We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal place to use as home base in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Savings offer!
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal place to use as home base in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2006

Recently returned from a 14day stay at this property (i was down there for business). The staff at this hotel made me feel like i was at home & made it truly a great experience.

Pluses: the staff was simply amazing. They quickly learned my name/likes & did everything to cater to my needs (extra towels at pool, beer of choice, bottled water, etc.). I will confess that the bar staff of Edgar & Adrian were top-notch. We had a group of 15 in my party & they kept all of us entertained/happy (as well as teaching us Spanish words & telling us where to go).

Facilities are top-notch. They recently finished re-lining the upstairs pool & it is stunning & refreshing. The rooms are good size & have nice views of the pool/mountains (ask to be on that side when you check-in). The food choices are solid, as well.

All in all, i would stay there in a minute. I am already trying to get back there next month. I am confident that Edgar will greet me with a big smile & a cold Imperial!

I would highly recommend this property to anyone. It is convenient to the city & to the highways (we did day trips to the rainforest/cloud forest).

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    282
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
209
284
39
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport in a nice residential part of town. The hotel is very nicely put together - the restaurants are very good (especially, the Tapas place) and the beds are very comfortable. I have stayed in other San Jose hotels and definitely think this one is the best. I would definitely go back.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

This Marriott is simply a great place. The people who work here are warm and friendly. Even though it is a "Marriott", it could very well be owned by local Costa Ricans because you feel like it belongs here. The structure is definately locally designed. The rooms are comfortable and updated. The food at the hotel is great and they have both American and Costa Rican specialties. The prices are reasonable. The grounds are beautiful and they have 2 pools to swim in. One is for adults only.

The local tours offered through the hotelare great. They make everything easy for you. I strongly recommend visiting the La Paz water gardens and the Carillo Brillo National Park. Poas National Park was also a special place. There is so much to do and see here. The rain forest is magnificent and the nature guide we were with was great. I saw so much wildlife in their natural habitat, its simply amazing. I left Costa Rica with a new found knowledge about rain forests and the earth. Its truly a magical place were conservation is important and most locals are involved in the environmental sciences. The Costa Rican people are truly special people. Education is important here, as well as good manners and courtesy.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2006

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Costa Rica Marriott. The architecture of this resort is absolutely stunning and the Spanish colonial decor is sublime. Although located outside the city, it is a 'business' hotel' with many resort attributes including a beautiful pool, pool decks and wonderful landscaping - it is definitely not your typical Marriott commercial hotel. We were on a week long vacation in Costa Rica with our 10 year old son and this location was ideal for day trips we had planned. San Jose was easily accessible by taxi and the costs were reasonable. Highly recommended is the Rainforest Aerial Tram excursion on the Caribbean/Atlantic side - (we were so impressed with their location on the Pacific side that we visited their park on the Atlantic side.
Special recognition to the wonderful ladies who staffed the executive lounge at the Costa Rica Marriott - our son got a bit of a stomach bug and their care, concern and helpfulness was much appreciated.
The hotel is gorgeous and the staff are wonderful.

  • Liked — Architecture, landscaping, decor, staff, service
  • Disliked — Matresses a bit soft, bed linens (sheets) a bit thin & worn
  • Tips/Secrets — Book category with executive lounge access, wonderful service & goodies throughout day/evening
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

Rooms, common areas, gym, pool, and lobby were beautiful and clean. The restaurants in the hotel were more expensive than comparable ones in the United States. It is less expensive to take a taxi off-site to a local restaurant than to eat at the hotel's restaurants! The breakfast buffet is expansive and delicious - try to negotiate that into your nightly rate. Watch for hidden costs on your bill when you check out. They automatically charge you for a donation to Habitat for Humanity - you have to ask them to take it off. Also look out for drink charges you never ordered.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

We don't usually do 5 Star but this was worth it and it was value for money. We treated ourselves to a 1 night stay at the beginning of our trip and at the end and it was such a good decision! My other half and I are fairly well travelled and usually only stay in 3 star + when travelling for business otherwise we usual opt for budget places. We both thought this hotel was worth the money. We had a hellish flight fraught with delays so didn't arrive until the small hours of the morning but the hotel staff we so warm and welcoming even at that obscene hour. The rooms were lovely and have the best fluffy pillows (6 per bed!) and quilts of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The beds are great too you can really stretch out in them which is good after a cramped flight. The in room amenities are great. The service is top notch they really go the extra mile for their guests. The swimming pool is lovely. The first night we stayed fell on a weekend so a breakfast buffet was included and it was divine and had so much choice I only got half way through it. The bar near the pool served good drinks and the service was excellent. The hotel itself is lovely all the tiled floors are polished daily. The level of service and the little extras like express checkout, pre payment of airport tax, shuttle bus to/from the airport and breakfast available from 4:30 am, the Bath and Body shop toiletries and the beds make it worth the stay even if for 1 night before or after a flight.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

We recently returned from 4 nights at the Marriott in San Jose, the 1st 3 nights then our last night in CR. We visited the Osa Peninsula in between for 5 nights. The Marriott is conveniently close to the airport and has a complimentary shuttle which runs every half hour. The hotel is very beautiful with mountain views. Exotic flowers are everywhere. We saw 3 different weddings in our short stay. Food was excellent. We had lunch in Hermosa restaurant and it was great. We had our breakfasts as well as snacks in the executive lounge where the service was top notch. The concierge arranged for a taxi for us to tour San Jose for only $13 per hour. Another arranged taxi took us to a great restaurant for dinner. 2 pools, jacuzi, and gym were 1st class. Without reservation, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.