We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just fine for a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden
Save Saved
You added Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden to your Saves list
Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty lodging in Cahuita
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“just fine for a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed there for 3 days, sleeping in the 5 bed dorm. The owner was friendly, the location is fantastic (2 minutes to the national park and also 2 min into town - some hostals are a 10 min walk from town with the risk of being muged at night) and the setup very beautiful. My bed was very comfy but I saw that not all are... So maybe take a look first (bedin right hand back corner in dorm is comfy :-) ). Towels included (even 2 if needed...), internet fine, kitchen ok. It was quiet at night and a pleasant atmosphere when i was there (which was during the week).
When you want to do the 8km walk through the national park - starting in Cahuita and bus back they only ask for donations while from teh other rdirection to Cahuita they ask for a 10 dollar entrance fee. The national park is great as you see many monkeys, sloths, some pelicans flying along the beach. Really nice

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The good things are the location, the garden,,security,and good internet. The bad things are the dirty room,the dirty kitchen, and the owners saturday night parties til 3 a.m. Perhaps we just had one of the bad rooms here. Our bathroom was very moldy and not very clean. All of the baseboards in the whole room were covered with dirt and mold. This is probably due to very poor ventilation and lack of through cleaning. Our last night here; which was ,granted, a saturday, the owner partied with some friends and the noise was loud enough to wake us, especially when she stood on the outside patio and had about 20 minutes of loud send-off "discussion". The last time we were here, maybe 6 years ago , it was very clean and well managed. That is why we booked it ahead for 7 days. We left as soon as we could find a better place in town. There are many clean, inexpensive places to stay here. Even in the high season. Trust me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

In October of 2011 my wife and I stayed at the Hostel Secret Garden. We would go there again. The house is clean, quiet and above all secure. I had no fears about leaving money pasports and camera gear locked in our room while we explored. The owners were helpfull and let us use their cmoputer for e mails daily. the hostel is in easy walking distance to all of Cahuita activities. Be advised only one room has A C (not a hudge problem in Oct) and the plumbing is a little creaky. Go down and visit. Scott and Kathy Brown

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

After traveling 2 days, The Secret Garden was heaven! Flowers everywhere, howlermonkeys that wake you up in the morning, good free coffee, relaxed atmosphere, big clean room and last but not least the owners Koos and Willeke the sweetest people.
Koos and Willeke told us alot about the tico way of living, so that was information the we needed to start traveling in Costa Rica.
The secret garden is located near the national parc, the mainroad with shops and nice places to eat, beach and busstop....all within 3 minutes walkingdistance.Cahuita is a friendly town where everyone says hello and has a jamaican vibe. There a lots of things to do in the area.

Dear Koos and Willeke, thank you for making our stay wonderfull!

Peter and Fleur

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Willeke and Koos are of one of the nicest people we have met in Costa Rica and they have created a nice and comfortable hostal in Cahuita. The location is good (the town isn´t that big) and more important the rooms are very spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stay at this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

I only stayed one night at the Secret Garden in one of the dorms. It was very comfortable, had a great laid back vibe and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect. The kitchen can do with some updating though.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

It felt like paradise.
The Secret Garden is located ad the edge of a national park.
It has a beautifuf tropical garden.
The animals of the park like it there too: int.al. howler monkeys and sloths.
Two Dutch owners Koos en Willeke de Vos are very friendly.
It is located near the centre of the village, but not to near.
Prices low and the service high.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden

Address: Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty lodging in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 1 minute from the National Park of Cahuita, also the centre. This is a peaceful place to relax, watching the humming and other birds and butterflies in our garden. We have a terrace with roof, so when it rains you still can sit outside. The howler monkeys come very close in the backyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel And Cabinas Secret Garden Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel and Cabinas Secret Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.