We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Inn, a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Inn

Save Saved
You added Adventure Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adventure Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adventure Inn, a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Adventure Inn on a Saturday night en route to the Osa Peninsula. The food was great as was the service. I really liked our room - it opened up onto a gorgeous seating area and a small park below. The decor is lovely as well. We walked around the grounds a couple of times - there are a couple of ponds with pretty ducks and when we were there, cute little ducklings. There is a mom and ducklings crossing sign between the two ponds and at one point, the real ducks were standing below it! We would definitely stay at the Adventure Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    441
    86
    45
    17
See reviews for
403
648
192
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

While planning our trip we were surprised by the service we got from M. Robinson, owner of the hotel. He gave us great tips and advice and we left relaxed.

Upon arrival we started to have mixed feelings. Our room was fine... spacious, clean, not noisy, ... but our reservation to go to Puerto Viejo the day after by taking a rafting tour was not confirmed. In stead of paying $ 110 for a rafting experience, including our transfer to Puerto Viejo we ended up paying $ 170,00 for a private shuttle, since the receptionist 'forgot' to call Interbus, and we didn't get to raft. Of course the private shuttle was with the hotel driver.....

The hotel driver, Jorge, was a great guy which made up for the expensive transfer. He explained us everything there is to know on the way to Puerto Viejo.

We also stayed here our last night. Our room was newer than the first night, but a lot noisier close to the bar. It's was clean and spacious.
Another thing we noticed here is that we did not get the discount that they offer on the website (adventure hotels costa rica)... The site says that you get a 10% discount if you sleep in other hotels of the group... We did sleep elsewhere, but when me mentionned (and proved) it we didn't get the discount....

Breakfast was really good.

The hotel is close to the airport, but nowhere near the city centre.

It's a good start hotel, or hotel for your last night in Costa Rica, but doublecheck the reservations and make good and clear arrangements before the checkout.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureInn, Owner at Adventure Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
I am afraid these people are confused. They did not reserve a rafting trip through us or they would have received and been able to give us their confirmation number which they couldn't. Though they were asking about it, no where in my e-mail correspondence with them did they actually request us to book this tour. Plus Interbus is a shuttle bus company and has nothing to do with whitewater rafting. Plus the tour we arrange from Adventure Inn, including whitewater rafting on the Pacuare River, and finishing the day in Puerto Viejo is $99 per person, not $110. We book a lot of tours, transfers and car rentals, probably more than any hotel in Costa Rica, especially for our size, and though we are not perfect, we have a pretty good track record of making few mistakes. And when we do make a mistake, we pay whatever it takes to correct it so the guest is out nothing.

I founded Adventure Hotels of Costa Rica in 2005, an association of over seventy small owner-operated eco-friendly hotels strategically located throughout Costa Rica. When you mention the hotel association AT THE TIME OF BOOKING a room at any member hotel, they are supposed to give you a 10% discount. Occasionally some member hotels have new front desk employees that are not aware of the discount the hotel is obligated to give. In those cases please talk to the owner, or contact me immediately, and I will go to bat for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Above all, the staff consistently went out of their way to make everything a good experience. From reception to dining room to cleaning and laundry, the people were genuinely warm, helpful and thoughtful. They make an already wonderful Inn exceptional.

We went to Costa Rica wanting a true sense of the country. We weren't looking for accommodations that would make us feel like we were still back in the States. Adventure Inn gave us that taste and feel of Costa Rica without having to compromise on any of the comforts we enjoy while traveling.

Rooms were large, clean and very fresh feeling. Beds had crisp linens and the bathrooms were roomy with plenty of space to put daily essentials. The food was excellent and far beyond our expectations. We tried a different dish every night we were there and enjoyed everything we ate. Breakfast was a full meal with a choice from a breakfast menu and a wonderful array of fresh local fruits. The transfer from and back to the airport was a really good idea. It's not easy city to navigate if you're not used to it.

We're planning to come back and will look forward to staying there again. Between the service, hospitality, the location and the level of comfort and convenience, we feel we need look no further for where to stay when we come into and leave Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Adventure Inn on our arrival to and departure from Costa Rica.I would highly recomend this hotel, the staff are friendly and extremely helpful ,rooms are clean and spacious enough with air conditioning, the cute dining area serves up great food and a free breakfast,wifi and computers are available,and it was good to be able to make free phone calls to let our family know our travel progress. And to top it off we enjoyed relaxing in the pool and hot tub. All of this at a very reasonable cost. shelleys.reed@gmail.com from Maine

Room Tip: rooms on the south side away from the entrance are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spent two nights at Adventure Inn - one upon arriving in San Jose, and one just before an early morning departure.

