We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty okay overall..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantida Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantida Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   In front of Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Cahuita
Orotina, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty okay overall..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Cahuita itself is an interesting and relaxed sort of place, where north-american ex-hippies play cards with locals and there is a faint smell of cannabis every now and then. Locals are friendly and welcoming and there isn't the slight edge of menace you might find in Limon or Puerto Viejo. The Atlantida Lodge is about 400 meters from the town and is just the other side of the road from the beach. We stayed in a 'superior' room and were pretty happy with it, very spacious and clean, beds comfortable. No A/C but the nights were unseasonably cool, so not needed. If you are easily disturbed at night avoid rooms 13 & 14 as the howler monkeys drop half-eaten fruit on the tin rooves with a deafening crash. This happens during the night as well, not sure if this was monkeys or just falling fruit. May not happen all year round. The pool is large and clean, a few missing tiles but nothing drastic. It was a touch chilly while we were there due to the shade of the trees around. However there are howler monkeys in the trees and they are great fun to watch. There is a poolside bar and a restaurant area with tables although while we were there the food service was in another area nearer the reception. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but was about $6 per head which is about the same as any of the other places down town and was pretty good quality. Had an evening meal in the restaurant and plates seemed to be between $8-$16 dollars and the quality was good. There is ample parking and security at night. Reception staff are very laid back and friendly. The general atmosphere is Caribbean rustic, certainly not luxurious, but that was fine. Enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value for money, paid $70 per night for the 'superior' room. I would happily go again (but would pick rooms 11 & 12 if possible - less noisy at night!)

Room Tip: Avoid Superior rooms 13 & 14 as the friut falling on the tin rooves is very noisy 24 hrs a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    21
    5
    12
See reviews for
18
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

grreat location next to beech hotel has a nice pool and gardens. In the storms we experienced all power went off leaving us in total darkness, wityh no emergency lighting. Accomodation was basic

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent our Christmas break at Atlantida lodge and it was just as restful and relaxing as we had hoped.
The place is an awesome and ideal place for a honeymoon or for any couple who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life! We stayed in the deluxe rooms which has a spacious bathroom surrounded of walls made of corals which I never seen.

The nature and the ambiance simply amazing.

Room Tip: deluxe or suites are the best to enjoy the full experience I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon in September of 2011. We enjoyed our stay, but unfortunately this place is starting to become a bit run down. The hot tub which sat by the pool 3 years ago when I stayed in this hotel now sat directly outside the window of our room- empty and on its side. The advertized outdoor gym no longer seems to exist either - the pavillion under which the equipment used to sit is now roped off with caution tape. The pool is kept clean, but in need of repair. There are many areas on the bottom where the tiles are gone. Weird little "things" a little bigger than a grain of sand rained down from our ceiling at night, not sure what they were. Maybe gecko poop like a previous reviewer mentioned? This issue was by far the most bothersome to me personally, and if it had not been for this one thing, I would have given a higher rating. I don't remember this being a problem the last time I stayed, so maybe this issue plagues only the "superior" rooms, as last time I stayed in a "standard."

Despite reviews to the contrary, I believe the restaurant here was very good, though a bit overpriced. The servers were friendly and accomadating to me as a vegetarian. Many times in the states people treat it as a hassle to accomadate dishes to me, but the staff here was more than happy.

We did visit in the green season, so maybe we caught the place during renovations. While probably not the best place to stay in Cahuita, I don't believe it was the worst either. We still enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

After a 10 mile hike in the park my wife and I were too tired to walk into town and this place is close to where we were staying so we stopped into the restaurant for dinner. What a mistake. We ordered a chicken salad, cocktail camerones for an appetizer, and for entrees I wanted the curry chicken and my wife had the garlic shrimp both which came with coconut rice and fried yuca (which we love). After waiting 20+ minutes our dinners come out. We both got a big scoop of plain white rice and underboiled yuca which hadn't been fried. About 10 minutes later our Cocktail Camerones and chicken salad came out. The cocktail had no sauce - zero. Very small dry shrimp on the rim of a cocktail glass which was filled with a lettuce leaf. The chicken salad had no cabbage, avocado or other advertised goodies and was basically chicken pieces with onion in a sauce thrown on a plate. Even after the removal of their "cocktail" camerones this was the single most expensive and the single worst meal we had during our week in CR. And to top that off I'd left my iPhone at the hotel and didn't have a calculator. They gave me the bill in Dollars, the credit card charge was in Colones and they overcharged my by a bunch. I'm going to have a chat with the manager in the am but this experience was horrible. AVOID THEM!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is probably not the best hotel in Cahuita, but it wasn't that bad. The rooms are big enough if you only stay for a few days. The bathrooms are open in the top so it will be noisy if there are people next door.
The hotel is a little bit far from the centre (there are some nice little shops) and NP, but the beach is really nearby. The swimming pool is ok, so is the bar. The restaurant isn't really good, very basic. Some staff (like the waitress) don't speek english.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

What variable reviews this place gets! We were warned by our tour operator that this would be the most basic of the hotels we would be staying in. But nearly all of us thought it was the best. The buildings are simply constructed but the rooms are comfortable and mine was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have slept in. No A/C but effective ceiling fans. Showers have the heating element in the head so water is always hot (but no hot water in the hand basin). The grounds are wonderful, I saw as much wildlife there as in any of the national parks. Be prepared to be woken up by howler monkeys at 6.30am. Breakfast was boring but plentiful supply of finger bananas are freely available all day. As is coffee, but that got a bit stewed towards the afternoon. Best food was the night they did a BBQ. The pool looks good but didn't have time to sample it, there's also an outdoor gym (see photo). If you prefer character to corporate you should like this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Address: In front of Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantida Lodge Cahuita, Costa RicaAtlantida Lodge combines the charm of typical Caribbean Costa Rican beach life with all the comforts of a modern lifestyle. Located on the beachfront in Playa Negra, Cahuita, visitors can expect to immerse themselves in total relaxation. Guests' days are spent by the ocean or among the sprawling tropics or simple relax on the swimming pool. Located on the Caribbean coast, Cahuita is known for its astounding black-sand beaches with warm, calm waters that are ideal for swimming and snorkeling. Its extravagant coral reef is world renowned for its underwater beauty. Set against the stunning background of a lush tropical rainforest, Hotel Atlantida is an exceptional treasure. At Atlantida Lodge, visitors experience only the height of privacy and relaxation. Perfect for families or small groups, the Hotel offers 31 rooms with king-sized bed queen bed and a single bed, private bathroom in each room and others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita
Atlantida Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantida Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.