We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a great place near the airport in San Jose, Costa Rica.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Found a great place near the airport in San Jose, Costa Rica.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Adventure Inn in San Jose, CR. is a great place near the airport. This was our second stay and there have been major improvements since last year. Upgrades to the rooms and dining room, brighter lighting,same Costa Rican charm!! Free shuttle to the airport, free breakfast, friendly staff, large rooms and comfortable beds,free internet and a great location in a safe/upscale neighborhood. We will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    449
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
411
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property the night before we flew home from our Costa Rican vacation. The check in staff was very friendly and efficient. Our stay included a taxi ride to the airport which was quickly arranged by the receptionist the night before out flight. The hotel is clean and uniquely decorated. We enjoyed a snack of Banana's Foster before bed and a delicious breakfast (included in price) the next morning. The wait staff in the restaurant was also very friendly. There are computers with high speed internet access available which we used to print our boarding passes. The print job took forever to print and the staff apologized for the slow process. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Eric and the staff at Adventure Inn were all incredibly helpful and professional. When the cell phone that came with our rental car was stolen Eric went out of his way to help us by contacting the rental car company for us and helping us negotiate with them. Eric made renting a car and getting around Costa Rica much easier on us. The hotel is clean with a great breakfast included. We also had dinner there and it was delicious! I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Costa Rica. The hotels website has many portant details about travelling in Costa Rica and we will stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple nights while transiting to Panama. The staff were super friendly, and helpful. I felt like people genuinely wanted to help.

My room was clean and well maintained - no gross stuff in the corners. Included breakfast has a fruit buffet / toast / juice / coffee, then you order from a menu - all included and great value. I ate dinner in the restaurant both nights. Menu is a bit limited in selection but very nice presentation, and quality / tasty. I was still trying to adjust my internal clock to local (in my head, day time was still night), so didn't socialize, but people were friendly.

I wanted a place close to the airport, and Adventure Inn is around 10 minutes away - so perfect for easy arrival / departure. Make sure to book through their web site, as you get airport shuttle.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I took a Christmas vacation to Costa Rica this past holiday season and needed a place to stay in San Jose, the day we flew in and the night before we left. A family member recommended we stay at the Adventure Inn.

Even though the Adventure Inn is not a "5 Star" luxury hotel, you sure get a great value for your money. I can't say enough wonderful things about how Eric, the owner, treated us and how extremely friendly and accommodating the hotel staff was. We found the hotel to be conveniently located and very clean. The restaurant was great and included breakfast every morning; which was exceptionally good. The day we left we had to leave before breakfast was served. Not only did the hotel supply us with a breakfast to go, they also gave us a ride to the airport. If you need a place to stay in San Jose, I definitely recommend the Adventure Inn.

Thank you Eric and staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The people here are exceptionally friendly and made us feel welcome the whole time. We found this huge cricket about 6 inches long that lied dead in the parking lot near the hedge and my children got terrified by its size. Seeing that and probably after having got amused, the security guard smiled and got busy with a palm leave he plucked from a plant nearby. When we were about to go to our room, the security guard handed us this beautiful origami cricket that he had just folded from a palm leave. Well, this cricket my children loved.

Our room for four was simple and functional. We ended up giving our nice room to another family who needed better accommodation at their request. Our new room was smaller but was acceptable. The exercise room was good. The breakfast was also good.

While eating breakfast, I could not help but complimenting the girl working in the restaurant that the music in the background was so beautiful. That I did in my broken Spanish. Little did I know early the next morning, she came in to work and had a copy of that CD for me to take home. I was flattered and offered to pay for it. She only accepted the money after I insisted.

Wonderful people at this stopover on our way to Tortuguero.in the summer of 2008.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed totally 3 nights in this hotel and it was in our opinion perfectly situated. It is only 10 minutes from the international airport and only about 15 minutes from the Pavas airport, from where we flew to Drake Bay. The rooms are spacious and the owners very helpful with organizing trips for you.
The first day we did a combo tour including Poas Volcano, Coffee tour and a visit to La Paz Waterfall Gardens. The tour was great even though we did not see anything at the Poas Volcano. We had also our rental car booked via Adventure Inn, which we could pick up at the hotel after our stay at Drake Bay. Everything worked smoothly and the car was perfect for our needs.
We had dinner twice at the restaurant and it was good and plentiful.
The hotel is definitely a great spot to start or end your vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.