We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to next visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Looking forward to next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I think we have stayed here about 5 times now and will stay again when we return to Costa Rica in May next year. The value can not be beat. A beautiful neighbourhood close to the airport, free transportation to or from the airport, free wifi and telephone calls, included large breakfast. Just down the street is a nice Supermarket and restaurants..we love the Italian one (I forget the name but will definitely get it next time so I can write review..they have great food and had live entertainment..fun way to spend our last night )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    451
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
412
667
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at the Adventure Inn for 9 days while recovering from dental surgery. The rooms were clean and up to US standards. The staff was pleasant and professional. It's close to the airport and only a 540 colones (about $1.10) to downtown by the San Jose/Alajeula bus. The bus has limited stops, so it is really about as fast as taking a taxi.

There is a shopping mall and supermarket about a mile up the road. A smaller Fresh Market (small supermarket) is only a quarter mile away.

The breakfast was great. You can order from the menu and while you're waiting, enjoy fresh fruits, bakery goods, cereal, fresh juice, boiled eggs, cheese, and outstanding coffee from the continental bar. I dined for dinner twice and enjoyed a very good grilled fish both times. Free international calls, free access to four desktop computers, and free wifi added to the value. The airport shuttle both ways was free and I didn't have to wait long to catch it. If I had paid for a taxi, it would have probably been a $10-$15 taxi fare each way.

I did make a point to visit a downtown hotel in the same price range recommended in a guide book. While it was okay, Adventure Inn offers a much better value. Another good point was that the dining area was relatively small, maybe a dozen tables. That made it very easy to meet fellow travelers and make new friends.

My wife and I will be returning to San Jose next year and we will sure to book our rooms well in advance so we can stay at the Adventure Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed one night on our way to our place in Cahuita. Staff very helpful and friendly at the desk. All spoke English. Room was good and clean. Free international calls included along with a great free breakfast to get us started for our journey. Will star there again for our first night when we return in Feb,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Adventure Inn on our first and last nights in Costa Rica. It's very close to the airport, they provide free transportation to the airport, and their included breakfast was the best "included" breakfast I've seen. You can order from several things on the breakfast menu, and they also have fruit, toast, and a pastry out to serve yourself. The rooms were clean, and the walls were concrete so we couldn't hear our neighbors (and they couldn't hear us - we had our 2-year-old daughter with us). We ended up renting a car from Alamo rental car at the airport, and the rental car place is very close to the hotel, so when we returned to San Jose on our last night of the trip, we just dropped off the rental car at Alamo, and we took the free shuttle from the hotel to the airport in the morning. All very easy. We didn't get there early enough to enjoy the pool either day, but it looked like a nice pool to spend a little time in. There's a separate section that is very shallow and looked great for kids. The only negative was the room our first night - it was the very first one just past the office (maybe room 1?). It was handicapped accessible, and it was a little mustier than the room on our return. I don't have bad allergies, but they certainly acted up that night. The toilet and shower had handicapped equipment in it that we would rather not have dealt with. But all in all, it was great for an overnight stay after flying in late to San Jose. Our room on our last night in San Jose was in the back part of the hotel, and I don't know if that section is newer or what, but I liked it much better. We were upstairs on the far end in room number 28 or 29.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in at the back section of the hotel (the rooms overlooking the fish tank/atrium-t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. Yes one of our rooms is handicap accessible, and we thought it would be ideal for a family with a 2 year old, with a spacious walk-in shower and a hand held shower head, and the room close to the restaurant so that the parents could relax nearby after their child was put down for the night, as other young families have appreciated. We apologize for assuming wrongly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is not a fancy hotel compared to the resorts outside of San Jose. But it is a good value for first and last night in CR if you fly into SJO instead of Liberia. The free breakfast and transportation to SJO is the best part. Some may object to the decoration, but you are here not for the looks. I had a wonderful and peaceful time in the pool/jacuzzi in the back. Water is clean and hot and because it was at night, I was practically alone. And the neighborhood is pleasant. My only complaint about this place is the air quality of those courtyard rooms without an outside window. The air in those rooms is stale and smells mildew to me. And you can hear all the noise in the courtyard. Because October is not hot, I much prefer an outside window with screen that I can just open and sleep without AC. Better for the environment, and more restful in my opinion. The staff was helpful and arranged rental car and tours efficiently.

Room Tip: Any room with a window to the outside, not a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks for your review. My only comment is that the courtyard, we call it the solarium, is open at each end with permanent louvers to allow fresh air to pass through and enter your room's windows, and the roof is actually diffuser panels to allow natural light to enter as well. October until mid-November is the rainiest time of the year, and humidity hangs thick no matter where you go in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My daughter and I recently visited Costa Rica for a short holiday. Whilst there, we based ourselves at the Adventure Inn, having read all the good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, our room was spacious and comfortable (with a view of the mountains) and the pool area made a nice tranquil spot to relax between trips. Breakfast was tasty and ample and we certainly appreciated the free international calls we were able to make from our room. For us, the whole package represented excellent value for money.

Having only a week to explore this beautiful country we were very grateful to the reservations manager for advising on possible tours prior to our arrival and to Rose at reception for making our tour bookings so efficiently and at very short notice, all of which went smoothly.

We would certainly return to the Adventure Inn if in Costa Rica again and I would have no reservation in recommending it as base for a short visit or as a place to start/end a longer visit, particuarly given it's proximity to the airport. Having free transfers to and from the airpor is just other indication of this hotel's commitment to good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellogg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our hosts at Adventure Inn could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We felt very welcome and respected during our stay. The Inn was beautiful, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with a variety of fresh fruit, eggs and breads beautifully served. Every service to us was delivered with a smile and a pleasant attitude, from the Front Desk hosts to the kitchen and housekeeping staff. They all took their job seriously in a professional manner. The hosts at the Front Desk also gave us the best directions for driving out of San Jose to our beach destination. It was our first time to drive this route and we are over 75. We were apprehensive, but the directions were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.