We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were at the end of a hectic couple of months travelling in Costa Rica, and on our way to Liberia for a flight back to Canada. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and staff very helpful at check-in and out. However, we did not enjoy the restaurant, and found the staff there almost rude in the way they initially ignored us, and then were very focused on closing down for the night, rather than providing us with good service. Admittedly it was 40 minutes before closing that we arrived, but we ordered a simple meal and expected simply attentive service and a quick meal. The staff at breakfast however, were attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: There is no elevator here, but the staff is very helpful with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Julie F.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant. We regret to hear your service experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our food and beverage department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Best regards,
Mauricio Luna
Revenue Manager
mluna@countryinns.co.cr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    31
    14
    16
See reviews for
36
70
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is right next to the highway from the airport into the city. It’s great for a night or two if you are arriving from Europe but I would not stay here any longer.

The food is OK but the breakfast was notable by the absence of items for which there were signs. We didn’t eat here in the evening but went along the road where there’s a sushi/Italian restaurant (different signs but actually one establishment). There is a shopping mall further along but the shops are small and not particularly interesting.

Good pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of the trip and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The king room was large, spacious, and clean (although in desperate need of some updating), had good AC, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel dinner menu was expensive, but there are several affordable and good restaurants a 5 minute walk away. The included breakfast offered plenty of standard choices and the coffee was good. Check-out at 12 meant we had plenty of time to swim in the clean, well-kept pool and lounge in the sun before leaving for our flight. Good free shuttle to airport and total time between the hotel and the airport was less than 15 minutes. It was the perfect place to spend a night on the way out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the beginning and end of a recent trip to Costa Rica. I did not get to experience the hotel a lot. Both the occasion, I got a room upgrade (I trust so, as the room was booked as part of a package through a travel agency). Quality breakfast was offered in the restaurant. Rooms were well furnished,with great service from staff, I will prefer to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island, Lk. Superior
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I hope this is the correct place to which I refer. Near the airport but no shuttle service so taxi was extra. For only $65 we had a very nice room but the bed was up in a loft (interesting stairs) and the toilet was downstairs (a bit cramped). We wish the AC was turned on in advance of our arrival (we booked reservations). The restaurant served a fantastic stuffed snapper but the bar service was tediously slow. We stayed only 6 hours to avoid sleeping in the airport. It was well worth it even though there was a constant rumble of other AC's..

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the bed and toilet on the same level. Also ask about AC noise from adjoinin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here during the Central American Games ....was a wonderful experience with great staff!
Spent a week here and enjoyed it totally....As much as this place was a little ways off from City Center it is near to Plaza Cariari for shopping with a quaint souvenir shop nearby!
The grounds are always well kept and botanical plant names are posted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_GuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, Belizebwai

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Belizebwai. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Best Regards

Mauricio Luna
mluna@radisson.co.cr
+506 20106000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on our last night to catch a morning flight. Hotel is ok. Service was ok. i have no big complaints. they did their job. They keep the hotel clean but it is outdated. We were in the Presidential Suite which was big and nice but incredibly outdated! They have an airport shuttle but it only goes once an hour so keep that in mind. Breakfast was included but was not very good. Please know that this review comes from someone who stayed in five star resorts on the other nights so I might be jaded. I think for a discount hotel it is fine but if looking for an airport hotel I would pick one of the newer ones.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Country Inn & Suites San Jose, Costa Rica. We were very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay due to the fact that the hotel seemed outdated and your breakfast was not agreeable. We will take your comments and share them with hotel management and staff to ensure corrective action is taken. If you would like to further discuss your stay with one of our agents, please contact us directly at ccare@carlsonrezidor.com

Thank you,
Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Address: Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Enjoy at San Jose Hotel's Location in Costa RicaAn inviting atmosphere, quality services and a convenient location near San Jose International Airport makes the Country Inn & Suites the perfect place for San Jose visitors to land. This hotel's location in Costa Rica offers thoughtful amenities designed to encourage rest and relaxation with two swimming pools, an on-site Fitness Center, an on-site restaurant and spacious guest rooms featuring attractive decor and home comforts. The Country Inn & Suites San Jose, Costa Rica hotel is perfect for business travelers, families or newlyweds as its conveniently located near downtown San Jose and major attractions like INBioparque, Volcano Poas and the Cafe Britt coffee plantation. Book online today and discover why this San Jose hotel's location in Costa Rica makes a great relaxation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Carlson, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites San Jose
Country Inn & Suites San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
San Jose Country Inn
Country Inn San Jose
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.