We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient Hotel for San Jose Airport Commuters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Convenient Hotel for San Jose Airport Commuters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived to Adventure Inn late night prior to our early morning flight and we were greeted with a warm welcome by the Adventure Inn Staff. Our room was very clean and generous in size - seems like the perfect place for a family (fun animal/jungle decor throughout the property). In the morning, we received a timely wake up call and a comped taxi to the airport. This made our last night in Costa Rica incredibly relaxing and stress-free. The location is very close to the airport - although it's a little difficult to find if you're driving on your own (a bunch of signs on Route 1 pointing to the side street to take to get to the hotel).

After making a reservation, I received a very thorough email from Eric, the hotel owner, with incredible travel advice and recommendations throughout Costa Rica. I used his email and recs for a ton of our travel plans. I would be semi-weary about booking through the recommended car rental recommendation (Mapache). While the car was perfect for the trip, we landed in San Jose at 7:30 pm and did not receive the car until 9 pm (and ~$100+ higher than the quote) later. We booked an automatic, and had to wait for the car rental company to "try to get us one" last-minute (9 pm) because they were attempting to give us a manual. Luckily I printed out an email from Eric @ Adventure Inn confirming our automatic AWD SUV and the car rental company was able to make it happen (although they charged us a mere $10 more per day for the same car we were promised a week before our trip).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for you review. I don't understand why we were so difficult to find if we had a 'bunch of signs' leading you to Adventure Inn from the airport, which we do, what was she expecting?

The price we quote for a car rental is the drive-away price guaranteed, all she needed to pay, if she got anything different, why didn't she bring it to my attention so I could rectify the discrepancy at no cost to her? I get the feeling there is more to this story. We have a great track record for car rentals because with spread sheets we constantly do our homework for you (our guests) to determine which Costa Rica car rental companies offer the lowest prices, and best cars and service. As an individual looking for a car, you can't do better than following our advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    450
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
412
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night before leaving Costa Rica. The room was nice inside including all necessary amenities although it would be nice if they didn't charge for safe use. I found that my room was very noisy in the afternoon from people talking outside. The room was quieter at night time so it did not affect my sleep. I am attaching a picture of where my room was located. I went in the swimming pool but found it to be too cold to stay in for very long. I tried the hot tub and it was around the temperature that the swimming pool needed to be. The hotel cashed my travelers checks and does accept travelers checks for payment. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of fresh fruits and they have several menu choices for a hot breakfast included which was nice. I checked out the next morning and didn't have to wait at all for the shuttle to the airport which was great and included in the room rate. The value is excellent compared to American chain hotels although I tend to avoid these places in Costa Rica so for me, the value is more average compared to other places I have stayed. I would consider staying here again if coming from or going to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid room 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently I had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Adventure Inn. I am a tour guide here in Costa Rica, and needless to say I have stayed at my fair share of hotels, motels, resorts, etc. The Adventure Inn exemplifies the true feeling of Costa Rica in both it's wonderful hotel, and a staff that can not be replaced. Everything, and I do mean everything was perfect. It is very evident that every person there takes great pride in their jobs, and truly enjoys meeting new people and showing them what the feeling of Costa Rica is. The Inn is Very close to the airport, and private. It is a great place to begin your stay in Costa Rica, or wind down before returning to you home. The rooms are spotless, and the restaurant is superb. Be sure to have at least one meal or drinks there. Honestly, I can't think of one thing that was not perfect! I plan on going back just to stay for a nite, and see all the new friends I made there. Here's the list of the great people that will make your stay a great experience. Loren, Karla, Rosie, Nancy, Mike, Janet, Katherine, Manfred, Mary, and Josheline. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard and coy pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our first and last night of our 10 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. After a long day of traveling a shuttle was waiting for us at the airport to take us to Adventure Inn(included in the price of our stay). The first night there we stayed in a standard room with 2 beds. Room was spacious and comfortable. Our last night there I had called ahead to ask if an upgrade was available and was told they didn't have anything but when we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to find out we had been upgraded(and a sign and balloons in our room to congratulate us since it was our honeymoon). The food at the restaurant was great(especially the amazing banana pancakes I had for breakfast after our first night there). The staff there very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the free international phone calls in our room so that we could call our parents to let them know we arrived safely. Also the wifi worked fine throughout the property. Our last night here we had an early am flight so wasn't able to enjoy their breakfast, but we were given a boxed meal to take with us to the airport(again...they arranged for free transportation to the airport at 4:30 am). We even spoke with another couple there who arranged all their tours while in Costa Rica with Adventure Inn and they seemed very pleased with all the arrangements. If we need to stay in San Jose overnight next time we go to Costa Rica, we will def stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The building is cozy. The friendly staff is the friendliest that I ever encounter on my trips. Mike and the all crew at the restaurant deserve to be mention more, but no one, not one was rude nor unsympathetic with us. The cleaning staff, lovely. the hotel location a plus. rounding I can tell you there will not be another hotel for me in San Jose when I return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, because the ambience make everybody to lower their voice, painting on the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson Falls
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is convenient to the airport, 10 minutes or so, so we stayed there from a late flight waiting for our friends the next day. We had time on our hands so they told us how to take the bus downtown San Jose and how to get back. The free breakfast was from a menu and was wonderful. The little restaurant was very good. The staff was very friendly and had good English. I enjoyed the murals and paintings on the wall. I probably wouldn't stay for a week but for an overnight it was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My daughter & I spent 7 wonderful days @ the adventure inn, San Jose. When it was time to depart I felt sad to be leaving my new close friends & family. (staff) I can't say enough about the all staff & how helpful & welcome we/I felt. This includes the restaurant (which was excellent & accommodating) and the front desk staff. Although, I ate most of my dinners at the restaurant I left still wanting to try another selection or special. The menu is very diversified both dinner & breakfast ( includes breakfast) I would highly recommend the adventure inn. The tours recommended were amazing. We also enjoyed relaxing @ the pool. complementary airport pickup & international calls were added bonuses. This was my first trip to costa rica & I can't wait to return to adventure inn!

Room Tip: We had a nice room on the first floor which was quiet & comfortable for my college aged daughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.