We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caribbean Coconut

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Caribbean Coconut to your Saves list
Hotel Caribbean Coconut
Playa Grande, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stumbled here after a long weekend in Panama & had a great & wonderful surprise! Teresan & Paulo speak no english yet we managed to communicate fine...they are the coolest couple she's from Argentina & he's Italian ....can we just say thee hands down best food we have had in Costa RIca! There is a beautiful beach out front & it is well worth every penny to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

What a delight! I stayed here with my cat and enjoyed it. Saw my first monkeys in the wild thanks to one the owners. The husband is a great chef and opens his restaurant right next to the hotel. It is open 6-9:30 so no trouble with noise after hours. Wish I had stayed longer and explored further south on the coast. ..Keep going past Puerto Viejo if you do. Thank God for the Air conditioning & the pool because part of the day was unbearable without a break from the heat. The owners were so accommodating that they even brought a refridge into my room as I had food with me so I didn't have to drive back into town. Would definitely go here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

perfect place if you want to be away from the noise. the hotel is well kept, people are very nice and the beach is a sensation. after staying two weeks it was difficult to leave. the owner of caribbean coconut serves what is most likely the best food in central america (genuine italian cuisine).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This place was an incredible place to stay. The Staff that run this place up have done an excellent job at hotel creating. Between the breathtakingly beautiful scenery of the hotel, the excellent maintenance, and the family-like service, I have never felt more at home or more relaxed at a hotel in my life. I cannot say enough about the friendliness of the innkeepers and how readily willing they were to help us meet all of our needs and desires. This is a really great place to stay and experience Costa Rica comfortably and care-free.
We come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Caribbean Coconut. Located about 4 kms outside of the village/town of Cahuita, on the rugged Playa Grande (big beach), it met our needs perfectly. Before we start, a few words about us to help you contextualize this review: we are a white heterosexual couple in our early 40's. Both of us have a lot of travel experience in both "developing" and "developed" countries. In our younger days we were quiet, conscientious packbacker types not prone to parties and wild times, but more to wandering and experiencing. We do not like all inclusive resorts and do not expect perfection (though we are also somewhat picky, especially the author). As early 40 year old travellers, we like simple rooms plus some creature comforts like hot showers and air conditioning when appropriate.

We loved the Caribbean side of Costa Rica because it is less touristy and the tourism that does exist seems better integrated into Costa Rican life. The Hotel Caribbean Coconut is at the end of a dirt road and is almost the last hotel/bed and breakfast on that road. Very few cars go by each day (most people are actually on bicycles). I wish I knew how to describe...how at the edge of the jungle it is. We did not have to leave the hotel to see, hear or experience wildlife. We simply sat on our patio at dusk and waited for it to find us: howler monkeys, a sloth so low on a branch people were actually petting it, a 4 foot iguana, a 6 foot boa constrictor wrapped around a tree branch, a kinkajoo that walked the hydro wires every night....all of these were either right there for us, or within a minute's walk (someone would usually come and get us when there was something wonderful to see).

The hotel consists of four or five small rooms which face onto a courtyard and swimming pool. The pool was lovely and a wonderful way to rinse off and relax at the end of the day. There is also a cozy Italian restaurant on site, run by the owners, who are themselves Italian. The food is very good and the wine is imported from Italy. The owners are exceptionally kind and gracious people.

There are a number of different beaches in the area. The one directly across the dirt road and a little way through the palm trees is a taupe coloured sand and quite rugged..i.e. littered with driftwood, pretty big surf and swimmable though murky water. We could walk 3-4 hours, meet only 2 or 3 other Costa RIcan families along the way and still not find the end of the beach. There are other more populated and combed beaches closer to town and we swam at those as well. One is a black sand beach and the other is a white sand beach.

In terms of things to do in the area, there were other restaurants nearby, so we ate at different places. there was no shortage of good food in Cahuita. You could also rent bicycles, which we did and would recommend doing if you don't have a car. The horse back riding tours come highly recommended, though we didn't do one. Mostly we just walked and cycled and swam and chilled, and we loved it.

So, to be fair, there are some things you might also want to know: 1) some of the photos of the hotel could be seen as a little bit misleading, though understandably so. The photos give the sense that the hotel is almost right on the beach and it is not. They also give the sense that the views of the beach are better than they are. Since most of the rooms face into the courtyard, your view is mostly of the other rooms. That said, we just had to turn our chairs a different direction and we could see the ocean. 2) The beach is across the dirt road, and then down a path away from the hotel. When it rains the path can be swampy, and then you have to walk a little farther to get to another path that isn't swampy. We didn't mind this at all, but some people might. 3) The hot water was hit and miss, and usually lukewarm. We also didn't mind this because it was incredibly hot and muggy. Again, some people might. 4) If you don't have a car, then you definitely need a bike. We rented ours for $8/day. No problem. 5) the owners speak wonderful Spanish, Italian and French. Their English is limited. We didn't mind this and we all used whatever mixtures of whatever we had to communicate.

Our stay was really magical, and we would do it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was probably the nicest place we stayed in Costa Rica. The room was spacious, attractively designed and immaculately clean. We ate at the restaurant several times and were always pleased with the offerings, especially the pasta dishes which were enough for two people. Like many of the places in the area, the hotel is actually across the street from the beach, which you can see from the hotel courtyard. Actually getting to the beach is around a 5 minute walk.

The room was extremely reasonable for the price. We appreciated having a safe in the room.

Despite a somewhat complicated tab with laundry, meals, sodas in the room etc, all financial issues were easily worked out to our satisfaction. The couple that runs the place is very pleasant and personable . Breakfasts were light but tasty, served in an attractive outdoor cabana with excellent coffee.

The only real drawback is that the hotel is quite some distance from town. This wouldn't be a problem if we had a rental car but for this trip we arrived by bus. It would have been nice if the hotel had bikes available although they did work with us to find a bike rental place (Brigittes) about halfway into town and take us there, and also drove us to the bus station at no charge when it was time to leave. Bike riding is a good choice although it can be a bit daunting in the rainy season with the pothole-ridden roads. A lot of the other places we went by looked pretty run down so there were obviously some benefits to staying out here.

The road has almost no traffic and the room was basically quiet,. We had a relaxing stay here and would definitely stay again, especially if we had a rental car.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hotel is set off the beaten path from Cahuita so is very quiet. The restaurant is open for dinner. We were served a gourmet feast - my friends and husband dining on fresh red snapper, I on a plate of fettuccine in a light truffle sauce - which Paolo, co-owner of the hotel as well as its resident chef, prepared for us. Our rooms were clean and nicely decorated, and the small swimming pool gave us a place to cool off after each day's activities. The service was great, and we were very satisfied with our having selected this hotel from among the many offerings available in the Cahuita areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caribbean Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caribbean Coconut

Address: Playa Grande, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Caribbean Coconut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Coconut Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caribbean Coconut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.