We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay if you get the right room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ara Ambigua Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ara Ambigua Lodge to your Saves list
Ara Ambigua Lodge
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   400mts Norte de la Iglesia de La Guaria, 2110-1100 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent stay if you get the right room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We had room 15 which was wonderful. Rooms 3a, 3b, 4a, 4b, etc., were not great, even awful. I saw about 20 rooms there as I was with a group. Some of the cabins had air conditioning which we REALLY needed, cute bathrooms, artistic touches, and our room had a lovely bed. The security was excellent, we felt very safe. It was quiet and clean. The food was very good and they had great salads. The pool was also very nice and a great temperature. Most bathrooms were very odorous; there was a raw sewage smell. We just kept the bathroom door closed. It was very convenient to all Sarapiquí attractions. Service was above average, problems were taken care of immediately and management was very kind and understanding. Wifi worked great at the reception.

Room Tip: As I said, 11 - 15 seemed the best, but 15 was really wonderful, beautiful veranda, lots of windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nice and gentle personel. A lot of birds around the room. There is a trail in the wood nearby, where we saw montazumas and squirls. Food is OK and free Sidi in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Nice hotel with a very spacious room and a small terrace. Large swimming pool divided in 2 (grown ups & children) by a little bridge. Good shower. If you want to eat in the restaurant, you should try the pizza!!!!!!! One of the best I ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This place is great for the charm and the setting. Great to watch an amazing assortment of wild birds while dining in the open-air restaurant (they put out fruit and feeders - you'll see everything form hummingbirds to toucans, orapendula montezuma, squirrels....). Rooms are OK, clean, a bit dull, quite spacious, set in the grounds in chalets. All quite new. Food in restaurant is OK, nothing special. Staff are nice. Free wifi in public area. Nice pool area. Look for wild monkeys in the trees around the hotel. Choose this place for the setting and atmosphere - best of the 4 family-run hotels we used around the country on our tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed two nights and received excellent service. Originally were supposed to stay 1 night but hotel was able to accommodate us (a group of 21) for an extra night. Personnel attentive to our needs. Food was excellent. We had the breakfast and dinner buffet. Both had more than enough food even for seconds. Breakfast was included but we negotiated the dinner buffet at a very reasonable price. We were able to use their meeting room free of charge. For our group it was an excellent choice and an excellent experience. Beautiful grounds. Would definitely stay there again. Rooms were spacious, with AC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We only stayed one night but enjoyed the remoteness and solitude of the rainforest atmosphere. Birds were fed at the dining area which was lovely. Did I mention it is in a rainforest? Yes it rained cats and dogs so we didn't even see the pool! We did have a boat/river tour arranged through the hotel which was cheaper than we could get ourselves. It takes only 5 minutes to drive to town

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel is close to town, but not too close. It is near all the activities, which was nice, we never had to drive too far. The grounds were really nice and very well maintained. We loved the pool, nice, and clean. The AC did the job and kept the room nice and cool. The room itself was basic, but met our expectations. The largest disappointment was the breakfast and the restaurant overall. The portions for breakfast were meager, and the pricing for the other meals was really high, even for US standards. Overall though, I would reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ara Ambigua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ara Ambigua Lodge

Address: 400mts Norte de la Iglesia de La Guaria, 2110-1100 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarapiqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ara Ambigua Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ara Ambigua is a beautiful mountain hotel, located in Sarapiquí in the Northern Zone of Costa Rica just 1.5 hours from San Jose. Here, you can enjoy the peace and exotic beauty of the tropical rainforest. Throughout your stay, you'll have a relaxing and enjoyable experience in this family-owned and run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ara Ambigua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ara Ambigua Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ara Ambigua Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.