We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, luxurious, comfortable hotel near airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful, luxurious, comfortable hotel near airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay at the Costa Rica Marriott San Jose each time we come to Costa Rica, about once a year. It is a beautiful hotel in the Spanish Hacienda style, with lush grounds, two lovely swimming pools (adult and child), a full spa, modern and pleasant gym, tennis courts and golf putting range.

Your food options include a top notch restaurant (Antigua) as well as a Spanish tapas bar, an elegant bar for drinks and small eats, and a cafe that offers pastries, empanadas and other savory bites, and of course hot and cold beverages. Everything is quite expensive, so do be prepared for that. The breakfast buffet in the Antigua restaurant is excellent, offering a nice variety of hot dishes including some typical Costa Rican options, a variety of breads, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, jams, peanut butter and other spreads, and fresh juices or juice blends made to order on the spot. What is more, you can sit at a table on the covered patio and enjoy fresh air and a gorgeous view of the hotel grounds.

The rooms are lovely, well appointed and comfortable, including beds and bedding. Very importantly, you have a thermostat to control the temperature in your room, which allows you to use the air conditioning but control the temperature. This helps eliminate the humidity and mugginess that can be uncomfortable in Costa Rica, without freezing in the process. The only negative is that there can be a bit of noise through the door from the corridors, as they have tile floors and sound tends to magnify a bit, but this just meant a bit of noise in the early morning as travelers with early flights departed and spoke too loudly. If you get an Executive room, you gain access to the Executive lounge on the 4th floor, which offers a small breakfast and dinner spread at those hours, and free hot and cold beverages and water bottles at any hour from 5 am to midnight. This lounge makes getting an Executive room well worthwhile, so that you can get a cup of tea, coffeee, an espresso, a small snack at any hour without additional charge, and even a meal at certain hours.

Service is excellent, as all personnel clearly have been trained to offer the most attentive, polite and friendly service.

The only thing you will not get at this hotel is an authentic Costa Rican hotel experience. This is an American hotel with American class bedding, amenities, services and prices. For us, it is an oasis of luxury in a country where things are not always comfortable, even at highly rated hotels. It comes with a price, as the hotel is expensive, but we would not go anywhere else in the San Jose area.

Also, this hotel is close to the airport, but a good 30 minutes from the center of San Jose, so just be aware of that.

Room Tip: Choose an executive level room, both for the view, the free WiFi and - most of all - access to the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our hotel service, our facilities , the food and beverage outlets and the Spa .
we are looking forward to serve you again in the near future .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    285
    70
    32
    19
See reviews for
210
285
39
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel looks fab. Beautifully built. Our room was spacious, clean and had direct access to the pool. Breakfast was nice. The best thing however is the bar which serves amazing cocktails on the terrace and the tapas restaurant, which served some of the best tapas and wine I have ever experienced. We stayed one night, 2 would have been good to enjoy the pool and the grounds. I would not stay any longer however as its far from SJ central. This is a good location when flying in/out of CR.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments , we are very happy that you did enjoy our cocktails in the bar and the tapas in our Spanish restaurant . We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I love going to this hotel for their spa services and also a very kept secret is their Spain Tapas Bar, usually lots of guest just miss it because is near the patio area. Their sangria is very, very good and the Spanish tortilla is terrific, it's a must try if you stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments and feed back , we are very happy you did enjoy the Spanish tapas restaurant and our Spa services. we are looking forward to serve you again the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay,California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The main reason I picked this hotel is its location - ~10 min drive from the airport, and close to work (America Free Trade Zone). However, I found this hotel has many other qualities that made the stay enjoyable. It is housed in what feels like an old colonial style building, with a giant courtyard. The rooms are not exactly modern, but comfortable, and sufficiently spacious. I loved the breakfast on the patio at the restaurant, overlooking the driving range. The pool area was very nice, too. The only downside I can think of is if I would be here to tour San Jose, it would probably be a bit too far (the traffic is horrendous during rush hour), and there is nothing really close by in terms of shops or restaurants, other than the places inside the hotel. But on my next trup I will stay here again - as they say: location, location, location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback , we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a nice experience .
We are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday and thought the hotel was great. The rooms were very spacious and the grounds were maintained beautifully. We loved the ornate iron work throughout the hotel and enjoyed the pool area as well. Many beautiful birds flew past us outside. The staff was very friendly, especially our bartender/waiter John, in the bar area upstairs. It was worth spending a few dollars more at the hotel to have our exit taxes paid and not have to wait in line at the airport in the morning. It was also convenient to book a taxi through the hotel and just give the taxi driver a voucher when we walked out of the lobby. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a higher room with a pool view (room 516) and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy you had an great experience in our hotel .
We are looking forward to host you again soon in the near future
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersvile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last night in Costa Rica before flying home. The pools and the grounds were very nice. The rooms are standard Marriott rooms (clean and alright size but nothing special). The hotel had a good coffee shop/bistro that my wife and daughter enjoyed. The resteraunt was good, but a little pricey. It is close to the airport and a decent place to stay when flying in or out of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments , we are happy that you did enjoy our hotel and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott in San Jose for 5 nights on a business trip. The hotel in terms of service during my entire stay was just average when compared to the kind of service one gets when visiting some of the Islands in the Caribbean.

