We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for entering and leaving San Jose airports” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for entering and leaving San Jose airports”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Adventure Inn on three occassions during Dec. 2012 and Jan. 2013.
It was a very pleasant experience. Knowledgeable, helpful and professional staff. Comfortable, clean and well appointed rooms. A delicious breakfast. Excellent value, especially when taking advantage of the cash discount. Highly recommend for anyone arriving in Costa Rica in the evening, or departing early in the morning (free shuttle.) We also stayed there when flying within the country, and that airport was also convenient (by taxi.)

Special thank you to all of the staff at Adventure Inn, Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different areas of the hotel, all were quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    450
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
412
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a conveniently located, full-service motel with a decent bar, restaurant, good free wireless and free calls to the states. Rooms were clean and comfy - nothing fancy, but priced well for the package. Great place to launch your visit to CR as they have good info and tour packages for most places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's great to have a shuttle waiting for you when you arrive at SJO after a long day of travel. It's even better when you're taken to a beautiful hotel with a very helpful and nice staff! The rooms are clean, the pool and hot tub are very relaxing, and the free breakfast is huge and good! The neighborhood is very nice and fun to walk around and explore! Also, we rented a car through them which worked out perfectly! We've stayed with them twice now and plan to always stay here on our first night in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were very satisfied with our 2nd floor room with a whirlpool tub! Clean and roomy with good AC. There is a nice outdoor porch area for socializing.. A comfortable area is also provided for internet use and wifi is free and it works! Free international calls was a really big bonus as well as airport transfer with no extra charges!
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The restaurant serves nice evening meals and the complimentary breakfast is varied and tasty. You can order a full cooked meal tico style or american style. The omelet was great and so were the homemade hashbrowns.
We will definitely stay there again when in San Jose!
Thank You To Everyone At Adventure Inn!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice but book on the bottom floor if you cannot handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Adventure Inn twice during our Costa Rican trip. Once on the front end, very enjoyable after a long journey to laze by the pool within shouting distance of the bar, order food, drinks and just plain relax. Then we stayed at the tail end but quite a different story. We arrived very sick and the front desk did their best to get us in our room quickly and without fuss. We mostly spent the next 18 hours trying to recover and this hotel is so peaceful, it really helped. They check out us without a fuss and got a taxi to quickly take us to the airport. Not sure they could have been any more accommodating unless they could have held our hands all night. The food is great and don't let those drinks inside the plastic fountains fool you, they are fantastic fruit drinks and not from a can. We will always use this hotel as a base for our travels in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ituna SK Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Adventure Inn is one of a kind. Very good service - you drive up and someone is waiting to assist you. Staff at desk are fluent in both English and Spanish so very helpful. food is excellent - great tasting and way too much too eat lol . rooms are clean and pool and hot tub are great as well. Breakfast is included in price and lots to eat too and if you have an early departure they pack you breakfast to go. and free pick up and delivery to airport. what more can you ask for!! Price is very reasonable. look forward to satying there on our next visit to Costa Rica.
John and Corinne Sopel

Room Tip: We had the jucuzzi room on our arrival and it was great - nice big room king size bed and double siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Adventure Inn just keeps getting better. This family owned, small hotel takes pride in making sure that their hotel stays in top condition and offers great service. They provide transport to and from the hotel (paying the cost one way). On this last trip, our flight was three hours late and they hotel still had the shuttle there waiting for us.

The rooms are large and spotless. However, there is no elevator. So request a room on the ground floor if stairs are a problem. That being said, we prefer the rooms upstairs and they will happily porter your bags for you.

The staff is excellent at arranging activities, rental cars, and any requests. They also have their own pool and a small workout room. Internet and wifi are free and they will print out boarding passes and other information you might need.

Their restaurant and bar are delightful and there's no need to wander off looking for another place to eat. However, it is convenient to catch the bus from the hotel and enjoy time in San Jose.

We really hate to write reviews for Adventure Inn because we find that we are having to book earlier and earlier now that the word is out about this great little hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms with the spa tubs are quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.