We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a way to resource...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alby Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alby Lodge
Save
You added Alby Lodge to your Saves list
Cahuita Centro | 200m from the national park entrance, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a way to resource...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

In Cahuita we stayed in the most fantastic charming beautiful & unique place, with the most kind people... in the "Alby Lodge", we spent hours observing the most delicious growing jungle garden i ever seen, within the real jungle, just by the white beach, all very quiet, very clean, completely harmonious, with endless attention to beauty, to the sound of nature, to traditions, far away from noisy tourists and close to the local habits...excellent Food, music, friendly welcome peoples... Yvonne & Thomas are particularly generous, caring, constantly attentive, interesting & welcome people...
we felt at home, shared their environment... their love to nature and to their Lodge ( www.albylodge.com)... just as the animals of the jungle seemed to do, like us, they come and hide in their beautiful garden... Alby lodge is very very clean, the Cabins are beautiful, little Indian traditional charming homes, with high tipped palms' roof that welcome the rain with soft sound, there we could get lost within the flowers, observe the frogs, communicate with the monkeys, read hours by the ponds, make our own food, and share very wonderful moments with Yvonne & Thomas learning about the animals, about the vegetations & about simply life far out of western civilization, i like to thank Yvonne & Thomas for this most wonderful moment of resources...and of love to life and to nature... as to people!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Alby Lodge was the perfect place for us to stay in Cahuita. Although it is right outside the National Park, from our bungalow's porch we saw several types of monkeys and a sloth. The bungalow itself was very charming with a porch (with table, benches, a hammock, and chair), effective mosquito net over the bed, and cute bathroom, and the grounds were very well maintained (with delicious starfruit, bananas, and coconuts to eat fresh) including the large shared kitchen.

The kitchen had reasonably priced water (though the owner herself recommended getting larger jugs from town) and cheap beer (1000 colones, about $2 for an Imperial). There were 3 other occupied bungalows at the time of our stay, and all the other guests were very friendly and we chatted semi-frequently with most (as we shared the kitchen, etc).

It was an extremely peaceful and laid back stay for an outstanding price. We live in NYC, and it's about the same price to go all the way out to Alby for a week (including airfare) than to stay 3-4 days nearby, like in Cape Cod. If we go to Cahuita again, we are definitely staying at Alby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Compton, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband and I had read reviews on Tripadvisor about the Alby Lodge and were somewhat wary of staying here after reading a traveller's review which said that their cabin was broken into. We went to take a look at the Alby Lodge upon arriving in Cahuita anyways and fell in the love with the place immediately. We ended up staying there for 6 nights and were very sad to leave this little piece of paradise behind!

Readers should know that you would really have to go out of your way to get robbed at this place, as each cabin is fitted with an electronic safe, the windows lock securely and the doors have a double-lock system. It was extremely hot when we were there, however, we found that the room fan was more than enough to keep us cool, without having to open the windows.

The cabins and grounds are kept immaculate, as is the communal kitchen and eating area. The owners were very friendly, helpful and very respectful of your privacy. The location is ideal because you are a short walk (about 3 minutes) into town and to the park entrance. There was no noise at all, except for the howler monkeys. In fact, we saw much more wildlife on the lodge's grounds than we did in Cahuita National Park: tons of howler monkeys, white-faced cappuchins and even a sloth that crawled out from under the porch one morning while we were having breakfast!

This place is really fantastic. If we are ever back in Cahuita, we will not think twice about staying there again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lander
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Alby Lodge is a great place to stay in Cahuita. Set back off the main drag in its' own gardens (well tended) so there is no traffic noise and can barely hear the music from Coco's Bar at night (no mean accomplishment). Yvonne and Tomas are very nice and run a very clean, high quality operation. Hot shower and very nice, clean, and cool (even in June in the heat) bungalows are very roomy and nice. Note the intricate and well done weaving job on the thatch roofs, which, unlike many thatch roofs, don't shed a ton of bugs into the room. There is a nice kitchen area with fridge and gas stove and a nice place to eat. Good security provisions with a safe in each room and a hidden camera to keep an eye on your car, if you have one. Everything of interest in Cahuita (beach, park, downtown, bus station) is within short walking distance. We thought this was a great place to stay in this fine little town and is an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

The Alby Lodge was our last place to stay at in Costa Rica and we loved it most. With our friends we had two cabinas, perfectly equipped and build in a beautiful local style. The garden was fantastic and on our first day we had about 15 howler monkeys in the tree next to our cabina. The moskito net was the best we had during our whole trip (it was big enough to cover the whole bed!). We had a safety deposit box which was big enough for a laptop, a private bath, a beautiful terrace with hammac.
We cooked three times in the kitchen and must say, it was outstanding. The way the kitchen area is organized is just perfect.
Also the Cahuita National Park entrace is only 2 min walking distance from this place.
A place to stay there again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

I go to Costa Rica all the time, 4-6 times a year for last 8 years, and Alby Lodge is one the best values and fun places to relax in the entire country, and I know CR like its my home.

The owners are so gracious and kind, the bungelows are a steal for the price, the property is a charming and kick back feel.

Playa Cahuita is great for food, spicy afro caribe cuisine, and a great funky music scene. The caribe coast is the opposite of the Pacific side, its not for everyone, more Euro and Backpacker surfer types, if your picky, or high maintenance, best avoid it and stay in Tamarindo.

I normally go to Playa Punta Uva below Pt Viejo, best beach in CR, but I was showing my wife around the country for her first time, and she loved the afro vibe, as she is Chinese, and enjoys new culture, which Cahuita has no shortage of culture.

Execllent value and a real charmer...monkeys everywhere :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

This place is a real gem. Independent little cabanas perfect for couples travelling together. Owners are accomodating and quirky and their dogs are cute. Tons of wildlife on the grounds, holwer monkeys, frogs, etc. and beautiful vegetation surrounds you. Walking distance to Cahuita National park with amazing beach and great wildlife sightings and to town which has plenty of choices for food and drinks (don't miss "Miss Edith's" at the far end of town). The cabanas are cozy but adequate. There is a large common shared area in the middle of the property with tables and a kitchen so you can cook your own food and hang out at night, they even stock the fridge with beer for guests, it's all on the honor system. This place is not to be missed and neither is the town of Cahuita, it was our favorite place in Costa Rica. The price is great but the charm is the reason to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alby Lodge

Address: Cahuita Centro | 200m from the national park entrance, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to nature? At last we have fulfilled a lifetime dream and built our lodge right here on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast close to the National Park. The center of the town and the beautiful white sandy beach are only 200 meters away. lf you are looking for a nice cute place or if you just want to see and listen to Kongos and other animals, You'll love our big Tropical gardens which are surrounded by giant trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alby Hotel Cahuita
Alby Lodge Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alby Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.