We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Savings offer!
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Employees are all very kind and the rooms are very confortable.
The building ia old but everything works perfectly.
The Coffee plantation and the golf court around makes it more beautiful.
The gym is big, but crowded everything morning. Breakfast is complete.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments ,
the hotel is located on a beautiful coffee plantation under the shadow of the Escazu hills and on site we also have our golf driving range and the Spa with a very nice gym.
It is great to hear that you did enjoy our comfortable rooms and our service staff in order to make your stay perfect .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    275
    69
    31
    19
See reviews for
207
279
38
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late before heading out to Arenal. Loved this hotel! Beds are so comfy and the pools, jacuzzi are so nice. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and good. Great hotel if staying in SJO. Cabs are about $10-$15 ow from airport and only takes a few minutes.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy you enjoyed our property and that you loved our comfortable beds and the pool area .
We are looking forward to serve you soon in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

On a recent business trip to Costa Rica, I choose to stay at the Marriott San José. Well located near the Airport, build in a pretty 'California Med' or 'Hacienda' style, with nice and attentive service and rather decent restaurants, it is a nice place to stay overnight. However, I feel is about time that some funds are invested in an overdue refurbishing of the place. Rooms and bathrooms are tidy and clean, but you still get the feel in of a 'sixties' hotel where not much has happened in the last three decades...In a country like Costa Rica, where 'Top Players' like the 'Four Seasons' are in the game, either you sharpen up, or the competition will flatten you...

Room Tip: Inisist on a room with a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Htel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your feed back and comments , this information will help us to stay on strategy , the hotel is planning to have food and beverage concept changes and other new changes in the future.
Again thank you very much for your valuable feed back and we are looking forward to host you again soon .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Marriott San Jose twice on our way to diving safari and we liked it very much. Everything starting with location and finishing with small details such as the nice pastry and souvenir shop is well organized. The staff is friendly, the rooms are specious. The Spanish tapas restaurant downstairs is absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy that you did enjoy our room and the pastries in our Costa Rican coffee shop . It is very nice to hear that you had a fantastic experience in our Spanish tapas restaurant .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and will definitely go back again. The hotel is not your typical run of the mill Marriott. It's a beautiful Hacienda style hotel with a lot to offer. Occasionally they offer great deals too! The rooms are very nice, with large plush comfy beds. The breakfast buffet has everything you could think of, and it is just such a nice relaxing hotel, but also close to the airport, if you just need one night before you leave the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our comfortable bed and room .Also it is nice to hear that you did like our selections and options of our breakfast buffet .
We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great hotel, nice rooms, excellent Tapas Restaurant, and superb breakfast on a sunny deck overlooking a pretty golf course.
I somehow left the charger for my razor, and didn't notice until two days later, when we were miles away. I called and one of the desk managers, Melania Mora, said she would take care of the problem. She arranged with Swiss Travel (an excellent local co.) to get it picked up by their next driver, brought back to their main office, and sent by another driver to our last Hotel in Costa Rica!
I got it! What service!! ***** (five stars)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are very happy that you had a great hotel service experience , and that you enjoyed our restaurants .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay at the Costa Rica Marriott San Jose each time we come to Costa Rica, about once a year. It is a beautiful hotel in the Spanish Hacienda style, with lush grounds, two lovely swimming pools (adult and child), a full spa, modern and pleasant gym, tennis courts and golf putting range.

Your food options include a top notch restaurant (Antigua) as well as a Spanish tapas bar, an elegant bar for drinks and small eats, and a cafe that offers pastries, empanadas and other savory bites, and of course hot and cold beverages. Everything is quite expensive, so do be prepared for that. The breakfast buffet in the Antigua restaurant is excellent, offering a nice variety of hot dishes including some typical Costa Rican options, a variety of breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, jams, peanut butter and other spreads, and fresh juices or juice blends made to order on the spot. What is more, you can sit at a table on the covered patio and enjoy fresh air and a gorgeous view of the hotel grounds.

The rooms are lovely, well appointed and comfortable, including beds and bedding. Very importantly, you have a thermostat to control the temperature in your room, which allows you to use the air conditioning but control the temperature. This helps eliminate the humidity and mugginess that can be uncomfortable in Costa Rica, without freezing in the process. The only negative is that there can be a bit of noise through the door from the corridors, as they have tile floors and sound tends to magnify a bit, but this just meant a bit of noise in the early morning as travelers with early flights departed and spoke too loudly. If you get an Executive room, you gain access to the Executive lounge on the 4th floor, which offers a small breakfast and dinner spread at those hours, and free hot and cold beverages and water bottles at any hour from 5 am to midnight. This lounge makes getting an Executive room well worthwhile, so that you can get a cup of tea, coffeee, an espresso, a small snack at any hour without additional charge, and even a meal at certain hours.

Service is excellent, as all personnel clearly have been trained to offer the most attentive, polite and friendly service.

The only thing you will not get at this hotel is an authentic Costa Rican hotel experience. This is an American hotel with American class bedding, amenities, services and prices. For us, it is an oasis of luxury in a country where things are not always comfortable, even at highly rated hotels. It comes with a price, as the hotel is expensive, but we would not go anywhere else in the San Jose area.

Also, this hotel is close to the airport, but a good 30 minutes from the center of San Jose, so just be aware of that.

Room Tip: Choose an executive level room, both for the view, the free WiFi and - most of all - access to the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our hotel service, our facilities , the food and beverage outlets and the Spa .
we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.