We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Rated 5 star but don´t let that fool you"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Villas La Condesa to your Saves list
Hotel & Villas La Condesa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Rafael
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“"Rated 5 star but don´t let that fool you"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The La Condesa Hotel in Heredia has a 5 star rating on the entrance to their lobby. This hotel warrants more like 3 stars. While the rooms are spacious they are old and in need of upgrade. The hotel is on the side of a mountain with lush landscaping. However there is absolutely nothing around it meaning a taxi ride is necessary to the closest amenities. It would be nice to have a small store in the hotel selling sundries, chips, snacks, etc.- but there is only a small gift store with souvenirs only. Bring your own supplies. The bar does have sodas and water and drinks are reasonable. Service is slow. It took us 30 minutes to get towels for our room that were missing as we walked in. That is inexcusable. The hot water seemed to disappear shortly after the shower was turned on. As far as the food- I disagree with previous reviews and found the breakfast buffet limited and only average. The walls are thin and you can hear everything out in the halls. If you have a better option for lodging- take it and skip this hotel.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have high traffic in the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairo J, Guest service at Hotel & Villas La Condesa, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Bill H

Thanks for your comments.

We are taking note of your annotations in order to fix all.

Cordially

Jairo Jimenez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
12
54
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were here for a wedding, three friends in one room. The room was spacious, but not very fresh and new.

The hotel seemed like a place that was once great, when the thing was new, but where not much had been done since the opening.

There were two other weddings going on that same day, which might account for the rather poor service. We never had the right number of towels (two towel for three people when we got there, and none after the first morning of tidying). We called for more towels, and got them that first night, but on the second day (with all the wedding parties) they never came.

Breakfast buffet was very good, though. With tipico costa rican breakfast, saussiges, cheese and fruit. I liked that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel La Condesa is an older hotel located near Heredia, Costa Rica. Heredia is about a 1+ hour drive from central San Jose. The grounds are beautiful with greenery, trees and vegetation. The residential neighborhood surrounding the hotel is safe and a private park is located across the street.

The food and service at the restaurant was very good. Free wifi and internet service was available as well as a pool and not-so-warm jacazzi. Housekeeping in the room was below average. Upon returning to the room on the second day, no towels or bathroom linens were available. Bed linens were thin and below a quality expected in a nice hotel.

Be aware that the La Condesa is not located near shopping or other tourist activities. Heredia is approximately a 15 minutes drive from the hotel by taxi which costs about $8US. Make sure the taxi in on the meter as a flat rate will cost $15 - 20.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a great view of the valley and city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

La Condesa is in the suburbs of Heredia and well up on the mountain, giving it a great view and cooler temperatures. The grounds are like a large park, with trails around the hotels and adjacent vacation villas. In the evening, a jacket is needed. We stayed there three separate nights in January, 2012. The room was average, but good size. All the rooms face the valley. At night, you could look down upon all the lights twinkling below. Some suites have their own fireplace. We were part of a small group, and one evening, had our meal in the bar in front of the fireplace. We had excellent service, but that could have been because there were not a lot of other people staying there. Breakfasts were a very good buffet. Overall, the food was very good. It is not the Ritz, but is a comfortable place to stay in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was my third time staying at La Condesa, and some things remain as beautiful as the first time: the gardens and the fresh air. The concept of this hotel: a comfortable stay surrounded by all the green you can get in the high mountains of Costa Rica. Temperatures in this time of the year (December) range from 10 to 20 Degrees C (50 to 70 Fahrenheit), and as rooms don't have any kind of air conditioning you need to sleep closely to your loved one to make up for the lack of heating air system.

If you are looking for a piece of nature up in the mountains, this is a nice place to start. It is not wild, but a large and well maintained garden, with some small trails where you can walk for a while. The surroundings invite you to stay quiet and still, enjoying the view in almost every place you stay at. The common areas inside of the hotel are also well maintained, and they look very nice. Rooms are simple, with not much furniture. They seem a little old, but clean and very well illuminated through large windows. All rooms face west, so you can experience the sunset from your bedroom if you want to.

The low points of my stay were related with food. Restaurants look nice, but the food is not up to the same level as the hotel. I am familiar with the area, and there are some smaller places downhill to Heredia where food is tastier. Food prices is not expensive, but it definitely has room for improvements.

There are also some small touches that make you wonder: why they do this? The hotel looks like a 4 stars place, but some details make it go lower, down to the 3: squeaky wooden floor (in Junior suite 2nd floor), lose bathroom handles, hot water missing at midmorning, cheap looking blankets, few pillows, few towels. I called the service number, 777, multiple times and got no response. I got really good response from the Main Desk, 502, which I kept calling afterwards.

Employees were attentive, and made you feel welcome. I would stay there again in the future, just hoping they take care of the small details.

Room Tip: To have a quiet night, look for the rooms farther away from the restaurant, as there are parties som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location of the hotel is amazing, I loved the cold and fog that I could see while I was there. The attention at reception was average, they just did their work. It was supposed that the package I paid includes a welcoming cocktail but we didn't receive any, and I think that the worst part was the room, it had good space but looked old, the blanket had holes, in the bathroom you could find spider webs, I mean it seems that they don't care too much about the state of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with a group while visiting Costa Rica. The hotel looks like it was once a really nice place... Like in the 1980's! The furniture is outdated, stained, and old. When we checked in, we found hair balls and dirt on our guest room carpet. Once the maid vacuumed the carpet looked new. Sad, that it was actually that dirty. The pool and hottub area looked old as well. The lights were out in the pool area so we didn't bother getting in the pool. You couldn't see what was in the pool with you. The buffet breakfast the next day was okay. However the service of the restaurant staff was awful. We had get up and ask the bar for coffee, tea, juice. The server never came over to ask us.
We did love the lobby fireplace. The smell and sound of the fresh fire at night was wonderful. We enjoyed hanging out by the fireplace.

Overall, this hotel is in need of some updating. But if you need a place to stay in the area for a night, this is okay. Just make sure your room has been cleaned to your desire.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Villas La Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Villas La Condesa

Address: Monte De La Cruz, San Rafael 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Villas La Condesa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Condesa Hotel & Villas is located just 15 minutes from the center of the province of Heredia and 40 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport. Surrounded by gardens, mountains and fresh air, has an average temperature of 20 degrees during the day and at night can drop to 12 degrees.The hotel has 95 beautiful rooms, all with beautiful panoramic view of the mountains as well as 8 Rustic Villas amidst the gardens, as well as International cuisine restaurant, Room Service, Bar, Heated indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, Spa treatments, conference rooms from 5 to 400 people, business services and free wireless internet access throughout the hotel, emergency medical service and 24 hour reception, parking and laundry.Rooms feature: save deposit box, blackout, cable TV, telephone, hair dryer, minibar, daily housekeeping, free Internet access, irons and ironing boards.The friendly and experienced personal help to supplement an atmosphere surrounded by nature, quiet, comfortable and stress free. Stay at La Condesa Hotel & Villas and enjoy a mountain hotel near the city ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Villas La Condesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Villas La Condesa
Hotel La Condesa
Hotel & Villas La Condesa Costa Rica/San Rafael

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Villas La Condesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.