We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Savings offer!
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and will definitely go back again. The hotel is not your typical run of the mill Marriott. It's a beautiful Hacienda style hotel with a lot to offer. Occasionally they offer great deals too! The rooms are very nice, with large plush comfy beds. The breakfast buffet has everything you could think of, and it is just such a nice relaxing hotel, but also close to the airport, if you just need one night before you leave the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our comfortable bed and room .Also it is nice to hear that you did like our selections and options of our breakfast buffet .
We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    277
    69
    31
    19
See reviews for
207
281
38
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great hotel, nice rooms, excellent Tapas Restaurant, and superb breakfast on a sunny deck overlooking a pretty golf course.
I somehow left the charger for my razor, and didn't notice until two days later, when we were miles away. I called and one of the desk managers, Melania Mora, said she would take care of the problem. She arranged with Swiss Travel (an excellent local co.) to get it picked up by their next driver, brought back to their main office, and sent by another driver to our last Hotel in Costa Rica!
I got it! What service!! ***** (five stars)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are very happy that you had a great hotel service experience , and that you enjoyed our restaurants .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay at the Costa Rica Marriott San Jose each time we come to Costa Rica, about once a year. It is a beautiful hotel in the Spanish Hacienda style, with lush grounds, two lovely swimming pools (adult and child), a full spa, modern and pleasant gym, tennis courts and golf putting range.

Your food options include a top notch restaurant (Antigua) as well as a Spanish tapas bar, an elegant bar for drinks and small eats, and a cafe that offers pastries, empanadas and other savory bites, and of course hot and cold beverages. Everything is quite expensive, so do be prepared for that. The breakfast buffet in the Antigua restaurant is excellent, offering a nice variety of hot dishes including some typical Costa Rican options, a variety of breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, jams, peanut butter and other spreads, and fresh juices or juice blends made to order on the spot. What is more, you can sit at a table on the covered patio and enjoy fresh air and a gorgeous view of the hotel grounds.

The rooms are lovely, well appointed and comfortable, including beds and bedding. Very importantly, you have a thermostat to control the temperature in your room, which allows you to use the air conditioning but control the temperature. This helps eliminate the humidity and mugginess that can be uncomfortable in Costa Rica, without freezing in the process. The only negative is that there can be a bit of noise through the door from the corridors, as they have tile floors and sound tends to magnify a bit, but this just meant a bit of noise in the early morning as travelers with early flights departed and spoke too loudly. If you get an Executive room, you gain access to the Executive lounge on the 4th floor, which offers a small breakfast and dinner spread at those hours, and free hot and cold beverages and water bottles at any hour from 5 am to midnight. This lounge makes getting an Executive room well worthwhile, so that you can get a cup of tea, coffeee, an espresso, a small snack at any hour without additional charge, and even a meal at certain hours.

Service is excellent, as all personnel clearly have been trained to offer the most attentive, polite and friendly service.

The only thing you will not get at this hotel is an authentic Costa Rican hotel experience. This is an American hotel with American class bedding, amenities, services and prices. For us, it is an oasis of luxury in a country where things are not always comfortable, even at highly rated hotels. It comes with a price, as the hotel is expensive, but we would not go anywhere else in the San Jose area.

Also, this hotel is close to the airport, but a good 30 minutes from the center of San Jose, so just be aware of that.

Room Tip: Choose an executive level room, both for the view, the free WiFi and - most of all - access to the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our hotel service, our facilities , the food and beverage outlets and the Spa .
we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel looks fab. Beautifully built. Our room was spacious, clean and had direct access to the pool. Breakfast was nice. The best thing however is the bar which serves amazing cocktails on the terrace and the tapas restaurant, which served some of the best tapas and wine I have ever experienced. We stayed one night, 2 would have been good to enjoy the pool and the grounds. I would not stay any longer however as its far from SJ central. This is a good location when flying in/out of CR.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our cocktails in the bar and the tapas in our Spanish restaurant . We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I love going to this hotel for their spa services and also a very kept secret is their Spain Tapas Bar, usually lots of guest just miss it because is near the patio area. Their sangria is very, very good and the Spanish tortilla is terrific, it's a must try if you stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments and feed back , we are very happy you did enjoy the Spanish tapas restaurant and our Spa services. we are looking forward to serve you again the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay,California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The main reason I picked this hotel is its location - ~10 min drive from the airport, and close to work (America Free Trade Zone). However, I found this hotel has many other qualities that made the stay enjoyable. It is housed in what feels like an old colonial style building, with a giant courtyard. The rooms are not exactly modern, but comfortable, and sufficiently spacious. I loved the breakfast on the patio at the restaurant, overlooking the driving range. The pool area was very nice, too. The only downside I can think of is if I would be here to tour San Jose, it would probably be a bit too far (the traffic is horrendous during rush hour), and there is nothing really close by in terms of shops or restaurants, other than the places inside the hotel. But on my next trup I will stay here again - as they say: location, location, location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback , we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a nice experience .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and thought the hotel was great. The rooms were very spacious and the grounds were maintained beautifully. We loved the ornate iron work throughout the hotel and enjoyed the pool area as well. Many beautiful birds flew past us outside. The staff was very friendly, especially our bartender/waiter John, in the bar area upstairs. It was worth spending a few dollars more at the hotel to have our exit taxes paid and not have to wait in line at the airport in the morning. It was also convenient to book a taxi through the hotel and just give the taxi driver a voucher when we walked out of the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a higher room with a pool view (room 516) and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy you had an great experience in our hotel .
We are looking forward to host you again soon in the near future
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.