We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This facility is near the international airport and has a shuttle, so it is a good place to stay the night before and that is what we did. We'd rented a car, so drove to the hotel, got our room, then drove to the rental car company, got a taxi back, then took the shuttle to the airport the next day. The hotel had very difficult access from an unbelievably busy semi-highway. If you miss the turn-off, it will take you about a half hour to get to the next, turn around, come back, and in our case, have to overshoot due to then being on the wrong side, and return. The drivers there are crazy and all going as fast as they can. The hotel property is cramped with some awkward stairs, but once you are on the level you need to be it is fine. The pool area is very nice but we didn't find any towels or attendants. Our room had a nice king bed but also was cramped. It did have a patio and table. The bathroom was also cramped. Our room was quiet. Breakfast the next day was fine, with a large dining area. Check in and check out professional. Coffee and cookies in a pleasant average size lobby. Shuttle got us there on time and driver helped us find a "redcap" to help us with luggage and going through the line for payment of the exit tax. So the hotel did its job for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    32
    15
    16
See reviews for
38
73
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've stayed there several times in the last year. The people are very professional and helpful. Pool is very clean. Free breakfast (they'll make you an omelet how you like) with all the regular breakfast items. The price is very reasonable. I've stayed at the adjacent hotels and prefer this one. One is too primitive and the other too expensive for what I need on a business trip. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night upon arriving in San Jose and left for the beach the next day. (Due to the long 4-hour drive, I would highly recommend flying into Liberia if staying on the coast). The hotel is not like a Country Inn in the US, where the rooms usually have a separate suite area, but it was just fine for one night. The king sized bed filled up almost the entire room. The mattress was hard and the sheets thin. The TV was outdated. The shower was hot but had little water pressure, and barely trickled out. The towels were coarse. I agree that the rooms are outdated. The window glass was so thin it sounded like the window was open although it was closed. The interior pool area is beautiful and lush. The room was very quiet, and we slept well. The free breakfast was delicious. Fabulous coffee, juices, eggs, some sort of fried cheese balls, pancakes, delicious fresh fruit, bread, meat and cheese. We did not know about the airport shuttle unfortunately and took a taxi which we negotiated from $20 down to $12. It's a nice location close to the airport and the staff at the front desk were helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Choose a higher interior room but know there are stairs and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear wrldtraveler314,


Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Miguel Romano, Operations Manager (506-22392272) or mromano@countryinns.co.cr


Best Regards,
Mauricio Luna A.
mluna@countryinns.co.cr
Revenue Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked a room here as we were flying out in the morning from San Jose. Usually airport hotels are just okay. This place was great and wish we got there earlier to enjoy the nice pool. The staff were A+. We ended up in the Presidential Suite and it was fabulous. Two sofas, two separate bedrooms, 2 separate bathrooms, a kitchen, a living room area, a dining room area, and a separate study area. All of this for only about 125.00 using our AAA.
Our breakfast was good with terrific Gallo Pinto, eggs, fresh fruit, juices, sweet rolls. Beautiful open air restaurant overlooking the pool. It was close to a great Mexican Restaurant called Tijuanas. I hated to leave because the accomodations and the staff were so nice. The bed was very comfortable as well. Definitely worth staying at this hotel, good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After spending 10-days in rural Costa Rica where customer service is much more relaxed and the rooms are a little more sparse, I truly appreciated my one-night stay at Country Inn & Suites San Jose. The hotel has excellent guest service (I appreciated the bellman carrying my luggage to my room & the prompt, courteous wake-up call) & very clean, comfortable rooms. It was nice to have free wifi, coffee service, a mini-fridge, a safe, and TV with several English channels in the room. There are numerous sit-down & fast food restaurants with in a 10-15 minute walk of the hotel, and a Fresh Market grocery store a couple of doors down the road. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast but due to an early flight, I did not have the breakfast. They do, however, have coffee, fruit, and pastries available for guests departing early in the morning.

I would definitely stay here again when in San Jose--it's an excellent value overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We've stayed one night at this hotel just 3 Miles from the airport and it was nice, professional with a very nice room experience, good service and good price. We did not eat any food - the day of arrival the restaurant was closed and the next morning we had not been very much attracted by the looks of the breakfast buffet - it was too simple. Grat to have airport shuttle! But we definitely recommende the hotel for an easy stay with a good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Settemariit.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Miguel Romano, Operations Manager. mromano@countryinns.co.cr / Tef: 50622392272.

Best Regards,
Mauricio Luna
Revenue Coordinator
mluna@countryinns.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very efficient service, kind people attending you for any need.
A nice surprice to find a big resort with attentive service. Even providing a lot of amenities, I was not expecting them such a nice welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jason F.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience in Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, San Jose, Costa Rica. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Jason F. We look forward to your next stay in San Jose, Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Mauricio Luna
Revenue Manager
mluna@countryinns.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Address: Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Enjoy at San Jose Hotel's Location in Costa RicaAn inviting atmosphere, quality services and a convenient location near San Jose International Airport makes the Country Inn & Suites the perfect place for San Jose visitors to land. This hotel's location in Costa Rica offers thoughtful amenities designed to encourage rest and relaxation with two swimming pools, an on-site Fitness Center, an on-site restaurant and spacious guest rooms featuring attractive decor and home comforts. The Country Inn & Suites San Jose, Costa Rica hotel is perfect for business travelers, families or newlyweds as its conveniently located near downtown San Jose and major attractions like INBioparque, Volcano Poas and the Cafe Britt coffee plantation. Book online today and discover why this San Jose hotel's location in Costa Rica makes a great relaxation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Carlson, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites San Jose
Country Inn & Suites San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Country Inn
Country Inn San Jose
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.