We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Negra Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Playa Negra Guesthouse
Save
You added Playa Negra Guesthouse to your Saves list
100 metre north of the football field, | Playa Negra, Cahuita Apartado 27-70403, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay. The property is just beautiful, and Pierre and Marise were fantastic hosts! Pierre is really enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area... if you have the opportunity to talk with him or go on a tour with him, do it! Marise and Pierre were so helpful... without them we would've missed our bus and lost our camera, but they came to our rescue both times! Over all, beautiful hotel, nice pool, and incredible hosts. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
176
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had an excellent and very enjoyable stay. I was here for 5 days, Marise and Pierre were great hosts. I stayed in the green cottage. Very clean and everything one needs including kitchen. The grounds were immaculate. Beach is right across a very small dirt road and the Cahuita Park with more beautiful beaches is a ten minute walk. Very safe also, was never once worried about safety. The people in the small town were very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our family stayed 4 nights in the yellow cottage this April.
we liked everything about it. Marice and pier were super helpful. Marice with every question we had, including to find,a place for us the night before we came where all was full for Easter. Piers free tour to the park was awesome! He is the most enthusiastic guide I have ever met, we saw lots of wildlife, I think pier is world #1 sloth locator...
the beach in front of the hotel is nice for surfing, and was also our girls' favorite. Girls also loved the pool. In short was a perfect place to end our vacation in costs rica

Room Tip: we are a family of 5 (kids are 11,8,3) stayed in the yellow cottage, was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We spent the first eight days of February at Playa Negra Guesthouse and it was one of the best decisions we have made this year. In that time, we stayed in the Blue Cottage (our fav), room two (great) and room three (also great). The grounds are immaculate, the gardening staff offered us fresh cut coconut on their tree trimming day and the housekeepers were lovely with fresh cut flowers in our room everyday! But who would expect anything less when the staff has Pierre & Marisse as their role models!

If you want to see wildlife, then just hang out with Pierre for an afternoon. We swear he is able to call the Howler Monkeys over for a visit! His free tour of the National Park was better than anyone we have ever paid for and we saw way more animals than we would have otherwise!

Marisse is the heart of the operation and was super helpful with getting anything we needed, restaurant suggestions, even pointed us towards the pharmacy for cough medicine! The pool along with the honour bar were a big hit for us!

We will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our second stay at the Guesthouse only this time, we left our grown boys at home. Marise and Pierre are managing the place for Greg and Michel, who were there at our first visit. Marise and Pierre were very helpful in making suggestions for outings, answering our questions - some even before we left home- and participating in one of our adventures! George, the cat, and the 2 dogs, Parlita and Conga (who adopted us as her second family) were precious additions to the Guesthouse although we did miss Dolly, Shepp and Pepper, the three German Shepherds that were there at our first visit. The grounds are beautiful, a real paradise! The BBQ and the 'honor system' fridge full of drinks are conveniently located by the pool. We stayed in the Green House during our visit, as we did at our last visit. It is perfect for a couple or for three and has a large kitchen area with a nice big glass table, a large bathroom with an ample-sized shower with running hot water and an adjacent patio with comfortable chairs and a table. fantastic! There are several very good restaurants within walking distance to the Guesthouse and the beach is across the street. If you love the sounds of nature, then this is the place for you. You can hear Howler monkeys, roosters and dogs, somewhat early in the morning but they add to the ambiance of the place! Our only disappointment during our visit was that there were very few guests from other countries, something that we cherish when we travel. We met a lovely couple from New Jersey, a friendly family from L.A. and 3 couples from Quebec.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Playa Negra Guesthouse. rooms are simple and clean for a very good price.
Garden is beautiful with a nice pool.
Beds are confortable and it was the only place during our holidays in Costa Rica where we could have a dark room even after sun rise.
It is also right in front of the beach, nearby some restaurants, nevertheless, Cahuita city center is at 20 minutes walking distance (which can be very long under the sun).

Marise did her best to advise us places to go and things to do, and to be frankly honest, she is very right about any positive or negative feedback given.
In fact, we had asked feedback about one of our excursion and she was not convinced at all. Given the good feedback on Trip advisor we decided to do it anyway and we clearly regretted it :-(
Moreover, we have been to do the Bribri tour with Carina that she had advertised and we really enjoyed it.
Last thing, I had asked in advance where I could have a pedicure and she looked for it. At the end there is only one place in Cahuita : they did some really good job for a ridiculous price BUT hygiene was not great and I came back with a fungal inspection of one of my nails... Cahuita is not touristic enough to have a spa... and that is may be what we liked at the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Exceptional staff and a fantastic stay at Playa Negra Guest House! Manager gives super tours of area. Recommend 100% on all aspects. Next time I want to also come back with my family to enjoy Cahuita and the lovely guesthouse. Wildlife, nature and fabulous guesthouse in quiet, fun village!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Negra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Negra Guesthouse

Address: 100 metre north of the football field, | Playa Negra, Cahuita Apartado 27-70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Negra Guesthouse is a small seaside hotel located at Playa Negra, on the southern Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, one kilometre north of the centre of the town of Cahuita. Opened in December 2008, the hotel offers upper scale accommodation consisting of two lovely, fully equipped Caribbean style cottages, three tastefully decorated guest rooms, swimming pool and pool house. The cottages and rooms overlook lush, carefully maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Negra Guesthouse Hotel Cahuita
Playa Negra Guesthouse Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Negra Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.