We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel Not a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel Not a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Adventure Inn is a great hotel for good connections to the airport arriving or departing. There was no problems leaving for the airport with their free shuttle service at 4:45 am, too early for the breakfast. There is nothing in the neighborhood accessible on foot. The location is OK if you have a car or are planning on using it for a base and taking tours which will pick up at the hotel. The room itself was very nice, as good as any I have had for the price anywhere . The staff was helpful with reasonable English skills. As I had no car and was only there one night I tried the bar and restaurant. The beer was reasonably priced and the food was not bad. BTW, Interbus is an excellent service providing hotel to hotel transportation between cities in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Often people who are with us for a quick stay don't realize all that our location offers. True, we are in a very safe and tranquil area but take a nice walk past the duck ponds to discover the well-appointed homes spread around the exclusive Cariari golf course, we have two nearby casinos, a large souvenir store, a new bowling alley, a small mall with an upscale Fresh Market and ATM, a large mall for shopping, banking and a Cineplex, and several eating establishments all within walking distance. We are a ten or fifteen minute bus or $12 taxi ride to central San Jose with its Central Market, pedestrian boulevard, museums, shopping and nightlife. But after your San Jose experience, I am sure you will appreciate returning to the safer, cleaner, quieter, less congested neighbourhood of Adventure Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    450
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
412
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose to use the free airport transportation provided by the hotel. We had 15 people arriving on different flights at different times, and there were no hiccups in the airport transportation. There is a great restaurant with local food to congregate. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly and fluent in English. Great trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Picked Adventure Inn based on TripAdvisor comments. Arriving from United States at night, our United flight was late. I was worried that the Adventure Inn free shuttle would not be waiting for us after clearing customs, but I was wrong - the shuttle waited, for just we 2 passengers. Arriving at Adventure Inn, about a 15 minute ride, we were warmly greeted and shown our room. Very clean and comfortable, as was the entire hotel, including restaurant/bar and pool area. The breakfast is a feast, fresh fruits and juices, coffee, breads and a choice of 6 items from the menu, all good. The computer station on the 2nd floor above front desk is modern and has 4 computers. Also free local and international calls from room. The staff and Jose, the front door greeter, were all very courteous and helpful. By paying cash, you can save 10%. We stayed a total of 3 nights. Having never traveled to Costa Rica, we were somewhat skeptical of the good reviews about Adventure Inn, but there was no reason to be. From check-in to check-out, Adventure Inn is a perfect choice of lodging in San Jose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Once again, another fantastic stay at the Adventure Inn. This was my second trip to Costa Rica and my fourth time checking into this warm, cozy property! This time, I had the opportunity to stay in the suites, room 33 & 34. Absolutely amazing. The beds are soooo comfy which makes it extremely hard to get up at 6:30 to catch a bus :-).

The staff is incredible - extremely friendly and helpful. I spent my 25th birthday here and they took the extra step to put up balloons and Happy Birthday signs with chocolate before I arrived - much appreciated!

The location is safe, close to the airport, Moon Glow Restaurant is on point, free airport shuttle, free breakfast, free wifi...you get the picture!!

Anytime I travel to Costa Rica, I will always stop over at the Adventure Inn before venturing off.

Thank you guys! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Suite 34 - nice and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Or
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our first night (ever) in costa Rica after landing from US. Chose it because of TA positive reviews...Not disappointed!. Very helpful and communicative staff from check-in to restaurant/bar.Our needs were anticipated and good cultural exchange made.Jeanette in the bar and restaurant (same) was bright and experienced. My wife and I had fun.The jumbo shrimp appetizer and dinner was good and drinks were creative.Pool with hot, hot tub near the restaurant. Full complimentary breakfast and free trip to airport was a nice extra. We returned here with our daughter for the last night of the trip and met the rest of the food crew..again excellent food and attention.
Regarding rooms, 3 beds were comfortable and room quiet. Complimentary local AND international call for the return to USA were used and greatly appreciated. This hotel was by far the best value we encountered for our trip and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Close to the airport and walking distance to restaurants and stores. It has a lot more "Costa Rican ambiance" than the big hotel chains and not as pricy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon, and while her review of this place was a Poor (2 stars), I disagree and say that this was an okay hotel to stay in. It's conveniently located, we were served promptly upon arrival, and we got to our room right away. I cannot say that any of the staff provided us with "very good" or "excellent" service, but I will say it was adequate and about average.

The hotel restaurant was convenient, and while neither of us particularly enjoyed our dinner, I think it was just an average experience. I was very appreciative of the included full breakfast, which is not too common in similar caliber hotels in the states. It wasn't delicious, but it was just fine for a meal.

The hotel room was as described; we got what we paid for. We enjoyed the AC and TV after staying at a couple places without it. I would equate the room cleanliness and comfort to that of a good motel back in the states.

This stay was absolutely adequate for us, but it did not go above and beyond, and certainly does not deserve any higher marks than average. I might have been able to give it higher marks if we had stayed longer or interacted with the staff more, but as it was for a one-night stopover on the way home, it was just fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.