We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value for a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Adventure Inn at the end of our vacation before our flight home. It is not an intimate bed & breakfast, but a busy small hotel in a pretty active area by the airport. Its location is very convenient for air travel as it is only about 10 minutes to the airport but if you are looking for anything else to do before or after your flight, you really need some sort of transportation since there is not much in walking distance. The mall and a big souvenir shop are a pretty long walk away.

The hotel staff is nice and helpful. The hotel offers free transportation for international flights which was great for us. We left at 5am and our shuttle was ready and waiting for us. The staff will give you tickets for the included breakfast and if you are leaving too early for breakfast, they will prepare something for you to take with you. We had sandwiches, two big servings of mixed fruit, and juice boxes. It is a nice touch since most hotels do not do this.

The decor is colorful and the walls are filled with paintings of traditional Costa Rican scenery. There is an indoor koi pond and we always saw people cleaning inside and outside of the property. The only bad part was that we had a bunch of ants in our room, but our stay was so short we could live with that. The pool area looks very pretty although we did not use it. There were several common areas that had chairs and couches for work or relaxing. Outside of our room we had a view of what looked like a pretty nice residential area. The layout of the hotel is a little confusing and it took a bit of time to figure out the different ways to get around.

The hotel offers free internet service which was great because for the 5 previous days of our trip we were unable to use computers at all. We had a chance to confirm our flight online and catch up on emails before our trip home. There is also a small gym.

We had lunch at the onsite restaurant and were pleased with the service and our dishes. From the traditional casados to spaghetti with meatballs, there are enough choices to please many tastes.

All in all, the Adventure Inn was a good value and I would recommend it as a nice place to start or finish your trip for a day or two.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    450
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
412
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We used Adventure Inn as a base for when we first arrived in Costa Rica, and as a place to take tours from before flying out of CR again.

For the price you pay, the hotel represents amazing value for money. Complementary taxis to and from the airport all worked like clockwork and were no problems at all. We used the laundry service which was so cheap ($12 for an entire bag!) and super efficient (put the laundry in around 9am and it was back in our room, washed and pressed within a few hours!!)

The owner, Eric, responded quickly to our questions via email before we'd arrived in CR and this was really appreciated - thanks!

We did the Toucan Ranch and Rainforest Adventure tour from the list of tours on the Adventure Inn website. Both were great - really recommended :)

If you fancy a short walk then there is a small shopping complex just down the road from the hotel (turn left out of the front) where there's an ATM, a well stocked modern supermarket, a Mexican restaurant, pizza restaurant, and a few other things.

All of the staff at the hotel are friendly and super efficient - we had a great time with no stress. Still can't get over the value for money that Adventure Inn offers!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Adventure Inn on the last night of our Costa Rican vacation. We arrived in the evening a bit harried because of our long drive from the Caribbean coast and found the Inn to be a perfect spot to relax and get organized for our flight home the next day. We took advantage of the restaurant on site and greatly enjoyed the food and the service. The next morning we were back for the complimentary breakfast as well and it was outstanding.
The decor of the hotel is very attractive and interesting and our room was large enough for our family of four and spotlessly clean. There is a nice grocery store with an ATM that is a short walk away. Before we left we even had time to enjoy the swimming pool. We took advantage of the free airport taxi service and it was handled smoothly.
This hotel is perfect for your last night, or nights, in Costa Rica, and I imagine that it would also be a great place to start a trip. The place is very well run and extremely friendly. Everyone from the front desk staff to the restaurant personelcould not have been nicer or more helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Adventure Inn is a great hotel for good connections to the airport arriving or departing. There was no problems leaving for the airport with their free shuttle service at 4:45 am, too early for the breakfast. There is nothing in the neighborhood accessible on foot. The location is OK if you have a car or are planning on using it for a base and taking tours which will pick up at the hotel. The room itself was very nice, as good as any I have had for the price anywhere . The staff was helpful with reasonable English skills. As I had no car and was only there one night I tried the bar and restaurant. The beer was reasonably priced and the food was not bad. BTW, Interbus is an excellent service providing hotel to hotel transportation between cities in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Often people who are with us for a quick stay don't realize all that our location offers. True, we are in a very safe and tranquil area but take a nice walk past the duck ponds to discover the well-appointed homes spread around the exclusive Cariari golf course, we have two nearby casinos, a large souvenir store, a new bowling alley, a small mall with an upscale Fresh Market and ATM, a large mall for shopping, banking and a Cineplex, and several eating establishments all within walking distance. We are a ten or fifteen minute bus or $12 taxi ride to central San Jose with its Central Market, pedestrian boulevard, museums, shopping and nightlife. But after your San Jose experience, I am sure you will appreciate returning to the safer, cleaner, quieter, less congested neighbourhood of Adventure Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose to use the free airport transportation provided by the hotel. We had 15 people arriving on different flights at different times, and there were no hiccups in the airport transportation. There is a great restaurant with local food to congregate. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and fluent in English. Great trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Picked Adventure Inn based on TripAdvisor comments. Arriving from United States at night, our United flight was late. I was worried that the Adventure Inn free shuttle would not be waiting for us after clearing customs, but I was wrong - the shuttle waited, for just we 2 passengers. Arriving at Adventure Inn, about a 15 minute ride, we were warmly greeted and shown our room. Very clean and comfortable, as was the entire hotel, including restaurant/bar and pool area. The breakfast is a feast, fresh fruits and juices, coffee, breads and a choice of 6 items from the menu, all good. The computer station on the 2nd floor above front desk is modern and has 4 computers. Also free local and international calls from room. The staff and Jose, the front door greeter, were all very courteous and helpful. By paying cash, you can save 10%. We stayed a total of 3 nights. Having never traveled to Costa Rica, we were somewhat skeptical of the good reviews about Adventure Inn, but there was no reason to be. From check-in to check-out, Adventure Inn is a perfect choice of lodging in San Jose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Once again, another fantastic stay at the Adventure Inn. This was my second trip to Costa Rica and my fourth time checking into this warm, cozy property! This time, I had the opportunity to stay in the suites, room 33 & 34. Absolutely amazing. The beds are soooo comfy which makes it extremely hard to get up at 6:30 to catch a bus :-).

The staff is incredible - extremely friendly and helpful. I spent my 25th birthday here and they took the extra step to put up balloons and Happy Birthday signs with chocolate before I arrived - much appreciated!

The location is safe, close to the airport, Moon Glow Restaurant is on point, free airport shuttle, free breakfast, free wifi...you get the picture!!

Anytime I travel to Costa Rica, I will always stop over at the Adventure Inn before venturing off.

Thank you guys! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Suite 34 - nice and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.