We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Encanto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Encanto Inn to your Saves list
El Encanto Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   300 Metros Oeste Delegacion de Policia, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Sacramento
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent last night here and what an unexpected surprise! Very nice, clean, comfortable, very friendly staff, can hear the surf from our room. Restaurants on premises and near by. Quaint little town with plenty of bars/restaurants to choose from. Quite enjoyable and relaxing!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
140
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised to find this little piece of paradise in Cahuita! Tucked away on a quiet road just a few minutes from the centre of town/National Park and across the street from the ocean, Alex and his staff have created an oasis for their guests! The grounds are lovely, with gardens and a small pool; we had a studio - with a small kitchen and a balcony overlooking the garden. Breakfast was varied every morning - but always with homemade bread and fruit. I cannot say enough about Alex and Juanita - they were so friendly and helpful in every way - it felt like home away from home!

Room Tip: studio was perfect for 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a gorgeous place to stay. Perfectly sited 5 minutes walk from the village, which is a fun place, and a further 5 from the National Park, El Encanto is set in beautiful and lovingly maintained gardens. The service is impeccable and yes, Alex is as great as other reviewers have been saying. Our loving thanks to him, Juanita and the others.

Room Tip: The suites are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Encanto Inn for several days during our honeymoon and we could not have chosen a better hotel for this occasion. The staff at El Encanto Inn was the most attentive, friendly, and accommodating group of people that we have ever come across during a hotel stay (and we have stayed at many hotels). In fact, the hotel owner gave us a local souvenir to celebrate our honeymoon. The rooms at El Encanto were pristine, the grounds were amazingly beautiful and private, and the breakfast included with your stay was delicious. While there are many great activities to do in Cahuita, you will find that staying on the hotel grounds is fun and relaxing in itself: you can choose between napping in a hammock on your villa porch, playing cards or dominoes in the lounge area, or swimming in the refreshing pool. I highly recommend El Encanto Inn for your stay in Cahuita and in the surrounding area, such as Puerto Viejo. This hotel is well worth the drive to Puerto Viejo and definitely worth reserving!

Room Tip: The best hotel you can stay at in Cahuita and the Puerto Viejo area. Absolutely wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We found El Encanto after another hotel messed up our reservation, and we are so glad we did. It may have been more expensive but it was worth every penny. Our bungalow was spotless and the bed comfy. Breakfast was delightful, with home made bread and a cooked dish each morning as well as the usual tropical fruit. Complimentary coffee and tea are available all day. There is a small pool to cool off in and the gardens are peaceful and beautiful and full of birds. On our first day Alex showed us a humming bird nest with a single chick. It is a 5 minute walk into town, well-lit and safe at night, and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. Another five minutes takes you to the lovely National Park.
Alex and his team were always helpful and smiling and we loved our 4 nights here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I very much enjoyed our three night stay at this hotel. It's in a great location only five minutes walk from town and also five minutes walk in the other direction to playa Negra beach. The room was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and attentive. A big thanks to Alex for all his good advice. Also a big thanks for the fantastic pizza that we had on our last night. We would definitely recommend this hotel and found it very good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We just spent 5 days in el encanto, and we regret not having got there earlier. We are a professional couple with a passion for traveling. And, of all places we have ever been this is by far the best. The room we were staying at was beautiful, and always very clean. the place in general lush with vegetation (very well maintained gardens). The location is perfect, walking distance from the National Park and the town, and the beaches for surfing (we recommend Cahuita over the overcrowded Puerto Viejo). But the best was the service. Alex, the manager was incredibly agreeable and knowledgeable of Costa Rica's wonders. He was always very flexible and accommodating (and he has this aura of positivism that is contagious). Juanita was the kindest person ever. She prepared us beautiful breakfasts, and always regaled us smiles and tenderness. We felt welcome at all times, and we regretted not having spent all our holidays there. Worth every penny. Thank you, El Encanto!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Encanto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn

Address: 300 Metros Oeste Delegacion de Policia, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Encanto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto is a small first class bed and breakfast inn located within 5 minutes walking distance from the village of Cahuita on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. It is close to the Cahuita National Park where sloths, monkeys, birds and other types of wildlife can be seen. The closest beach is within 100 meters from El Encanto. The inn has four tastefully decorated bungalows and a fully furnished house with three bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, living room and dining room. Each bedroom has a private bathroom and balcony. El Encanto is renowned for the quality of its personalized service, the generous and healthy tropical breakfasts, the beautiful surroundings and artwork. Above all, it is admired for the peace and serenity of its garden. It is a place that appeals specially to those for whom harmony and well being are priceless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Encanto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Encanto Hotel Cahuita
Breakfast Bed
El Encanto Inn Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Encanto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.