We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip even in the rain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Negra Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Save
You added Playa Negra Guesthouse to your Saves list
100 metre north of the football field, | Playa Negra, Cahuita Apartado 27-70403, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Plamyra PA
1 review
“Great trip even in the rain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just like all the other reveiws said "beautiful grounds with great hosts". Can't thank Greg and Michel enough for all their help, suggestions, and genuine kindness during our stay. Though it rained most of our stay I think that if there was a way for Greg and Michel to keep it sunny they would have. I am not one for writing reveiws but felt compelled to considering all the hard work and effort that is put into the grounds and upkeep. Some suggestions/tips based upon my concerns before visiting Costa Rica and Playa Negra: brush up on your Spanish. While it is not neccessary to be fluent it would sure help. The beds in the cottages are full size beds with firm mattresses. It would have been nice to upgrade at least in one of the rooms to a queen size mattress. While it was hot during the daytime at night it cooled enough to be very comfortable. Make sure to visit Bridgette's for breakfast. The bannana pancakes and fresh fruit juice were great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
176
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed at Playa Negra Guesthouse for 3 nights and it really was lovely. Both Greg and Michel were really helpful with their advice and went out of their way to help us if we needed something. The room we had was spotless, cleaned every day and the gardens/pool are really well maintained. We really enjoyed sitting on our veranda and relaxing. It's about a 15 minute walk into the town centre so it's nice if you want to be away from the centre and easy enough to walk into. Would def. recommend staying here and the National Park is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This review is not a "plant"; its for real. I selected the Guesthouse based upon all the favorable reviews I had read in Tripadvisor: essentially 100% positive. My family's Dec '09 stay of 4 nites corrobrates all the positives. Greg and Michell are fabulous hosts. We stayed in the yellow house and loved it. Completely charming and without pretense. Squeaky clean and quiet. 3 minute walk to good swiming and body surfing/surfing beach. Bugs were minimal. The "supermarket" in town (15 min walk) is basics only, so if you are driving, do your shoping in Limon before arrival. We did no cooking in the house; nevertheless, the pots and pans were of excellent quality. Greg served as a most valuable pre-trip information resource for CR in general. If we ever return to Cahuita we'd stay at the Guesthouse in a heartbeat. Great place!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Thanks to Greg and Michel for a very relaxing and special trip to Cahuita. They have created an oasis within an oasis in their lovely part of the world. We stayed in one of the cottages with our 2 year old daughter for 9 nights and are already planning our next trip. The grounds are immaculate and lovingly tended to on a regular basis - the plethora of wildlife and the well thought out selection of flora all combine to make you feel like you are indeed spoiled to be there. Our daughter split her time between the pool and beach and couldn't have enjoyed either more thoroughly. With several restaurants walking distance or a short bike ride - the location is in a word ideal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

You can't go wrong if you choose to stay at the Playa Negra Guesthouse in Cahuita. Greg and Michel are charming and welcoming hosts - very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. Our adorable, spacious, comfortable well equipped cottage was surrounded by a truly lovely garden, teaming with flowers and birds. We saw howler monkeys, a sloth and iguana in the trees everyday. The black sand beach, perfect for swimming, is right across the road, just a few steps from the gate.

A couple of nice, extras - wi-fi in our cottage, a well stocked drink fridge by the pool where you can run a tab for water, beer, juice and soft drinks, two adorable and playful German Shepherds who love to play fetch with coconuts, and a lovely pool.

Lovely - I will definitely stay here again if I'm anywhere in the area. Don't look any further, and Greg and Michel, if you are reading this - thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Spent an all-too-short 4 nights at Playa Negra and it was wonderful - clean, beautiful, lovely pool, great beach within yards, banana pancakes for breakfast at Brigid's next door and very peaceful (except for the howler monkeys, but their morning chorus was always worth hearing). Greg and Michel couldn't have been nicer and even lent us umbrellas when it rained. Our room was spacious, well-equipped and great value and swinging in the hammock in the pool-house sipping a beer after a long walk through the rainforest was blissful. I want to be back there now!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Our stay at Playa Negra Guesthouse was completely relaxing and pleasurable. Our hosts, Greg and Michel, were kind, helpful and solicitous. The rooms were very attractive, well kept and comfortable. The grounds were gorgeous with wonderful palms, banana fans, hibiscus, bamboo stands and orchids. An especially welcome amenity was the small swimming pool; after hiking, snorkeling or sea-swimming it was very pleasant to come back to bath in the clean fresh water.
The wildlife viewing was excellent in the garden. We saw many bird species including toucans, tanagers, hummers, banana quits and huge kettles of migrating raptors, mostly vultures, but with hawks and ospreys mixed in. We saw thousands each day.
There were also very good views of iguanas and two-fingered sloths. Two of these relaxed most of several days on a bed of coconuts in a palm tree about 50 feet from the pool.
The howler monkeys came to the trees growing just a few feet from the guestroom fence; we could watch them from the pool. They started howling at first light but it was all good; we loved waking up with their calls.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: 100 metre north of the football field, | Playa Negra, Cahuita Apartado 27-70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita
Playa Negra Guesthouse Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Negra Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.