We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Venue With Excellent Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Villas La Condesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Villas La Condesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in San Rafael
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very Nice Venue With Excellent Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here two nights with a group from my university. Everyone enjoyed their stay and the service from the staff. Be sure to go to the eatery/bar and ask for Joel! ! He works really hard to make your time there relaxing and enjoyable, as does Allan, Miguel, and the rest of the crew! The rooms are nice with an excellent view and everyone had a small fridge as well. Beautiful and safe area that I will return to someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear friend

Thank you very much for your comments.

Joel, Allan and Miguel send their greetings!

We are glad that your stay at our hotel was comfortable, since now you are more than welcome to visit us any time.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    31
    28
    14
    8
See reviews for
12
50
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sto Domingo Heredia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I knew this hotel some time ago. So when I decided to take a trip with my wife I took the offer of easybook and I haven´nt regreat it, It was great. Easy to get there, good service, and the people were so kind. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Elesvan A

We really appreciate your time commenting our property.
Is good to know your experience with us, and good to know that our staff are doing their best.

We hope continue serving your every time you decide visit La Condesa Hotel.

Since now, welcome back!

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlayson, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent three days here in March 2013 for a business trip. Service was wonderful and my room was spacious and well appointed -- I even had a lovely working fireplace. The architecture of the hotel is truly old Costa Rican -- wide well-lit hallways, sitting areas spaced along the hotel's length open for three stories and providing spectacular views of the valley, beautiful wooden furniture with lovely textiles, grand lighting fixtures. The dining area was a beautiful courtyard/conservatory -- great lighting. Our business meals were served buffet style, and the food was truly good, and included generous fresh fruits and vegetables and hot items. The hotel is up the size of a volcano, providing great views of San Jose below, and was also within 5 minutes of some wonderful restaurants. If you want the sameness of Marriott or Holiday Inn, stay in San Jose. If you want a touch of the real Costa Rica hospitality, La Condesa is a good choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely. Those on higher levels have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest

We really appreciate your time comment our hotel.
Glad to know all your good experiences with us.

Will be an honor serving on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Kind regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Succotz, Belize
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had to stay here due to work related purposes. In the middle of nowhere? This place is only suitable for couples.
The only restaurant didn't provide many options and half of the options were not available. The quality of the food is barely acceptable and the breakfast which was included was rather poor!
There are two bars, rather pricey.
The overall ambience is good but not sure I would stay here again - unless I was hiding away with someone.
Got to stay on the top floor, the wind blew the entire 3 nights I stayed here - can be a nightmare for sleep quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Visitor

We are concerned about your comments, and work hard to fix all your review.

As you mention, the hotel is located in a beautiful area away from the city smog and stress. Only 15 minutes from Heredia town, 35 minutes from San José, also stray way to the international airport skipping the traffic from mayor cities.

Absolutely great place for honey moons, but also amazing location for meetings; where people enjoy the peace and fresh air next to top technology convention center that only La Condesa Hotel can offer.

The weather is unpredictable, however we will take care of the roof in order to fix any damage or nuisance noise.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends for two nights. Some of the facilities are dated and need updating/repaired. Overall its an okay place to stay. Friendly staff and nice bar area. Has two restaurants. we only tried one that featured a $25 buffet dinner. Seemed to be overpriced for the meal.

Has a nice indoor pool area with a spa that was not working during our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Allen2

We glad your comments, we are day to day working on maintenance and taking care of details on normal wear and tear for building and furniture.

I send your comment about meal quality and price to Food and Beverage Director to find more details and fix the menu.

About the spa service, they work only under reservation, however, I recommend to place a sign to make an appointment if any costumer arrive directly to the spa without advise. Also Front Desk will inform clients about the service on request.

We hope to serve you again in the future, since now feel welcome at La Condesa Hotel.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding in Heredia, the hotel is nice, the attention was warm and helpful. The hotel needs a major renovation! We had a jr suite and everything looked frayed, not quite dingy but close. It needs some investment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alonso G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest

We really appreciate you time and comments.
We are working hard on maintenance, considering the importance and normal wear and tear.

Since now you are welcome back at La Condesa Hotel.

Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Love La Condesa! What a beautiful hidden gem in the mountains! What is great about La Condesa is you can be close to both the Heredia and San Jose cities but stay in the cool quiet mountains. Relaxation and nature would be the focus of your stay there. Breakfast was excellent in the open courtyard. The staff friendly and attentive. At night the beauty of the city below is amazing. As other people have said the rooms need some remodeling and I spoke with the hotel manager about this and he showed me rooms that were recently finished. So ask for the newly remodeled rooms as they are beautiful. Great price! Great getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo L, Director General at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Amigos,
Saludos cordiales de parte del equipo del Hotel La Condesa.
Gracias por sus comentarios y seguiremos trabajando en mejorar cada día.
Aprovecho para quedar a su entera disposición,
Atentamente
Eduardo Lanaspa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Villas La Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Address: Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Villas La Condesa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Condesa Hotel & Villas is located just 15 minutes from the center of the province of Heredia and 40 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Surrounded by gardens, mountains and fresh air, has an average temperature of 20 degrees during the day and at night can drop to 12 degrees.The hotel has 95 beautiful rooms, all with beautiful panoramic view of the mountains as well as 8 Rustic Villas amidst the gardens, as well as International cuisine restaurant, Room Service, Bar, Heated indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, Spa treatments, conference rooms from 5 to 400 people, business services and free wireless internet access throughout the hotel, emergency medical service and 24 hour reception, parking and laundry.Rooms feature: save deposit box, blackout, cable TV, telephone, hair dryer, minibar, daily housekeeping, free Internet access, irons and ironing boards.The friendly and experienced personal help to supplement an atmosphere surrounded by nature, quiet, comfortable and stress free. Stay at La Condesa Hotel & Villas and enjoy a mountain hotel near the city ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Villas La Condesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villas La Condesa
Hotel La Condesa
Hotel & Villas La Condesa Costa Rica/San Rafael

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Villas La Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.