We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except for the view of the city lights....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Villas La Condesa to your Saves list
Hotel & Villas La Condesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Rafael
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Except for the view of the city lights....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This probably was a grand dame at one time, but its golden age has passed it by.

So lets start... At check-in, my wife inquired where the bathrooms were, and after she left to find them the clerk and bellman made fun of her pronunciation, thinking my Spanish was lacking too. I replied in English "Its not polite to make fun of a guest" and the clerk played dumb. The bellman took our bags to the room and left them in the middle of the downstairs, not bothering to take them up to the bedroom. He also failed to show us around the room at all and failed to mention that a key placed in a slot was required to work the lights.

The room has seen better days, a torn chair, frayed carpeting, an armoire with no television. The highlight was the downstairs bathroom that had used toilet paper still left in the waste can.

The majority of the staff acted dour and sour, as if they would give their life to be somewhere else. The only pleasant staff member was Norma at the breakfast buffet.

Have a look at the attached photos and then run for another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo J, at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear MizzouMike

Thank you for your comments.

We are taking note of your annotations in order to fix all.

Cordially

Jairo Jimenez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
54
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

First we had to pay a taxi driver to find this massive hotel and we had a rental car ! After we changed our STABBED TIRE !!!! HOTEL ISN'T ALL THAT ! It's big and cold like flannel and parka cold. We thought we were in Alaska. Food overpriced and underwhelming. Then we asked what town we were in because of goggle maps it needs to have a town, they didn't know what town they were in. That was the answer from people who work there. Laundry service will run you about 2.00 for each piece even panties. Water 12oz 3.60 . Cup of coffee 2.75 . Internet only works in lobby. Room smelled old. We only had 2 nights there. So thank god. Grounds are pretty and if you are there don't leave cause you will never find it agian.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo J, Guest service at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear maof7shamong

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your time letting know us all your experience.
We are working hard to improve our services.

Best regards.
Jairo Jimenez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing place it had reminded me of times past everything inside was very extravagant and they have a really cool cave bar as well the rooms were nice the bathroom was luxurious as well and the view it was amazing there is not much outside the property but if it is a good place to relax before leaving beautiful coaster Rica

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Guest service at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear friends

Thank you for your comments!

We will wait until your next visit to your home in Costa Rica!

Best regards;

Luis González
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We just got married and we reserved two nights, a honeymoon special and a regular night. Everything was perfect, we had two breakfast and two dinners. The food was very good but the service was Superb ! Specially Norma, the waitress who serviced us, she had a great attitude and really made us feel welcome and at home, thank you Norma!

Apart from that we had the junior suite it was a beautiful room with a huge window overlooking the perfect gardens and all the city lights. At sunset the whole room turned orange and we made lots of photos.

Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Customer Service at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Nathalie

Congratulations for your wedding!

We really appreciate your comments and time.

Please feel welcome any moment, here at your home in Costa Rica.

Best regards;

Luis González
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went for my honeymoon, I must say I was able to negotiate my dinner for a lunch, extra $10 for that, but it worth it! Warm welcome, very efficient staff, and the suite was super romantic, I loved everything! Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Costumer Service at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear MoniqueAr

We are glad to read your comments!

Feel more than welcome for your next visit.

Will be an honor serve you again.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My fiance and I were looking for a quiet weekend in the mountains to relax but were sorely disappointed. My fiance rented a villa (i.e. private cabin/small house) but when we called to confirm, we were told there were only apartments (shared walls) available (so make sure you are clear about what property you are renting). Although the apartment was spacious, it was maybe a 3-star at best (lukewarm water with low pressure, no napkins, only three towels in the unit, mildew smell, poor lighting but a great view). Worst of all, the walls were paper thin and we could hear everything from our neighbors (light talking, music, barking dogs, sex, etc.). We called security twice to complain about the music playing after 12:30am and they did not resolve the situation. We ended up moving the mattress to the living room to sleep on the floor. Perhaps the hotel is great for student groups but don't waste your money on the apartments.

Room Tip: Be very clear with the reservation desk about which room you want to reserve (i.e. hotel, apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here two nights with a group from my university. Everyone enjoyed their stay and the service from the staff. Be sure to go to the eatery/bar and ask for Joel! ! He works really hard to make your time there relaxing and enjoyable, as does Allan, Miguel, and the rest of the crew! The rooms are nice with an excellent view and everyone had a small fridge as well. Beautiful and safe area that I will return to someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear friend

Thank you very much for your comments.

Joel, Allan and Miguel send their greetings!

We are glad that your stay at our hotel was comfortable, since now you are more than welcome to visit us any time.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Villas La Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Address: Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Villas La Condesa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Condesa Hotel & Villas is located just 15 minutes from the center of the province of Heredia and 40 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Surrounded by gardens, mountains and fresh air, has an average temperature of 20 degrees during the day and at night can drop to 12 degrees.The hotel has 95 beautiful rooms, all with beautiful panoramic view of the mountains as well as 8 Rustic Villas amidst the gardens, as well as International cuisine restaurant, Room Service, Bar, Heated indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, Spa treatments, conference rooms from 5 to 400 people, business services and free wireless internet access throughout the hotel, emergency medical service and 24 hour reception, parking and laundry.Rooms feature: save deposit box, blackout, cable TV, telephone, hair dryer, minibar, daily housekeeping, free Internet access, irons and ironing boards.The friendly and experienced personal help to supplement an atmosphere surrounded by nature, quiet, comfortable and stress free. Stay at La Condesa Hotel & Villas and enjoy a mountain hotel near the city ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Villas La Condesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villas La Condesa
Hotel La Condesa
Hotel & Villas La Condesa Costa Rica/San Rafael

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Villas La Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.