the tour and it is a great value and good personal experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best excursion of our cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Oscar met us at the cruise port on time and showed our group of 6 (ages 9-63) a great time.
If you enjoy interacting with the local people, tasting local foods and seeing sloths, monkeys and unique vegetation, this is a great tour. Do have some extra small bills available for tipping. We made our way to the the zip-line company and were treated fabulously by the staff and didn't have any wait time. The zip-line had 7 platforms and was manageable for kids and young-at-heart grandparents. We returned to the ship on time and vowed to return to Costa Rica again. A beautiful place with friendly people! Thanks for a great time Oscar.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have just come back from a cruise which included Limon in Costa Rica. I booked a private tour with Oscar Brown tours and the day was just perfect! Oscar is a great host who loves his town and country. We toured Limon pretty quickly and then headed out to some friends oh his where we got to eat lots of different and delicious fruits and see some of the beautiful plants and flowers in their gardens. We also got great close up pictures of a sloth in the garden. Next we went ziplining through the forest - a real highlight for me. Here we saw tree frogs, spiders, howler monkeys, tree ants and more. Next a short trip to the banana plantation and then the Tortugero canal trip with Walter. He was fabulous, a great spotter of wildlife, we saw some Basilisk lizards, crocodiles, alligators, loads of different birds and sloths & howler monkeys too.
We then has a great Caribbean lunch with beer to finish off the tour.
Perfect! Half the price of the ship's tours and with with great personal service.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wildlife & Zipline tour with Oscar Brown Tours - perfect day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have just come back from a cruise which included Limon in Costa Rica. I booked a private tour with Oscar Brown tours and the day was just perfect! Oscar is a great host who loves his town and country. We toured Limon pretty quickly and then headed out to some friends oh his where we got to eat lots of different and delicious fruits and see some of the beautiful plants and flowers in their gardens. We also got great close up pictures of a sloth in the garden. Next we went ziplining through the forest - a real highlight for me. Here we saw tree frogs, spiders, howler monkeys, tree ants and more. Next a short trip to the banana plantation and then the Tortugero canal trip with Walter. He was fabulous, a great spotter of wildlife, we saw some Basilisk lizards, crocodiles, alligators, loads of different birds and sloths & howler monkeys too.
We then has a great Caribbean lunch with beer to finish off the tour.
Perfect! Half the price of the ship's tours and with with great personal service. Highly recommended

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar Brown Tours also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Oscar Brown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Brown Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.