We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chirripo National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uran
Save
You added Hotel Uran to your Saves list
EN LA ENTRADA AL PARQUE NACIONAL CHIRRIPO | SAN JOSE COSTA RICA, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We heard our first "Pura Vida" from an old tico, who served us our first Gallo Pinto (for the "cilantro" lovers)! Was an good stay, clean, safe, close to the beginning of the parque national Chirrupo. Nothing really to complain, they let us put our meal into their freezer and we let them our luggage for safe keeping during our ascent to Chirrupo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice hotel that is reasonably priced and perfectly situated if you plan to hike Chirripo National Park. The restaurant is very good and there is a small store in the hotel that sells food for the hike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here the night before I hiked Chirripo and was disappointed. I stayed in the value rooms for $20 which included breakfast. The rooms consisted of a bunk bed shoved into a tiny room with openings near the ceiling that connected to the next-door room. This meant you could hear everything your neighbor did along with the other 30+ people who were also tucked into the exact same rooms down the same hallway. If one person snored, all 30 people got to experience it. And when one person woke up in the morning, everyone woke up. I felt a bit like cattle herded into a cold stall. The showers were unwelcoming, there was no common area to organize anything, and the sleep that I got the night prior to the hike left a lot to be desired.

The restaurant is nice, the location is great for starting your hike, and I think the owners will come pick you up from the bus station which is a plus, but there are definitely other options that provide more comfort, hospitality, and amenities for the value.

Room Tip: Choose a private room. Don't go for the bunk-beds in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel El Uran was a real find for my cousin and me to be in the mountains in Costa Rica. Even though we weren't hiking Chirripo, we did enjoy a beautiful hike to the Cloudbridge Reserve and a hike to the the Hot Springs. It was great to have the restaurant with excellent food and service right there. The mountain air, clear skies, and cool nights were very relaxing. Our ride down to our early bus departure in the dark when we had to chase the bus was quite an adventure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

En-suite rooms are spacious, good hot shower and restaurant good value. Great location - 50 m to trailhead and close to Cloudbridge reserve. Much nicer to stay here than in the village. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed two nights at this hotel. We chose it for its proximity to the base of Cerro Chirripo and it was perfect for lodging before and after climbing the mountain. The service we received, both from the guy at the reception desk, and the waitresses in the restaurant, were both above and beyond. The guy spoke English, so this greatly helped us out with our questions that we had about the mountain and transportation. The rooms were clean and small, but extremely affordable and it was all we really needed. The food at the restaurant was the best we had in Costa Rica and it was extremely inexpensive as well. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel Uran is very convenient located for hiking Cloudbridge reserve (highly recommended! 1 to 5 hour hikes, good trails, but you won't see many other people) and Cerro Chirripo. Restaurant is open from 4.30am for breakfast! They do great sandwiches for packed lunch. Restaurant closes at 8pm I think, which if fine; everybody goes to bed early. Wifi available. You might want to bring your mosquito net. Very friendly, customer focussed family business.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uran

Address: EN LA ENTRADA AL PARQUE NACIONAL CHIRRIPO | SAN JOSE COSTA RICA, Chirripo National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Chirripo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chirripo National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.