We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Algebra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabinas Algebra to your Saves list
Cabinas Algebra
Apartado 737, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Last december we went to this wonderfull place, it´s quit, clean, not far from enterteiment, beaches and cool places. The owners are explendid, the cousine is delicious, well prepared and served, if you want a relaxing spot to be, this is it!!!!

Room Tip: There is a very nice hut, with every thing, it´s away from the regular cabins, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place is a gem! This place used to be a cacao plantation in the '70s. Alfred bought the land and built the place himself. Alfred and his wife Andrea and son Samuel are absolutely amazing and wonderful hosts, they are real people-- attentive, charming, intelligent and wow! Andrea can cook! Wonderful homemade breads, fresh fish, shrimp salad, good beer and wine, delicious hamburgers and fries, out-of-this-world French-pressed Costa Rican coffee. The place is hoping at night with many locals coming for supper. Very cosmopolitan. Great conversations. The restaurant has a laid back, shabby-chique feel, very cool.

Two cabins have kitchens and we stayed in the room with a shower and let Andrea do the cooking at the restaurant. LOVED IT. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Room Tip: There are two cabins and three places to stay, all are neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We first went to eat at Cabinas Algebra the very first day we landed at Cahuita! Alfred was very humble and polite, genuinely welcomed us .His wife Andrea was away and we had to wait for her arrival. She came back quickly and helped us choose our dinner.The genuine kindness and friendliness of this wonderful couple was heartfelt by us. The food was naturally excellent! We almost every day went there to eat.Moderate charges with great attitude! We would highly recommend any one to check their menu!
5 star all the way up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We needed a place to recharge for a week. Basic needs were a budget option, kitchen, quiet, nature, and the beach. This has it all. We stayed in the lovely round cabin for a special weekly rate. It had a comfortable bed with mosquito net, basic kitchen stuff, fridge, bathroom, and sweet cupulo loft! The surrounding gardens are beautiful with lots of birds and other wildlife (agoutis!). The beach is 200m away and you can always hear the faint murmur of the waves. Best of all, Angela and Alfred are lovely hosts and are always ready to chat, give well-learned advice about the area, or get you a beer. There is no pressure to eat at the attached restaurant, although you should definitely eat there sometimes, as the food is great, especially the hamburgers, which are among the best I´ve ever eaten. The outdoor, covered social area is inviting with books and hammocks.

Basically, this is a remarkable find for the truly budget traveler.

Caveats - if you are someone needing something luxurious without the natural byproducts of aging building materials (ie., cracks between wall boards, cracked bath tiles, some ocassional dust in the corners, etc.) then look elsewhere. This is rustic not a fancy resort. But, it is clean, presentable, and completely comfortable for the traveler with basic needs.

Room Tip: The round cabin is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The hospitality we received from Alfred, and Andrea from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was absolutely wonderful. They made us feel very welcome and at home and my oh my was the food delicious. Their two dogs were a nice set of friends to make too!

They were very informative about what to do in the area and in general were very passionate about their home - Costa Rica. Andrea gave us a lift into town to show us around and get groceries, and they were even helpful enough to pick up our bus tickets when we didn't have time.

The cabins are beautiful and rustic and are exactly what you would expect In the middle of the jungle. A nice patio with hammocks are a great touch, plus the kitchen for anyone staying a long period of time is awesome! I have to stress these are cabins- so the beds are not feather top quality and you will see the odd spider. As expected when you have not chosen to stay at the Marriott.

Cahuita is a very quiet village and a place to go to relax. I would not go here to party. Even the beach is fairly deserted and quiet. If you wanna sit and listen to the jungle sounds this is for you.

Overall, great stay at Cabinas Algebra!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The best part about this place were the people - Andrea, Alfred, son Samuel and their two doggies made us feel right at home. They gave us great advice about what to see and do in Cahuita and were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large but dark - it was more like a hostel then a hotel and if you are looking for something fancy I wouldn't bunk here.

The cabinas are a walk from town, about 2K, but it's a nice walk - and Andrea and Alfred were happy to drive you into town if you needed a lift. I really liked the fact that they had a clothes line - not every place had one and it was a great amenity - it's hard to get clothes dry in the humid weather without a place to hang them in the sun.

There is beach access across the road and it was pleasant to swim in the afternoon.

The homemade bread was a real treat and while it isn't the kind of place for everyone, if you do stay you are likely to have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchens are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The German family who own this place are so lovely. You always can sit with them in the evening in the restaurant and talk about every topic. The room is clean and comfortable. Okay the rooms are a little bit darkish and basic.
What you should definitely or better said have to try is the Hamburger of the restaurant. It is soooo delicious. Handmade bread and handmade french fries. I would just travel down there to eat one hamburger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Algebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Algebra

Address: Apartado 737, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Algebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Algebra Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Algebra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.