From the minute I booked the rooms, the staff at Adventure Inn went beyond the call of duty to help make our arrival and departure seamless. I received the most comprehensive reservation confirmation I have ever seen - pages of information not just about the hotel and San Jose, but general travel tips for travelling in Costa Rica, with an invitation to ask for more information if I needed it. Their website includes pages of similar helpful tips and advice. I could tell that these people care about the experience people will have when visiting Costa Rica.

Our party arrived on separate flights, which was no problem. Adventure Inn had a shuttle waiting for us, which drove us to the hotel for no charge - much appreciated after a long day of flying!

Our room was large & clean, with all the amenities a traveler could hope for (and more!)... coffee maker in the room, TV, shower, free WiFi and free international calls! Also 4 computers with internet access in the common area upstairs - great for the safe arrival check in to the folks back home. A shelf of books, sofas for lounging, and a little gym to get the oxygen flowing! We were just there to lay down our weary heads and get on the road the next morning, but the experience at the hotel was a great way to start our trip.

They have a nice pool, which we didn't use except to stick our feet in.

Breakfast was included, and was well beyond any included breakfast I've had - a great buffet with fruit, bread, cereal, juices, coffee etc. as well as a menu to order a variety of other hot breakfast items (eggs, gallo pinto etc.). Yum!!!! Far exceeded my expectations here for sure.

Adventure Inn arranged a car rental for us and this process went smoothly as well. Eric had answered my many questions about what kind and size of vehicle we should rent, and we were extremely pleased with our choice (for 4 ppl, we got a Suziki Gran Vitara). It was $479 for a week, and we spent $100 on gas. Good deal! We were expecting to pay between $600-$800 for the car, so getting a break on the rate was appreciated. The car rental company dropped the car off at the hotel the next morning and we did the paperwork and were on our way!

On the return portion, the car rental company came back to Adventure Inn to pick up the car, which was awesome because we were not too keen on trying to navigate our way around the city.

We had gone from needing 2 rooms for our party to deciding to squeeze 5 of us into one room, which Adventure Inn cheerfully accommodated, and we had a huge room with 3 beds and plenty of space to get organized before departure! We had a 7am flight - Adventure Inn once again arranged a shuttle for us as well as providing us with a small snack since we would miss our included breakfast the next morning. All we had to do was present our meal ticket at the bar the night before, and at 5am we collected our fresh fruit, sandwich & juice pack at the front desk. Nothing fancy, but definitely appreciated and a great example of the level of hospitality you can expect from these folks.

Adventure Inn is, in fact, nothing fancy.... but it is friendly, helpful, clean and perfectly suited our needs as a place to start and end our visit to Costa Rica. We all agreed we would stay there again and would recommend it to people looking for a convenient place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great location from the airport and perfect for an overnight stay. There were three of us traveling and were given a large, clean comfortable room. Leaving the best for last-GREAT Breakfast. The French toast and pancakes are wonderful! Cute little dining area and you can even eat at the pool. All this at a great price. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for the night before our flight home from costa rica, after spending a week on the caribbean cost. After a week of staying in open air accommodations and being very close to nature, this was a nice way to get ready to go home. The bed was very comfortable, the A/C was nice, and the hotel restaurant/bar was good. The setup, with the pool and outdoor lounge area open to the restaurant, was also nice. Overall, a good value in a beautiful setting, and they provide free transport to the airport.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms have jacuzzi tubs which are pretty large. If you're not going to use them, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Inn

Address: Ciudad Cariari, Autopista General Canas | Between San Jose and SJO Airport, San Antonio De Belen, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern value-priced 3.5 star San Jose hotel convenient to both the airport and city with free airport shuttle service*. Enjoy a full American and Tico buffet and hot ordered breakfast; 34 spacious smoke-free rooms with A/C, cable, free international phone calls, safe ($1 extra), two new queen beds and a modern tiled bath; a nice restaurant and bar opening into our new outdoor pool complex, full wifi throughout, four guest computers, a new ten-piece gym, car rentals, central to Costa Rica's biggest and best tours, and unequalled travel help and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adventure Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel San Jose
Adventure San Jose
Adventure Inn Costa Rica/San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.