We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did a lot right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Did a lot right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here one night when we were leaving Costa Rica. The room was big, shower was high pressure and the air con worked well.

We told the front desk lady our early morning flight time (7am departure so a 5am airport arrival) and she asked if we would like to have breakfast made and packed for us for the early departure despite it being before the breakfast bar is opened. This was great and complimentary!

We asked for no wake up call but she pre-emptively called the room when she thought we might have slept in which was good to know (we hadn't, we were just cutting it fine!).

The complimentary shuttle is just another added bonus. The pool and jacuzzi looked good but we didn't use them.

A couple of downsides - the food in the in-house restaurant wasn't great (it was okay), and the service a bit off. Probably the worst part of the hotel was a small botter of water or can of coke/fanta in the lobby are a whopping $3 USD each.

Overall we would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericadventureinn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
The little convenience 'store' in our lobby is 100% owned and operated by our staff to help offset their low Costa Rican wages. To not compete with our restaurant, the prices are the same as if you were sitting in our restaurant being served by a waitress, starting at $2.50 for any beverage. They also sell other basic necessities; toothbrushes, headache pills, beer, chips, etc. 24 hours per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    449
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
411
666
204
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Keep in mind that I'm a Tico and have lived in the US for the past 35 plus years, but return often.
On this travel we stayed at several places throughout the Nicoya Peninsula and ended our vacation at the Adventure Inn on the recommendation of my cousin who had just stayed there two weeks prior. "Primo, it is clean, safe and a great bargain in San Jose, near the airport" I could have not agreed more. I further add that the staff was friendly and like most ticos, Pura Vida.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need. They will try to accommodate and match you with what they have. Ask poli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed out last night in Costa Rica here at the Adventure Inn. Everything was clean and everyone was very helpful. The breakfast, free phone calls home and the free ride to the airport was a huge selling point. Would definately stay here again. No complaints here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My little brother is currently traveling around Costa Rica and as a going-away gift I decided to put him up in a hotel the first night he landed. He arrived last night at the airport and was welcomed by the free shuttle set up by the Adventure Inn. He was able to call me when he got to the hotel because they offer free international calls--an added bonus!

Prior to his departure from the US I had several email conversations with the owner Eric who was extremely helpful in answering all my questions not only about the hotels accomondations but general information about traveling through the country.

Anyways, my brother said the hotel was GREAT. The staff was very friendly, helpful and the entire hotel very efficient. His room was clean and very comfortable.

I am glad he had such a nice experience and based on his recommendation and my interactions with the hotel's owner, I had to write a review. I know if I ever travel to San Jose I will be staying at the Adventure Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in Adventure Inn hotel at the end of our trip to Costa Rica.
It has a great value for the price of the room (complimentary breakfast,
free ride to the airport, Wi-Fi in the room and free international calls).
The room was very clean, and the restaurant had great food.
The hotel is located just 10-15 minutes from the SJO airport, which
was very convenient for us.

Overall, we had a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and it is great value. The complementary taxi ride to the airport was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great people, food and ambiance for our final stay of a 12 day trek across the carribean and mountains of costa rica. You will love the people here! We particularly loved sharing our stories with other travelers and the original paintings throughout the building! Great reception upon arrival and no hassle trip to the airport, all arranged by the hotel. The breakfast was fab and also included!

Room Tip: The suite offers a good deal of space for a family of four or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.