We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but slightly noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Bay Area, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good but slightly noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Our room had a bidet! That was cool. I saw on the website that they offer free transfers to the airport but we got charged $12 for our ride to the airport. Maybe there was a secret code that we missed.

Our room was directly across from the restaurant/bar and near the reception desk. It was definitely loud. The hotel is a short ride to the airport but there isn't anything good within walking distance if you want to eat or drink outside of the hotel. It was about 15 minutes in the opposite direction of the airport to get to San Jose.

  • Liked — bidet, guaro shots at the bar
  • Disliked — lots of noise in our specific room from the hallway
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,005
    434
    87
    45
    17
See reviews for
398
640
190
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarhurst, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel our first day and night, after arriving from an early flight. It was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant served good food. The only thing we missed was, it would have been nice to have someplace to hang out outside. But we relaxed int the very airy and comfortable lounge area with the computers. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herlev, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

....Then do yourself a favour and stay at Adventure Inn. I have, till this day never had this much value for my money as me and my girlfriend was blessed with the 3 nights in November and December 2008. During our 4 weeks of traveling in Costa Rica we got to San Jose 3 times and each time we had a new room, which all was very simular to eachother - big and spacious, cosy interior and a relaxed atmosphere.
The staff was friendly, spoke good english and was very efficient when we checked in, which is just what you after a long and exhausting journey coming from Europe.
I was not satisfied with Costa Rican food in general, but the food we had at this hotel was just delicious.
I would never rate any hotels as "excellent", because I believe I can always find something in any hotel, which could be better and that goes for Adventure Inn as well; I would prefer if the beds was a couple of inches longer. But it has to be said that I am quite tall, so very few people would agree with me on that one.

Enjoy your stay.....lucky you

  • Liked — The people behind the idea of building this place
  • Disliked — That it is located near San Jose, which is the part of Costa Rica I fancy least.Although it's better than the city centre
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Adventure Inn, located in San Jose, Costa Rica. In summary, it's an excellent value for money spent. The staff is very attentive, the room was very comfortable and clean, and there's an on-premise restaurant and bar / lounge. The hotel allows a detailed enjoyment of Costa Rican culture while providing almost all of the amenities of a hotel in the United States.

Michael Robinson is the son of the property's owner, and he is the on-site manager. He is the reason we chose the hotel, as follows. When we were first considering various San Jose, Costa Rica hotels, we sent the Adventure Inn an email, and Michael immediately replied (the personal touch), provided tons of good information and solid advice, and continued to remain in email contact with us, answering all our questions.

And when we got to the hotel, we met Michael and thanked him profusely for helping us with our vacation decisions.

Again, a great place to stay, and a wonderful value for the money. We will definitely stay there again.

To contact the Adventure Inn, go to: http://www.adventure-inn.com/

To send an email directly to Mike Robinson (the owner's son): [-]

  • Liked — Value and friendly service
  • Disliked — No pool, and too far (20 minutes) from downtown San Jose, Costa Rica
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Impressed with the service, beauty and cleanlines of this Inn. There are skylights in the hallways, ceramic floors and the gym has large glass windows on 3 sides. The gardens are well maintained. The staff are very detail oriented, helpful and courteous. A full breakfast was included. I was surprised to be handed a breakfast menu with so much to select from, all of which was included in the price of the room. The coffee provided in room free of charge, was the best I have ever tasted anywhere!!! And, there was lots of it. Also dined several times in their diningroom, an assortment of very good meals and reasonably priced. There are 4 computers in a lovely lounge, I never had to wait to use one. I will certainly stay here again and highly recommend, also to my friends, associates and family.

  • Liked — Excellent acommodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Last 23rd. January I returned from Costa Rica. I stayed at the Adventure inn Los Arcos Cariari and I want to tell you that I had a very pleasant surprise. I knew people in Costa Rica was nice but at the hotel they were just lovely and wonderful!!! Especially NANCY at the front desk and SHELLY in the restaurant. Please say Hello to them and thank you, very, very much. Congratulations !!!

Of course I recommend the Adventure Inn Los Arcos Cariari to everyone !!!

Thanks.

Manuel J. Solano

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We booked this hotel just to have a place to sleep and nearby the airport on our first night in CR. We checked in at 1am and had an early 7am flight to Arenal the next morning. We let the receptionists know that we wanted to be there in time to make our flight and they assurred us repeatedly that we need to arrive only 10- 15 minutes before our flight. Long behold the next morning, we arrived at the airport as they said and the flight had already left and would not have another until the next day. A loss of $180 for the flights and $100 for the room, I would definitely not waste your money here. The room had the bare essentials and the "free breakfast" consisted of eggs and a couple pieces of fruit. Save your money and stress and stay somewhere else!!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
I am sorry to hear you missed your flight. If you got to the airport and checked-in on time, yet your flight left early, the airline is at fault. However, anyone who thinks he can cut it so close and hope to arrive five or ten minutes before a scheduled flight is asking for trouble, why blame the hotel receptionists. When you purchased your plane ticket from the airline, you were told to arrive 45 minutes before the estimated time of departure.

You said our breakfast consists of eggs and a couple of pieces of fruit. What about the crisp bacon, the home fries, fresh-made fruit juice, toast, preserves, pancakes, French toast, cereal, milk and gallo pinto, Costa Rican coffee or tea?

You said our rooms had the bare essentials. This makes me question the legitimacy of this review. All rooms are quite modern and spacious with two orthopaedic double beds, A/C, a modern private tiled four piece bath (some with bidets), direct-dial phones, a large TV with sixty cable channels, an in-room safe, a writing table and chairs, WiFi, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, towels. linens, amenities; laundry, maid and room service; plus access to four guest computers, a new ten piece gym, and a Jacuzzi. Bare essentials, what are we missing?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.