We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and lovely hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Easy and lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Adventure Inn on our first day in the country and our last night before flying out early Sunday morning. I initially liked the hotel for the fair rates, and the other services they offered. We booked our rental car through the hotel, which was easy, and picked up the car at the hotel, and the drop off was also at the hotel, at the end of the week. The hotel also offered free pick up from the airport and free taxi to the airport when we flew out, which was also another reason I chose this hotel. It was, again, easy to book the shuttle from the airport, and the hotel set up the early morning taxi when we checked in on Saturday evening, prior to our departure. The staff at the hotel were friendly, inviting, knew who I was when we arrived for check in, and were knowledgeable about the area. Every one at the hotel was warm, welcoming and lovely. The hotel was clean, had bins for recycling, television with many channels, and some in English, as well as free international calls and free wifi. On our last night in Costa Rica, the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a suite, instead of a regular room, which was great, however the hotel was amazing even without the free upgrade. I would suggest this hotel to friends and would stay there again myself if I have the chance. Loved it there! And the food was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    434
    87
    45
    17
See reviews for
398
639
190
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In a town where hotels are often potluck, this one doesn't disappoint. Large rooms (we had the family suite), clean and organized. In a safe and quiet corner in the city, conveniently close to the airport and Escazu. The staff were very helpful and friendly, with most speaking English.
I can recommend this for both families and business travelers on a budget.

Room Tip: Communicate with the hotel to find out what will suit your needs. We had a huge family grout and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went to San José for a conference and decided to take my family with me. We chose the Adventure Inn because of the great combination between location, price and the pool. It was a great surprise to see that we got much more than that. ALL staff was nice and helpful. The food was great. The room was big enough for the four of us, they provided a crib, a coffee maker and they would even give us a glass of milk for the kids before they went to bed. Very child friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Adventure Inn was our last stay on the way out of Costa Rica. Expecting just a quick night that was not really part of our vacation, turned in to one of the most pleasant stays we have ever had. Before we even arrived, Eric (owner) was so kind to help with thorough and detailed directions which are a big plus driving back into San Jose. The rest of the staff did not break from this great customer service, and made us feel like it was the main resort of our stay. Pleasant greetings at the door, helpful and not pushy bellman service, and friendly wait staff. They have a beautiful new pool area, comfortable/clean rooms, and a tasty restaurant with great local flavor. On top of all that, they even provide free calling to the states, and arranged for a free taxi to the airport. This was my fourth trip to Costa Rica, and I wish I would have discovered them earlier. I highly recommend you discover them if you are lucky to be headed to the land of Pura Vida. Darrin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
All I can say is thank you so much to our honoured guests for all the very kind reviews recently. I just hope new guests don't expect too much for prices around $100 per night. We are far from perfect, but it is incentive like this that revs our motor, and keeps us trying even harder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been here several times. Each time is as good or better than before. The food and atmosphere is great. This small hotel is located near the airport San Jose. Easy access to the the airport and San Jose. Near the Pan American highway gives this a bonus. Nicely decorated, The price includes a great breakfast. The small restaurant has always served excellent food. The staff speaks fluent English for those who cannot speak Spanish. of the past 3 years it still comes ahead of even some of the chain hotels.cannot come close to the food and friendliness. This is our favourite hotel near the Airport and in fact the San Jose area. The perfect place to relax and chill.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely painted. the top floor at the back is nice as it also has a small balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I are year round expats living in Nosara. From time to time we come to San Jose to take care of legal matters, etc. We were delighted to find the Adventure Inn. It is just the right combo of casual and profesional. The staff is lively and interactive, rooms clean and spacious, and their in-house café is lovely. We also enjoyed the newly upgraded restaurant and shopping a short walk away.Adventure Inn is a great value as well!

Peter & Emily Lewis
Nosara, Costa Rica

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed our last night in San Jose at Adventure Inn. I wish we had stayed there more! It is a smaller Inn but was nice, and greatly priced.We had to leave at 3:30AM to catch a flight and the staff packed us breakfast to take with us. It was extremely thoughtful! I would definately recommend Adventure Inn. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.