We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with your Pets this place will do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
west palm beach
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Traveling with your Pets this place will do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Adventure Hotel with our two dogs for a one night stay before flying back home. The staff are very nice and professional. We were there several hours before check-in and our room was ready and we were so ready to relax. I went for a swim in their clean pool and had a drink at the bar. We had a good meal for dinner that was priced right at their restaurant. Got a good night sleep a swim in the morning and a great free breakfast. A free shuttle ride in a real nice bus to the airport Yes we will go back

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pets they have 7 rooms try to get one towards the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,004
    434
    87
    45
    17
See reviews for
398
639
190
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Everything at this hotel was above and beyond. A jacuzzi in the room without even requesting, clean room, awesome pool, AC, free breakfast (awesome food in the restaurant)...i can't say enough good things about this place. At first I thought it was an expensive cab ride from the bus station but, if you get a receipt from the cab driver the hotel will remberrse you the fee. Again great place for the price and all around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 day stay at the Inn with no issues at all. We came from Jaco which is on the coast on a wonderful bus ride which took us thru the rolling countryside and small towns(which took 2 hrs and only cost us 8 dollars).The staff were more than accommodating with crossing the language barrier, information of surrounding shops and tours. At the Moon Glow Restaurant we were served up a delicious variety of meals to suit our taste. The room was a spacious, very clean upper corner suite included with a small fridge which we stocked with some food from the market just 2 blocks away. We also went to a shopping mall 2 blocks past the market. It was just minutes to and from the airport and a to go bag with fruit, juice and a sandwich for early departures. This would be a great central hub for exploring Cost Rica and any of the tours available thru the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

In my Short stay in Costa Rica, i spend 2 days in this hotel and it was wonderful, the staff was very helpful by telling me bus stops and guide me to see the city, another good thing to this hotel, and i think NONE those 5 stars hotel in the city, adventure inn offer FREE international call to anywhere in the world, and the WIFI was good in my roon. for breakfast i had the TICO choice and was very delicious, small dish but very good, i had to leave very early in the morning and they even prepare for me a TO GO breakfast.

those little things that they do for US, the guest are what make people come back and again.


only one concern more like recommendation is a bigger proportions of breakfast, it was delicious but more but be nice

one more thing, my arrival to the hotel was very early 9 30 am and they arrange to clean my room in 30 minutes, very fast.

my recommendation to all the people who is seeking for a good hotel nothing expensive but with quality go to this hotel.

Room Tip: my room was in the first floor, just a little noise nothing to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for the kind review. Our breakfasts are all you care to eat. First you visit our buffet with several varieties of regular as well as exotic fruits, Costa Rica white cheese, home-made banana bread, two fresh made juices, cereals and porridge, toast and jam, and piping hot Costa Rican coffee. Then order from our hot menu what you want; three eggs, four pancakes, five slices of bacon, gallo pinto, French toast, fried potatoes, order an omelette, whatever you want, and if you still didn't get enough, order seconds, don't be shy! Even though we give all the table scraps to a pig farmer, if we overfill every plate, and you don't eat it all, it is a real waste in a country like Costa Rica where many people, especially children, don't have enough to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We spent a month in Costa Rica and Adventure Inn in San José turned out to be an ideal base to come and go several times. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious, the staff is very friendly and helpful, they will help you arrange anything in no time. The food is good. When leaving early, breakfast will be prepared to take with you. You can count on it that they will do everything to please their guests. It is close to the international airport and they arrange transportation for free. To Tobias Bolaños (national flights) is $ 15. The hotel is very well maintained. The walls are filled with jungle paintings and when we visited the hotel for the last time, it was nice to see how they were painted by a female artist. Nice job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Adventure Inn at the end of our vacation before our flight home. It is not an intimate bed & breakfast, but a busy small hotel in a pretty active area by the airport. Its location is very convenient for air travel as it is only about 10 minutes to the airport but if you are looking for anything else to do before or after your flight, you really need some sort of transportation since there is not much in walking distance. The mall and a big souvenir shop are a pretty long walk away.

The hotel staff is nice and helpful. The hotel offers free transportation for international flights which was great for us. We left at 5am and our shuttle was ready and waiting for us. The staff will give you tickets for the included breakfast and if you are leaving too early for breakfast, they will prepare something for you to take with you. We had sandwiches, two big servings of mixed fruit, and juice boxes. It is a nice touch since most hotels do not do this.

The decor is colorful and the walls are filled with paintings of traditional Costa Rican scenery. There is an indoor koi pond and we always saw people cleaning inside and outside of the property. The only bad part was that we had a bunch of ants in our room, but our stay was so short we could live with that. The pool area looks very pretty although we did not use it. There were several common areas that had chairs and couches for work or relaxing. Outside of our room we had a view of what looked like a pretty nice residential area. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing and it took a bit of time to figure out the different ways to get around.

The hotel offers free internet service which was great because for the 5 previous days of our trip we were unable to use computers at all. We had a chance to confirm our flight online and catch up on emails before our trip home. There is also a small gym.

We had lunch at the onsite restaurant and were pleased with the service and our dishes. From the traditional casados to spaghetti with meatballs, there are enough choices to please many tastes.

All in all, the Adventure Inn was a good value and I would recommend it as a nice place to start or finish your trip for a day or two.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We used Adventure Inn as a base for when we first arrived in Costa Rica, and as a place to take tours from before flying out of CR again.

For the price you pay, the hotel represents amazing value for money. Complementary taxis to and from the airport all worked like clockwork and were no problems at all. We used the laundry service which was so cheap ($12 for an entire bag!) and super efficient (put the laundry in around 9am and it was back in our room, washed and pressed within a few hours!!)

The owner, Eric, responded quickly to our questions via email before we'd arrived in CR and this was really appreciated - thanks!

We did the Toucan Ranch and Rainforest Adventure tour from the list of tours on the Adventure Inn website. Both were great - really recommended :)

If you fancy a short walk then there is a small shopping complex just down the road from the hotel (turn left out of the front) where there's an ATM, a well stocked modern supermarket, a Mexican restaurant, pizza restaurant, and a few other things.

All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and super efficient - we had a great time with no stress. Still can't get over the value for money that Adventure Inn offers!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.