We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, Wild, and Full of Natural Beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cahuita National Park

Cahuita National Park
At the Far End of Main Street, Cahuita, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Cahuita
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This coastal park contains white sandy beaches and coral reefs.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Secluded, Wild, and Full of Natural Beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We drove up to the park from Playa Chiquita for the day and absolutely loved it. We hiked the inland trail and saw more wildlife then in the rest of our time in Costa Rica combined. With the help of a park employee we saw two yellow eyelash vipers, a Jesus Christ Lizard, a sloth, Howler monkeys and White-faced Capuchins. The beaches were gorgeous and fairly secluded. We have just a delightful time at Cahuita and would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    182
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great introduction to the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

we had a couple of great hikes and saw a large assortment of animals including
howler monkeys
sloths
coitte
eyelash viper
racoons

this is a great introduction to the rainforest

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Walk through the park and eat at the delicious restaurant at the end before hopping on the bus back to Cahuita!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling and hiking in the Park with Cahuita tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This tour for us was full on!
Our travel agent discoverycostarica booked us with cahuitatours
From the second we arrived at the tour office in downtown Cahuita, our guide, Antonio made us feel very welcome and comfortable. First, he explained all about the equipment which was in tip top shape and clean as a whistle followed by a full description of what awaits us the rest of the day. As we started walking towards the boat, Antonio started his tour. I kid you not, this guy is the most knowledgeable person about Costa Rica that I have ever met. Talk about interesting and entertaining. He explained everything from the fungi on the trees, to every type of Coral and fish in the water and every animal and insect in the Park. A mine of information to say the least and only a young guy. Obviously this interaction with a local expert enhanced the tour to its maximum. Once we were all in the water and on the reef, Antonio kept us together to show us where all the main attractions where, we saw hundreds of different sized tropical fish and a multitude of colorful corral, we must have been there for about 2 hours. Afterwards we had some fruit and started our walk through the park. We saw racoons, sloths, monkeys, bats, snakes, lizards, iguanas and all types of birds....... it was just one after the other. Obviously Antonio knew where they should be through their habits and also how to spot them. I think if he had never been with us we would have just had a walk in the jungle and not seen much at all. A wonderful experience, a great day out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bridger, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must see in Cahuita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The park offers jungle and beach access. We took a picnic and water and stayed about 5 hours. We hiked barefoot down the jungle trail out to the point, about 2.5 miles. Had a picnic, took a swim in the caribbean, snorkeled a little, then strolled back along the white sand beach and swam a little more. Along the way we saw a juvenile sloth climbing from tree to tree, white faced monkees, howler monkees, geckos, caymans, jesus christ lizards, iguanas, and tons of Ibis and Herons. We even had a small stingray come right up into 6 inches of water and hang out while we had lunch. There was one stretch of trail about 400 meters that had a ton of mosquitos, but you could get through it in about 5 minutes and that was the only place we encountered them. If you enter from Cahuitas the entry fee is any donation you like, I think the fee for the Puerto Vargas gate is 10 bucks each. The beach was clean and there were many shady picnic tables along it. The day we went was a wednesday and there were about 20 peple arond the beach and we pased another 20 or so on the trail. You can get a local guide if you like but we just poked around on our own and had a great day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cahuita National Park also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Cahuita National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cahuita National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.