We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but scamming practices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel but scamming practices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had two separate stays here, both one night after and before a flight. The hotel is located about 10 minutes by car from the airport. They have a complimentary shuttle but with very limited hours.

The room we got (I think we were upgraded as Club Carlson gold members) were big and decent. They all faced the courtyard where there are two pools. Both of the rooms had big balconies with chairs. Breakfast was very good for the price.

For our last stay we had to check out at 05 in the morning and the night before asked the hotel if they could help arrange a taxi. The hotel agreed to this and said it would cost USD 18 for our private transportation. We thought this was expensive but agreed to it (normal taxi is much less).

The next morning our taxi (the hotel shuttle) was about 10 minutes late and they asked us if another guy could ride with us. We gladly accepted this and during the ride the guy told us his company was paying for the shuttle. Even so (and the shuttle driver gave the guy a receipt) we had to pay $18 for our private shared shuttle...

All in all I would have rated this hotel 4/5 had it not been for our shuttle experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    77
    30
    14
    16
See reviews for
36
70
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice hotel, very helpful & polite staff . We stayed there for 2 days, the first & the last day of our trip. Our stay on the first day was so comfortable that we were looking forward to coming back on the last day, we knew we would be able to relax and geta good night's sleep before our flight back home. One thing I wish they wuld have is pick up at the airport till at least 11:00 pm. But overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here both coming and going out of San Jose Airport on an eight day trip to Costa Rica. The hotel was nice overall. I wouldn't spend a week there, but as a base for visiting the city for two days it should work well enough. I liked the breakfast options. There is secured parking. Staff was friendly. I will say the the rooms in the enclosed building by reception are nicer than those on the other side of the pool, but both were good enough. This is a reliable chain and a nice option for short stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Spent one night here before an early morning flight the following day. Upgraded to a very spacious, comfortable and clean room. Staff was incredibly helpful and very nice. Great proximity to the shops where you can find dinner, gifts and in-room necessities from Fresh Market. Room Service was delicious compared to what you normally receive for Costa Rican room service. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view have a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights before a tour and again for one night on our return. We had arranged for the free shuttle pickup at the airport prior to our arriving. The driver was there for us on arrival. The hotel is only about 15 minutes from the San Jose airport. Our first room was very nice – large, clean and well appointed. It had a nice deck that faced the pool. It was lovely sitting there admiring the gardens and watching the birds. The only problem with this room was the noise coming from the hallway – it seemed like the door was too thin to block out walking or talking noises. This was certainly evident with early morning departures. Our second room also had a deck but it faced the perimeter fence. Not as attractive. The room itself though was in a quieter area of the hotel. This hotel features excellent WiFi in the rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff, a good breakfast and a very good location. We took a local bus that stops near the hotel to downtown San Jose for about US$1.00 each. We would certainly highly recommend this hotel. Cleanliness, large and comfortable rooms, good internet access, very good air conditioning, nice staff and excellent location near a large mall all contribute to the appeal of the hotel. We would certainly consider staying there again if we returned to San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

On a recent trip, my husband and I rented a car and started out for our destination. Unfortunately, our GPS sent us up over the mountains on one lane dirt roads when we just needed to get across San Jose to Cartago. We eventually ended up back at the airport, frustrated with nerves that had seen better days, and found the Country Inn & Suites. We checked into our room which was very nice, just off the pool area. We then went back to the front desk to see if we could get some directions to help us the next day. The front desk clerk, Juan Pablo I believe was his name, was so helpful. He found a business in Cartago and programmed it into the GPS. We arose early the following morning to beat the traffic and made our way through the city with no problems.
The room was quite adequate and the pool area beautiful. It was also quiet and spacious considering how close to the road and airport this hotel is. We had a couple of drinks in the bar/restaurant area that evening which was quite nice. The following morning we had breakfast before leaving and it was a good way to start the day.
The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars was the toilet in our room flushed slowly, then overflowed the following morning. We reported the problem. I imagine it was resolved because the grounds were so well maintained and the room and public areas very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good value , clean rooms, friendly staff, close to many amenities and 15 minutes to airport.

Try to book newly renovated room as some are surprisingly nice.

Free breakfast beats any other similar type of hotel in US.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Fresh Market a well stocked mini supermarket is only a 5 minute walk , as well as nice little restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose

Address: Ciudad Cariari, San Antonio De Belen 357-2120, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and Enjoy at San Jose Hotel's Location in Costa RicaAn inviting atmosphere, quality services and a convenient location near San Jose International Airport makes the Country Inn & Suites the perfect place for San Jose visitors to land. This hotel's location in Costa Rica offers thoughtful amenities designed to encourage rest and relaxation with two swimming pools, an on-site Fitness Center, an on-site restaurant and spacious guest rooms featuring attractive decor and home comforts. The Country Inn & Suites San Jose, Costa Rica hotel is perfect for business travelers, families or newlyweds as its conveniently located near downtown San Jose and major attractions like INBioparque, Volcano Poas and the Cafe Britt coffee plantation. Book online today and discover why this San Jose hotel's location in Costa Rica makes a great relaxation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites San Jose Hotel San Antonio De Belen
Country Inn And Suites San Jose
San Jose Country Inn
Country Inn San Jose
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites By Carlson San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.