I found the staff overall to be friendly in an average sort of way but few going out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. There is absolutely no “joy” in this place and you can feel it as you go along.

The coffee shop had one absolutely super guy , a young man, whose suggestions for lunch were spot on and who also made the effort to go all the way to the main kitchen to get me hot sauce etc when they did not offer it in the coffee shop. He was the exception and provided exceptional customer service. The staff in the main dining room (especially at breakfast) was a hit and miss affair in terms of service. All depended on where you were seated and who you got to serve you. The waitress I got on both days should have been retired a long time ago. She felt that her responsibility was to dump a pot of coffee in front of you and simultaneously leave your bill for the buffet right next to the coffee pot so she never had to return again ! My buffet plates got picked up all at once when I was done on the first day. The second day I had to call her over. Eating my breakfast with a bill next to me and used plates with food al around was not my idea of a good setting. The food is expensive mercifully I was on the company’s dime so did not have to worry about the prices. A simple and solid lunch at the coffee shop is about 25$ USD, dinner in the main restaurant is about 50$ US and Breakfast (buffet) about 30$ US.

The good about this place is the following. The place is absolutely spotless. You can see how the workman really clean up the common areas tiled floors with machines and elbow grease. They absolutely sparkle. The rooms are spotless too and the maid service leaves them spotless every single day. I used the laundry service and was happy with the hand in at 10 am and return by 4 pm (even earlier the second time). The breakfast choices are excellent – fresh omelets custom made and mouthwatering everything ! Hot and cold. Attached a view of the mountains and golf course from the restaurant when seated outside. Its breathtaking. The food is exceptional too. Great tasting and variety galore to choose from. I went in too late on the Saturday night and most of the food dried out but they had fresh custom made pizza with your choices of toppings that really hit the spot. I used the gym every day and also used the SPA. The SPA is amazing, Half hour message cost me 50 US plus ten dollars tax etc that included exclusive use of the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. Attached pics of the Gym (SPA is next door to it)

You can put your cab fare on the hotel bill which is great for expenses. I made arrangements to see the volcano carter and the lake next to it. It was about 1 hour by car up the mountain to 2,700 feet above sea level. About a half hour walk from the parking lot to the volcano lake and about 15 minutes from the parking lot to the volcano crater. 10 US admission per person to get into the park that is Police patrolled. If you get in after 10 am good chance you won’t see any of the carter because of the cloud cover. The lake on the other hand is always visible and stunning. Attached a picture of it. Because of the thin air you will become breathless in no time walking around so pace yourself its worth it and it is truly an experience. The drive up and down is safe with some sheer drops in the occasional places but overall completely safe and paved road. The guided tours in a bus are around 110 US per person. A cab ride up , look around for an hour and a half plus return to the hotel will run you about 130US but the convinence and private service is worth it. I was not interested in eating there

All in all – good enough for business travel, close to the airport. I paid my departure tax at the hotel (they give you an official government receipt) that cost 35 US vs buying it at the airport for 29US. Was happy to save the time and go straight to the check in at the hotel.

Room Tip: The floors in the common hallway are made of tile not carpet.Very early in the morning you will alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Hotel Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your commnents , we really appriciate your feedback during your stay and this will help us to improve our quality of service . We are glad you enjoyed the tour and the beauty of Costa Rica , the Spa facility and our friendly staff . We are looking forward to host you again in the near future and will remain at your service .
Bert Bloem Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.