We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Hill Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Hill Bungalows to your Saves list
Coral Hill Bungalows
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Noblesville
1 review
“Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Coral Hill for a week in February 2012. It is a beautiful property, with wildlife everywhere. From the property alone, we saw howler monkeys, sloths, toucans, iguanas and poison dart frogs, just to name a few. The property itself is well-maintained, and Joe and Chris are wonderful. They helped us with everything from recommending restaurants to arranging transportation to planning day trips. The breakfast every morning was terrific (fresh fruit, pastries, egg dish), and Lady is always there waiting for a Hibiscus flower! The bungalows are spotless, offer plenty of living space and are privately tucked away. This is a great place to stay, and we would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    17
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
171
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in the Mondo Congo bungalow at Coral Hills during our anniversary trip in March. Before we came, we checked these reviews and they are so accurate! I cannot say enough about how accommodating Joe and Chris were. I thought that I had made our reservations with paypal, but turns out I had spelled the email wrong so we didn't even have reservations! Instead of turning us away, Joe and Chris quickly got a bungalow ready for us and we were able to stay. The grounds are spectacular... while we were eating breakfast, we saw a green and black poison dart frog! Make sure you go to Cahuita National Park. We saw monkeys and sloths, it was amazing! Get a guide though, you will walk right by things your guide would otherwise see. This is a great place to go for couples looking for a quiet get-away, and very fairly priced. Thank you again!

Molly & Joseph

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. If only everywhere we stay when traveling could be as wonderful as Coral Hill! Setting is quiet (except for the wildlife) and private. Bungalows are gorgeous, spotless, and perfect. Joe and Chris are welcoming and helpful. I was delighted to see green & black frogs nearly every time we wandered around outside. Breakfast is scrumptious and so beautifully presented. Easy short walk (more of a wander) to black beach and a couple of places to eat. If you are looking for R&R, don't miss a chance to stay here. The only people I wouldn't recommend to stay here are those looking for a busy night life or active social scene - Cahuita, and Coral Hill especially, are mellow and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time. Close bike ride or a short walk to many places. A great breakfast and Joe and Chris are so nice!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coral Hill for 1 week in February 2012. Having known little of the regions in Costa Rica, we came to Coral Hill based on the reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to find out that the accomodations were exactly as described and even exceeded our high expectations. Joe and Chris were gracious hosts with high attention to detail. They were always there when we needed them and going out of their way to schedule an excursion, book an early morning taxi, or give directions and/or recommendations. Sometimes it even felt as if they were reading our minds! As other reviewers have stated, the breakfast is absolutely delicious (and filling). Nothing better than fresh fruit and bread to get your day started before an early morning hike. Our bungalow was beautiful, comfortable, and clean. It's easy to spot many forms of wildlife right from your hammock - howler monkeys, sloths, and wild birds. You're truly in the midst of the unspoiled jungle, without sacrificing some of the comforts of home.

The area of town in which we stayed was very quaint and peaceful, with the livelier part of Cahuita only a 10 minute walk down the beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find numerous delicious restaurants for such a small town and loved the proximity to Cahuita National Park. Joe and Chris supplied numerous recommendations for excursions located in the area; many of which provided transportation directly from the B&B. For the more adventurous, we greatly enjoyed our all-day "Jungle Adventure Tour" including rapelling, zip lining, hiking, and a dip in a waterfall. Joe and Chris were more than happy to book our excursions for us - just make sure to ask a day in advance for most!

Overall, we couldnt' have asked for a better trip to Costa Rica. We were hoping for a more "personal" and "authentic" experience than staying at an all-inclusive resort, and that's exactly what we had. We would definitely return to Coral Hill and thank Joe and Chris for an unforgettable trip.

-Jeff and Katie (Cleveland, OH)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

One of the best places I have ever stayed at. The Hibiscus Room was like my own little wildlife sanctuary. I saw more wildlife on this property that I did my entire stay in Costa Rica. The owners are fabulous and the room and grounds are spotless. The included breakfasts were scrumptious. I found more peace swinging in the hammock on the patio than I can remember in a long while! If you visit Costa Rica, don't miss this stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Coral Hill Bungalows for our honeymoon in November. It was wonderful, Joe and Chris are just as nice and helpful as they could be! I absolutely fell in love with Lady (Joe & Chris's dog). I loved when she would come and sit with us on our porch =). Aside from our lovely host, our room was spotless! We loved the bamboo furniture and beautifully tilled batroom. Very comfy and romantic. So relaxing to grab an Imperial and lay in the hammock on your very own porch. Although, we were there during the raining season (and the rain can be a little loud on the tin roof...haha) there were still plenty of things to do. Cahuita is an amazing place! Full of wildlife and adventure. The locals are wonderful, friendly people. We were lucky enough to make friends and learn a few things the "tico" way. Coral Hill is just a short walk from Playa Negra, the National Park and all the restaurants in Cahuita. The food in Cahuita is amazing. It definitely has a hint of Caribbean flavor. Everything is very fresh and delicious! I definitely recommend Coral Hill...when you go, give lots of love to Lady for me! =)

Thanks for everything Joe & Chris!

Whitney & Bryan

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita
Coral Hill Bungalows Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Hill Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.