We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value and Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Good Value and Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Adventure Inn was our last stop before heading home from our Costa Rica vacation. It was such a nice place to stay and the value was incredible. As others have said before, we got a free cab ride to the airport and a very nice breakfast included in the price. The fruit, juices and breads would have been a filling meal, but you then got a choice of several hot selections from a menu.
We had dinner there and a few drinks at the bar. The food was very good and Mike, the bartender (hope I remembered his name correctly), was a good guy and a good bartender.
They have a lovely pool area where we sat and enjoyed the sun and read before leaving for the airport. Checkout isn't until noon and if you're still not ready to leave, they will store your luggage and allow you to use the facilities.
We also used AI to rent our car. I had contacted several places before going through them, and some of the prices were outrageous. We really decided to go with them when the estimate was sooo reasonable and they were so upfront with the insurance and everything else that was included. It was also nice that we could pull into the hotel on our last full day and just leave the car. The rental place will come and pick it up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,009
    436
    88
    45
    17
See reviews for
400
642
190
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service, very nice people, a good dinner menu with very good food, Our rooms were large and the decor was very cool with hand painted nature scenes. There was computer access and a printer so that we could do our boarding passes and e-mail and call home. We spent two nights here, one on the way in and on the way out of San Jose airport. They arranged pickup for us at the airport and a cab on our departure at no cost. A very good value. Excellent management and that really cares about quality of service. This was our third trip to Costa Rica and we always travel on a budget on the way in and the way out. This was by far the best place we have ever stayed and we would gladly return there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you're on a budget, or you're just hubbing through San Jose for a night. The price is really good considering they will pay for your shuttle ride to or from the airport and you get a full breakfast. You can make free international phone calls, there is free wifi in your room and there is even a discount if you are paying cash. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel then this isn't it, but our room was clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been spending four to six weeks each year for the past 7 years at the Adventure Inn in Cariari, San Jose Costa Rica. It is my favorite hotel. It is secure, perfectly clean, has many great amenities, great location, great food, is a great value, and most of all has the nicest people working there I have met. My fiancé and I were guests at the Adventure Inn last November and we decided to get married. Costa Rica is much like Las Vegas in that it is simple for travelers to get married as there are no document or medical requirements, no waiting period, and the ceremonies can be performed by a lawyer. We asked Eric Robinson (the owner) if we could have the ceremony in the Moon Glow restaurant in the hotel and he graciously accommodated all of our needs including recommendations for an excellent Costa Rican lawyer to handle the legal matters and perform the ceremony. The Moon Glow was wonderfully decorated for the wedding and catered the ceremony with simply marvelous foods (more food than was consumed), champagne, and drinks. We invited all the employees and friends (about 40 people) to be our guests and two very special friends (Randall and Heidy) served as our witnesses. The hotel GAVE us the honeymoon suite for the evening which was decorated beautifully for our wedding. It was simply the most beautiful wedding we could have imagined. Then, we honeymooned at the hotel, swimming at the pool, having great meals, taking daytrips to the various places of interest in Costa Rica. I will not give the cost of the wedding except to say that for the cost of the AVERAGE USA wedding (estimated on the internet) we could have been married 25 times at the Adventure Inn. It is a day we will hold close in our hearts all of our lives. We give our sincere thanks to all of our friends at the Adventure Inn.

Ron and Sashka

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We would like to thank the management & staff at the Adventure Inn on the excellent service they provided us during our stay. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and the food was excellent. Your friendly staff made us feel welcome and at home. The hotel is close to the airport and we felt safe to walk around the area. We will recommend your hotel to our friends when they venture to San Jose................ Thank You,
Barry & Gaile
Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a budget airport hotel - it should not, to my mind, be the 2nd best hotel in san jose. If you are looking for a more luxury or moderate hotel to begin or end your trip, this is not it. However, as a budget hotel it was fine. Stayed for one night at the end of our trip. Eclectic jungle decorating motif. The whole place looked like it could use a good scrub down or some freshening up. Room was reasonably cleanish (cockroach in the shower), beds reasonably comfortable (mattress wasn't bad, but linens were scratchy and had some stains). The ac was loud, a dull roar. In some ways, this was good as it drowned out the drunken parties in the pool ( which our room overlooked). The worst thing was the window coverings, which did not block the bright outdoor lights.

Our wake up call and shuttle to the airport were timely and uneventful. The famed boxed breakfast looked nasty- we tossed it in the trash. I saw other travelers trying to give theirs away.

While hotel staff at first told me they could handle the departure tax, they later corrected themselves. The hotel cannot handle the departure tax for you, you will have to pay at the airport.

Location - you are about 15 minutes away from the airport by the hotel shuttle, but not in the heart of San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am not sure why this person has a problem that a relatively inexpensive hotel rates second in San Jose? Value for your dollar is why people read TripAdvisor, anyone can pay $200 or $300 per night and know they are going to get a pretty nice hotel, so what? What separates us from others is a caring friendly staff, great location and bang for your buck. Free airport transfers before and after international flights, free international phone calls, a complimentary full buffet and sit down hot served breakfast, four guest computers, free WiFi, pre-arrival advice and planning of your vacation including low cost car rentals, tours and transfers throughout Costa Rica, plus a nice pool, Jacuzzi and small gym, and large fully equipped rooms with A/C, cable TV, full bath and interesting Mayan/Tico decore. If you leave before our 6 to 10 am breakfast, we will pack you a little take-away snack, a ham and cheese sandwich with packaged condiments on the side, fresh cut fruit and a juice box. Throw it away, why? Perhaps if this person stayed in another hotel that didn't offer this free service, nor the free early morning transfer to the airport, he would have nothing to complain about. As far as cleanliness, we have seven hard-working maids in a 34 room hotel, and it is one of the cleaner hotels you will stay in no matter how much you pay. We were built where a rainforest once stood, and with our open-concept, so we do get the occasional flying bug to pay us a visit, but we use non-toxic products to fumigate on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

After our free pickup from the airport (courtesy of the Adventure Inn), we were warmly welcomed by the staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and we slept well; just what we needed after a 13+ hour flight. Breakfast was good too. For a mid-price hotel, this place is great.

Now onto all of those little extras which make such a difference. The hotel staff are brilliant. Friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We used the Adventure Inn to get a hire car and they got us a good rate with Mapache. The staff were kind enough to give us lots of local information, directions and recommendation for our journey to La Fortuna. They were also really helpful when we returned the hire car to the hotel when they managed the handover back to Mapache as we had to get to the airport to get our flight home. We ate at the Moon Glow Bar before we left - it had a good & varied menu and once again, the staff were wonderful.

As a closing comment (and for UK readers), the customer service from the Adventure Inn is similar to shopping at John Lewis - for non-UK readers, it's simply the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.