We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As per my usual hotel reviews, I will give you pros, cons and my opinion and additional comments

Pros:
Very friendly staff
Clean and roomy space
Bathroom provides you with "extras" i.e. sewing kit
Free shuttle ride to the airport

Cons:
Food at lunchtime was not very good, could have been a one time incident


My Opinion:
We arrived there after driving for 3 hours with rental cars, we wanted to see the city so the front staff was more than happy to drop off the keys for us, which was nice. This hotel is very nice and most other reviewers cover why it's rated one of the best. One minor inconvenience, very minor, we stayed up late and once the bar closes (early) we sat in the courtyard but I guess since there are rooms all around you cannot be very loud, which means you can't really have late nights :) no big deal though... Special thanks to the concierge for arranging shuttles and providing us late night snacks... Great hotel overall, if you are going to see the town, the shuttle round trip will cost you no more than $20 to get downtown and it's about 30mins drive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,013
    439
    87
    45
    17
See reviews for
403
644
191
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kralendijk, null, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We finished off our Costa Rican vacation at the Adventure Inn. From the front desk staff Nancy and her colleage, to Jose who helped us with our luggage to all the lovely staff in the restaurant we say thank you. We were only there one night, but where can you get a great meal, free internet and phone calls and a lovely room that includes transport to the airport. Gecko Tours recommended this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. We will stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in this little hotel after flying in to the airport in San Jose. The price was very inexpensive and so (I hate to say it) we weren't really expecting much. How wrong we were.

Checking in was a breeze and we were helped along by one of the warmest and most helpful front desk staff I've ever encountered. Our Spanish is... how should I say... pretty much non-existent but between my ersatz Spanglish, a lot of laughing and the production of a credit card we somehow managed to muddle through the transaction and make ourselves understood to one another.

We immediately dropped everything off in our room, which was VERY clean and oh so charming. The beds are somewhat firm, which my husband and I prefer so we slept comfortably. As this was our first trip to Costa Rica we were somewhat puzzled by the spartan bathroom (no shelves!) It wasn't too many days later that we concluded that Costa Ricans just keep their bathrooms simpler than we tend to in the US. It too was squeaky clean and had a bathtub so hey, we were good to go.

This hotel is located in a kind of out-of-the-way spot off the Pan-American highway near San Jose, so we decided to skip the inevitable fight that would have resulted from navigating a foreign city after arriving on a red-eye and had drinks at the bar downstairs.

We couldn't help but notice the beautiful wood construction on the interior of the hotel or the photographs on the wall just outside the restaurant. The bar is located inside the restaurant but there is a small area at the back where you can sit at the bar outdoors, which we did. Although it shouldn't have surprised us after meeting the front desk staff, the bartender and servers in the restaurant were WONDERFUL. Regrettably, I don't recall the dark-haired gal's name who served us but she was a joy. She served us our first Costa Rican beers and made menu suggestions so that we could experience comida tipica in between chatting us and two other patrons up.

We did make use of the hot tub after dinner and drinks. The pool is an infinity pool at one end with a hot tub to the side. It is very well maintained and we thoroughly enjoyed ending our first day in Costa Rica with a nice soak. Also, there are restrooms out by the pool which is nice when you don't want to traipse all the way back to your room.

Breakfast was included in the morning and we were pleasantly surprised to find a continental-style spread in addition to hot entrees. I can't say enough good things about the food. It was wonderful and the fresh fruit selections were delicious. I'm pretty sure they lost money on me that day as I ate my own weight in papaya, mango, pineapple and watermelon.

Check out was a breeze and to be honest we were a little sad to go simply due to the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. I will definitely stay here if I'm in San Jose in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel is so small that there really aren't any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollitt, Il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Adventure Inn for the first and last night of our high school trip to Costa Rica. I couldn't be more happy with the experience. Prior to the trip, I made many inquiries and each one was answered carefully and promptly. Eric Robinson provided the utmost care in booking our stay. He also arranged for my group to have sandwiches and refreshments, as well as a birthday cake for one of my students upon our arrival. Our rooms were large, clean and comfortable. They are nicely appointed and greatly surpass what I would expect from a room at this cost. You cannot beat the value of this hotel...the whole property is beautiful. I will stay at Adventure Inn again, both for my own travel as well as our school travel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We totally enjoyed the Adventure Inn. Our room was large clean and most of all comfortable. We stayed two separate occasions. Both were positive. Staff was great, very helpful. Food in the Moonglow was tasty, plentiful and reasonable. Iwould easily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located close to San Jose and the airport as well makes this hotel very convenient. Big mall right across the street, pool, a Great RESTAURANT!, spa, computers in the lounge area upstairs and wifi in the rooms, plenty of hot water. The new chef has the kitchen putting out excellent food. Clean, secure, comfortable and a great front desk staff. The best value in San Jose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just returned from our Costa Rica trip. We chose Adventure Inn purely from all of the good reviews. What everyone had to stay was accurate. The staff was friendly,the free breakfast buffet was yummy (especially the pineapple), the room was clean,( but the pillows could be replaced), transportation to & from the airport was great, Fresh Market within 5-7 minute walk (they even had an ATM that dispensed US $.). Within this same area were several restaurants. If you wanted to walk 15-20 minutes there's also a mall. The bus stop to get into the downtown area is 1 block away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.