We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de las Flores Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Casa de las Flores Hotel to your Saves list
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cahuita National Park, Cahuita, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great small centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived in Cahuita and drove down the wrong road so did a tour of the place and we saw a lot of run down places so when we found La Casa De las Flores Hotel we breathed a sigh of relief. The rooms face a very pretty garden and to the side is a small swimming pool. The owners are there ready to help anytime you need something - Roberta was always on the go and backed up by her much calmer other half made an excellent team. Don't forget to ask them where to eat!! Great places.
Breakfast you can have down near reception or outside your door where there is a table and chairs.
We had a great laugh with them and stayed for 4 nights. Although the area looks run down it's unique, remember it used to be the backpackers area. The walks in the Cahuita National Park are great. We visited a rustic chocolate factory and also the iguana sanctuary.
Although it rained 2 of the 4 days we just loved it.
As for the noise that others mention, with the windows closed it was not really noticeable (our room was more or less in the middle upstairs.)
The owners are Italian so: Grazie per tutto quello che avete fatto per noi. E stato veramente bello. Grazie per I consigli su dove andare a mangiare!! Tutto eccellente! Speriamo di ritornare presto. O Roberta non lavorare troppo!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    38
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
105
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

La Casa De Las Flores is a small, clean, pretty, and self-contained hotel almost in the heart of Cahuita. It has comfortable beds and a good bathroom. The owners and lovely Rosa are very nice and helpful. The hotel is completely built around a peaceful centre area where there are tables, a small pool, and some parking. Because of that, it creates a little oasis. Breakfast is included, as is air-conditioning and hot water. Everything (including the park) is within very easy walking distance. Yes, Coco's bar is close by - there is some noise because of that, but we didn't find it overbearing (except for New Year's eve, but that was to be expected). In fact, it was much quieter than another hotel we stayed at for a few nights across the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

In my last trip to Costa Rica I stayed at La Casa de Las Flores and the experience was very good although there was something slightly annoying… and it´s called COCO´S. It seems that 30 m away from the hotel is the largest disco in Central America… at least for the noise!. So… don´t expect to rest quietly although the beds are comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's a very nice place, with big clean rooms. The owners are very nice as well but the most popular night bar in town, the coco's, is just few meters away from here so, if you are looking for peace and tranquility, bring some ear plugs...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

the price fits what you get. it is not luxury but quality wise it is not bad compare to what you see and pay in the area. the pricing is competitive. the rooms are clean and spacious. the hot water is ok but you may have to wait a few minutes. it is close to what you need, stores, restaurants and bus stop not that this town has a lot.

the only draw back is the water flow is a little low. otherwise the hotel is well stocked. I did not experience the animal issues as described here. I heard some dogs howling early in the morning for a few seconds but that was all I heard of them. I never paid attention or look for animal issues but I did not see any. it was a straight forward experience with the owner/manager. I did not ask for help or talk to them. overall, it was a good experience. I would recommend staying here if you are willing to pay their rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in mid-October. The smallish hotel (9 or 10 rooms) is comfortable, convenient and relatively new. Entrance to Cahuita NP only a couple of blocks away, plus in Cahuita every place is within a short walk.

The hotel offers secure off-street parking and a small swimming pool. Morning breakfasts (included) were a treat ... a giant serving of three or four kinds of fresh fruit, plus toast or rolls and eggs as you like them. Our room had a small table for two out front.

Friendly owner and staff. We had read about possible noise issues due to the hotel's proximity to Coco's, and we did hear some music on the Friday night that we stayed there, but it did not disturb our sleep.

Visiting during green season, we benefitted from a promotion (3rd night free), so the place definitely merits a '5' on the value metric, but I would recommend Hotel de las Flores even in the absence of these savings. It's a calm and secure location that offers guests comfort and convenience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The rooms are big and clean. The staff and owner provide first class service and are very helpfull and friendly. We loved the garden and pool and how it felt cozy and still close to shops, restaurants, beach and natural park. The breakfast is wonderfull and it is so nice to sit in this tranquil place and enjoy your morning tea/coffee. We highly recommend this hotel and will definatly be coming back here for our next visit to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa de las Flores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de las Flores Hotel

Address: Cahuita National Park, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
#1 Green Hotel in Cahuita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de las Flores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer Air Condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de las Flores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Las Flores Hotel Costa Rica/Cahuita

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de las Flores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.