We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oscar brown tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar Brown Tours

Oscar Brown Tours
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
(506) 350-6415
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
myrtle beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“oscar brown tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wonderful tour with Marlon who showed us a lot and was very informative. He even stopped at a grocery store to help us get coffee. We recommend the tour and it is a great value and good personal experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best excursion of our cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Oscar met us at the cruise port on time and showed our group of 6 (ages 9-63) a great time.
If you enjoy interacting with the local people, tasting local foods and seeing sloths, monkeys and unique vegetation, this is a great tour. Do have some extra small bills available for tipping. We made our way to the the zip-line company and were treated fabulously by the staff and didn't have any wait time. The zip-line had 7 platforms and was manageable for kids and young-at-heart grandparents. We returned to the ship on time and vowed to return to Costa Rica again. A beautiful place with friendly people! Thanks for a great time Oscar.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have just come back from a cruise which included Limon in Costa Rica. I booked a private tour with Oscar Brown tours and the day was just perfect! Oscar is a great host who loves his town and country. We toured Limon pretty quickly and then headed out to some friends oh his where we got to eat lots of different and delicious fruits and see some of the beautiful plants and flowers in their gardens. We also got great close up pictures of a sloth in the garden. Next we went ziplining through the forest - a real highlight for me. Here we saw tree frogs, spiders, howler monkeys, tree ants and more. Next a short trip to the banana plantation and then the Tortugero canal trip with Walter. He was fabulous, a great spotter of wildlife, we saw some Basilisk lizards, crocodiles, alligators, loads of different birds and sloths & howler monkeys too.
We then has a great Caribbean lunch with beer to finish off the tour.
Perfect! Half the price of the ship's tours and with with great personal service.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wildlife & Zipline tour with Oscar Brown Tours - perfect day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have just come back from a cruise which included Limon in Costa Rica. I booked a private tour with Oscar Brown tours and the day was just perfect! Oscar is a great host who loves his town and country. We toured Limon pretty quickly and then headed out to some friends oh his where we got to eat lots of different and delicious fruits and see some of the beautiful plants and flowers in their gardens. We also got great close up pictures of a sloth in the garden. Next we went ziplining through the forest - a real highlight for me. Here we saw tree frogs, spiders, howler monkeys, tree ants and more. Next a short trip to the banana plantation and then the Tortugero canal trip with Walter. He was fabulous, a great spotter of wildlife, we saw some Basilisk lizards, crocodiles, alligators, loads of different birds and sloths & howler monkeys too.
We then has a great Caribbean lunch with beer to finish off the tour.
Perfect! Half the price of the ship's tours and with with great personal service. Highly recommended

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arranged to do Tour # 4. Jaguar Rescue Center & #1 (Tortuguero Canal) tour (Combine tour). We had excellent communication with Oscar's Sister, Carol. Oscar met us at the port on time. It was just the two of us. He used his taxi which was clean and air conditioned. Carol called and I spoke with her to confirm all was well.
We first drove to the Jaguar Rescus Center. Oscar pointed out a lot of things to us along the way. He stopped to pick up some beef and we also stopped at a friend's hotel along the way. The Rescus center opens at a certain time so Oscar was making sure we got there without too much of a wait.
The Rescue Center was fantastic and one of the highlites of out trip. When the tour ended, Oscar was waiting for us with some freshly cooked beef and onions. Nice treat. He then stoppped to get us cold water and turned on the air conditioning for our comfort.
We then drove to the Tortuguero Canal, stopping along the way to look at a banana plantation.
He uses one of the smaller Canal boat companies, but we had a small boat with an excellent young guide who did his best to find us as much wildlife as possible, even apologizing that he couldn't find any crocodiles.
After that, Oscar took us to a local restaurant on the beach where we had our lunch with a beer. It was very good and we even found that it had free wi-fi, so we could catch up on our emails.
Oscar then drove us to the highest point in Limon for some fantastic views and then back to the port. He gave us some advice on shopping, and then we were done.
Tour lasted about seven hours and it was well worth the price.
Oscar was friendly and attentive.
Overall, an excellent tour and I would highly recommend him.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar Brown Tours also viewed

Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
Puerto Limon, Province of Limon
 

Been to Oscar Brown Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar Brown Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.