We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near the airport, many value-added features” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Collinsville, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place near the airport, many value-added features”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great, welcoming place, with a lot of features that add value:
1. Free ride to/from the ariport
2. Great breakfast to order included with menu tailored to many different international tastes
3. Free international phone calls!
4. Opportunity to save 10% if you book direct and pay cash

Helpful bilingual staff that can arrange tours, etc. Restaurant was decent enough and convenient. Fun tropical decor with an open feel, nice pool and hot tub.
It's a little bit of a trick to get the hottest water for a shower, "less is more", with the type of hot water heaters they have it helps to back off on the pressure/volume if you want a hotter temperature.

Room Tip: #32 was quite nice with 2 windows, a tub/shower, and a flat screen. #18 is nice, has a bidet and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    449
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
411
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Looking at the outside of this hotel, you wouldn't know how really quaint and comfortable it is. It is nestled in a side street off a busy thoroughfare. The décor inside is very tropical with both paintings on the walls as well as live green plants. We spent some time just admiring the artwork on the walls (both in the hallways and in our room) which gives the place a funky but quite welcoming feel. The staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. We were truly surprised and pleased with all the amenities that are offered: free wifi and computers, free international calls, free bottled water in the room, free breakfast (which was cooked to order, delicious and generous in portion), free airport shuttle. There is a pool and also a cute indoor patio area with a koi pond. Upstairs is a nice living room area with a little library of books (most likely left by other hotel guests). There is also an exercise room. Our room had three queen-size beds--the room was spacious. What we liked best was that the whole setup of the place (both the physical arrangement as well as the hotel staff) felt very home-like and had a good family vibe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was my first time in Costa Rica and services at this hotel made my stay MUCH easier and comfortable. Most of the hotel staff were fluent in both English and Spanish and were great help in regards to providing me with directions and advice on where to visit within the city. The restaurant has great food/drinks, the swimming pool was great, has 24 hour security, and the room was air conditioned and comfortable. The Wifi system also worked very well the entire time.

Room Tip: I hear that some rooms have stronger Wifi. Mine was great but I recommend you checking with the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had a delightful stay at the Adventure Inn the night before returning to the U.S. It is the best value around and also offers a complimentary shuttle to the airport. The food in the restaurant is fantastic! The rooms and bathrooms are very large and I had a great night's sleep on a very comfortable bed! The hotel has a "rainforest theme" which I found to be a charming and inviting reflection of the country as a whole. All of the staff were gracious and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to other travelers to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was are second stay at the Adventure Inn and again we were very happy. We stay there on our first day when we arrive in San Jose and will stay there on our last night before going back to U S A. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We also have two small dogs that travel with us and they have selected rooms on the first floor for pets that make traveling so much easier. The morning breakfast is really good in fact we had dinner there and it was pretty good. The pool is large and clean if you get the urge to swim.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a room off the pool and bar/restaurant so a bit noisy at tmes but the major problem was the musty smell in the room. Otherwise the staff and location are excellent. The breakfast was the best we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only stayed here one night at the end of our trip in Costa Rica, but was really impressed. The front desk staff was really helpful, the on-site restaurant served good food, and the rooms were huge! Very clean and comfortable. We didn't get to enjoy the pool, but it was really pretty out there. We had to leave so early in the morning we would have missed breakfast - they were kind enough to prepare us a "to-go" box to take with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.