We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Save Saved
You added Atlantida Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantida Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In front of Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Cahuita
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good & bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed one night here at the end of our C2C trip with Coast to Coast adventures. There are different standards of room I think.....I hope ours weren't at the higher end, because the rooms were a bit dark and dismal. There was no air-con either...just a fan....and it was HOT. We had a major disaster with the shower which came to bits and flooded the room....not great when you only have a few items of dry & clean clothes. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool was OK, if a bit grubby. The main attraction was the Howler monkeys in the tree overhanging the hotel driveway. The grounds were nice enough too....lots of HIbiscus.
Not somewhere we'd go back to in a hurry though....certainly not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    18
    5
    12
See reviews for
13
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a rather small lodge with lots of potential. It is located at the black beach area. Sure the place needs a lot of maintenance. Especially in and around the (huge) pool (lots of tiles were missing, not a single chair or pool bed was in order) and the rooms (shower). However the ambiance is truly charming: lots of flowers and plants, black spotted frogs in the morning, a lot of red eyed frogs after sunset and a friendly sloth using the power lines for freeway. The staff is friendly although a bit Caribbean tempered and the majority didn’t speak English. The water is scarcely heated by an electrical device in the shower. Making a clumsy move even caused a small shock! The reception is primitive and lacks a real cash register, so you should calculate in some time to check out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's a bit out of town which is OK. The rooms are very simpel but OK. It's all in a garden located which is nice as well. Food in the restaurant is a bit pricey but tastes good. You can look your valubales at reception (open form 6am to 9pm). The pool is good too. So over all you get a good stay for the money. We just had the feeling that there is no heart behind it - that it's all about the money. You also get Groups stopping by (Interbus) for Lunch/Dinner or to stay. Guess that's how they make the money and the individuals are but a bonus. We were greated and treated nice don't get me wrong. But we didn't feel at home or welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The most amazing thing of this hotel is the way they mix in the nature with the infrastructure. I didn't had to move to see most of the animals of the region such as the beautiful Red-eyed Treefrog. The food that I was served was very good and the ambiance of the bar gave a great feeling. The lodge doesn't have any gym or fitness center but when I ask about it, the manager brought me to his place where he had TRX, pull up and dip bars which is more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

What can I say? Stumbled across this place on the 2nd day of my trip, while I was bike riding through Cahuita. I'd made reservations at another lodge and had run into a couple of issues so, I decided to keep my options open. This place is fairly unassuming from the front of the property. I was pleasantly surprised to find (basically) a botanical garden getaway, when I walked further on to the grounds. It was GORGEOUS. I was able to make a reservation, on the spot, for the very next day. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the grounds were LOADED with regular wildlife residents/visitors; i.e. sloths, kinkajou's, basilisks, red eye tree frogs, dart frogs & agoutis. The owner was personable and beyond gracious. He even invited my boyfriend and I to stay at his personal home in San Jose, if we planned to stay there for a short while, before flying back home. I also found out from him that his lodge was the first one of it's kind to spring up in Cahuita, when no one was considering the area for tourism. So much so, that he was essentially given dead land, full of coral, that no one thought anything would be able to flourish from. It's ASTONISHING and almost comical to see what he has been able to do with this land. He's even used some of the original coral to construct the walls of the rooms. It's a genius idea! When you decide to leave the grounds... the first thing you see, as you walk down the gravel road, is a head on view of the the black sand beach! It's paradisiac! I really can't say enough about this place. :-). I'm so glad the owner decided to take charge and be as hands on as he is with getting this place into it's current shape, over the past year! A quick heads up however... it seems as though most hotels/lodges in Costa Rica require cash in order to receive the rate that's advertised (to avoid being taxed) so, make sure you have the cash on hand, or be prepared to pay a little more for you room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I were very satisfied by the attention of the personal and the uniqueness of this place. You’re literally in the middle of the jungle and in front of the beach. I had the chance to talk with the manager and he told me about the renovation that is going on and I understood the reason why it looks all new.

For any couple who seek for a relax environment and a lot of nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is in the process of being completely renovated, and it was already looking pretty great when I stayed there in late April, 2012. The owner told us that until last year (ish? I don't remember the exact dates) he'd left it in the hands of a manager who'd really let it deteriorate, and now he's working on turning it around. As far as I could tell, it didn't need much more work, but apparently he wants to install a new water heating system (our shower was awesome -- probably the best I've had since I started traveling in Central America in October '11 -- so I'm not sure what the problem is).

It's basically just a few jungle bungalows (each with a series of private rooms), a very nice pool, and a restaurant/bar (substantial, delicious, affordable breakfast, but not sure about the dinners -- they weren't cheap, and we always went into town for dinner). There's no beach view, but it's just across the road from Playa Negra. I selected "average" for location, because it's about a 10-15 min walk into town, and a 20-25 min walk to the more heavily-trafficked National Park beach. But in terms of proximity to Playa Negra, it's excellent.

The owner is a really nice and very interesting guy (he helped me find some people my Mom knew when she lived in Cahuita in the '70s, and he let us hitch a ride with him to San Jose), and the kitchen staff were very friendly and hard-working.

The room was clean, cute and spacious, and the bathroom was beautiful. The other couple rooms I saw were roughly the same.

Best for last: two sloths lived in a tree a couple feet from our room. It was unreal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Address: In front of Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlántida Lodge Cahuita, Costa RicaAtlántida Lodge combines the charm of typical Caribbean Costa Rican beach life with all the comforts of a modern lifestyle. Located on the beachfront in Playa Negra, Cahuita, visitors can expect to immerse themselves in total relaxation. Guests’ days are spent by the ocean or among the sprawling tropics or simple relax on the swimming pool. Located on the Caribbean coast, Cahuita is known for its astounding black-sand beaches with warm, calm waters that are ideal for swimming and snorkeling. Its extravagant coral reef is world renowned for its underwater beauty. Set against the stunning background of a lush tropical rainforest, Hotel Atlántida is an exceptional treasure. At Atlántida Lodge, visitors experience only the height of privacy and relaxation. Perfect for families or small groups, the Hotel offers 31 rooms with king-sized bed queen bed and a single bed, private bathroom in each room and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita
Atlantida Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantida Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.