We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great attention to detail, economical, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct - 15% off!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Panama City, Florida
1 review
“Friendly, great attention to detail, economical, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent economical hotel close to the airport and on the bus route into San Jose. Shuttle bus was waiting and took me directly to the hotel. Desk staff were very helpful. The room was well decorated, clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant staff were friendly and the breakfast in the morning was first rate. Lots of cereal fruit bacon and eggs etc. I can recommend this hotel unreservedly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    489
    91
    48
    18
See reviews for
456
711
218
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms were clean, people were nice, we felt very safe there. Breakfast was awesome. It was a great place to start and end our trip. Free internet access was great. They also had books that we could borrow which was nice. Rooms on the second floor are bigger and nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms and the first one on the second floor overlooking the pool was bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was in Costa Rica on a business trip and stood in this hotel. It was my first time in this country and my sister book this hotel for me. I wasnt sure about it. But I'm glad she picked this hotel. The staff is wonderful, helpful, friendly, and most important very informative. They made me feel like I was at home. The food is wonderful the services are great and most important the international calls are free. I was able to speak to my boss, friends and family. The hotel is very clean and in my opinion good safe location. Its a simple hotel but the staff is what makes this hotel the best.I just want to thank everyone at Adventure Inn you guys are the best.
David

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was highly impressed by Adventure Inn and would recommend it to anyone! I was promptly picked up when my international flight arrived at the San Jose Airport by the Shuttle Bus and didn't have to wait a moment. I was taken straight to the hotel and greeted warmly by the staff even though it was past 9pm. I was then walked through everything from the restaurant hours to setting up a taxi to take me to the airport to catch my next flight. Breakfast was complimentary as was International/local calls and WiFi, which was a pleasant surprise. The staff were courteous and very friendly and the rooms were quite large and very clean. I didn't have time to enjoy the pool but it looked lovely as well. Rates were great and I won't hesitate to book there again when I return through San Jose!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Another fantastic two nights coming and going to Cocles'. The Adventure Inn Staff is fantastic and the best news is JEANNETH is back managing the Moon Glow Restuarant and Lounge. We enjoyed the most pleasurable meals to go along with our stay. Great presentation, service and flavors. It is hard to consider going else where. These people are like family and are as much a part of our trips to Costa Rica as going to our Casa. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The back rooms are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is so kitchy (sic) and unusual, I just loved it. Maybe its the cement frogs on the stairs and the old jacuzzi turned-into a koi pond... its just neat and fun. The food at the restaurant is good, service is quite good, its quite convenient to/from San Jose Int'l, rooms are spacious, etc. etc. Rates are pretty reasonable too. It can get a bit noisy early and late due to the typical loud kids, but mostly in the courtyard/atrium adjacent rooms

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not have a door/window abutting the atrium o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This was actually a great place to stay the night before our flight home because it shocked us out of our romantic honeymoon experience and made us look forward to leaving. The hotel is small and seems geared towards students/backpackers. The room we got had three beds in it like a dorm or hostel. The vibe was utilitarian. There was a list of rules in the room (including the gem "no one cares that you are rich" in regards to not drawing attention your yourself, and that men wear pants or shorts past the knee) that made us feel like we were back in college. The experience was just...weird.

Restaurant onsite had great drinks and friendly/accomodating staff. Food was not good- onions were so smelly and on everything. Onions that smell very strong are offensive as fish with a "fishy" smell- its a bad sign and quite off putting.

Hotel has free WIFI, like most places, and supposedly free long distance calls- although our phone didn't work at all- not even to connect to from desk. The clock wasn't plugged in and some of the lights didn't work.

Good thing is free transfer to airport. However, for $95 for one night, the value here is sorely lacking. It felt like a hostel with hotel prices. We called it our "vacation halfway house" because it provided us a way to want to get back to real life.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Adventure Inn does not come close to resembling a hostel though many comment about our youthful and exciting Mayan theme, I guess it's not for everyone. These people got one of our last available rooms with three queen beds which we generally use for families, sorry, it was a judgement call because it is a nice quiet room with a view. The line he quoted about being rich was copied from Ecotourism's Code of Ethics, and was pulled out of context. Many people who have read the whole thing, have requested copies. For example, many travelers to Costa Rica do not realize that in the cooler Central Valley, men always wear long pants or shorts below the knees, and we were only advising guests before they dress like Richard Simmons, that it is out of the cultural norm. Generally our in-room phones work quite well for free international and local calls. Too bad theese guests didn't bring it to our attention at the time so we could have fixed it. Actually it seems to have fixed itself! With a great location, a huge breakfast, free WiFi, four free guest computers and free transfers before and after your international flights, when you add it all up, we are hard to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio De Belen
4.8 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
4.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
5.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
#3 Business Hotel in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.