We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a very friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose to your Saves list
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Airport Shuttle Offer
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a very friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful beautiful hotel great food , lovely pool; staff is very helpful . The restaurants are gredtceoyj much variety . The coffee is wonderful . Handicap accessible !! Conference facilities are very nice .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bert B, Manager at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for these kind feed back , we are very glad you had had a fantatstic time in Costa Rica , we are looking forward to host you again .
Bert Bloem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    274
    67
    30
    19
See reviews for
204
275
38
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 1 day at the start and end of our beach trip to Jaco. The staff was very helpful and nice. The food and drinks here were also very good. After a week in Costa Rica a few people and in our party commented that staying here was like being back in the united states. The breakfasts are amazing and the coffee is good too. It is only 10 minutes to the airport so if you got an early morning flight as we did there is no problem getting there on time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we are glad you feel welcome in our hotel, we always do our best to make people feeling like they were at home.
Regards,

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is fairly close to the airport and away from the hussle-bussle of San Jose city. We had a tourguide pick us up and drop us, so location was not an issue at all. All you can eat dinner for $20 is very reasonable (kids free). The ATM spits out in both dollars and colones! The room itself was very nice, although we walked quite a bit from the elevator. The major downside is that there are no restaurants walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments, we are glad we have reached your expectations.
We have the best restaurants in the area, but for next time if you like to try other options, our concierge will be more than happy to assist you making you very good restaurant’s suggestions, not walking distance but no far away.

Oscar Bolaños Vargas
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Grounds were clean and polished. The room was ok until a wedding party was playing music all night. I don't fault the wedding, its their special day. I fault the hotel for letting the party run well past 12am. We were moved to another room which was old & stinky. Most travelers who stay here are coming or going into Costa Rica.

The hot tube was dirty, and the only 1 jet was working.

The breakfast was gross.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your feedback, this is very important for us in order to achieve our goal, to be the best place to stay in San Jose.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced in our hotel, rest assure that immediately action were taken in order to avoid this for happening in the future.
If there is any additional comment that you like to share with us, please do not hesitate in contacting me at oscar.bolanos@marriotthotels.com

Regards,

Oscar Bolaños
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is a little removed from the main strip….but if you’re looking for peace & quiet, then this is just the place you will find it!

The property is tidy and beautifully maintained. The staff is welcoming and courteous at every turn, starting upon your arrival. The rich vibrant colors accented against a Mediterranean-style design is seen from the wall décor to the tiled floors, and gives this place a very rustic elegance while setting the tone for a tranquil experience.

From the 3rd floor up, you will have a very nice view! If you want a landscape view, ask for a room facing the mountains/golf course. If you want an aquatic scene, ask for a view of the pools. The mountain/golf course scene may be a little quieter, although the type of guests that this place attracts seems to be more middle to upper-class business clientele, families, and couples (they do their fair share of beautifully intimate weddings on the property….when you see the majestic views, you’ll understand why!) Noise levels at the pool/jacuzzi area was always minimal and at night it was very peaceful, so if you have the gorgeous pool view, your night time rest should be very content. The rooms are well equipped, neat, and the décor plush and attractive. The same quality of excellence you expect to find at a well-maintained Marriott property in the United States, that standard is upheld here (that includes that fabulously lush bedding that the Marriott properties are known for!)

They have several great restaurants on their property and I found them to be reasonable priced when compared to other resorts I have stayed in. Yes, you will pay a little more for the convenience of dining on the premises, but the quality and portion sizes of the meals are very satisfactory. Their on-site café serves up scrumptious sandwiches, coffee, tea, desserts and lighter fare in a very relaxed setting. Their breakfast is fantastic! It’s all you can eat including a made-to-order omelet station, and the food is fresh no matter how late you come down…and for those of us who like to sleep in late on our vacations, they serve it until late morning!

They have a spa and a well-equipped gym; the chilled mini-facecloths in the fridge to help you cool down after your workout is an example of the little touches that make this place a nice stay!
If you do nothing else, take the time to tour the grounds! There are pathways that will lead you all around this beautifully landscaped property. Plug out your ear-pieces and go I-POD free! From the birds to the majestic bamboo trees, this nature walk will be so worth it!

For some adventures off the property, they make that convenient too! They have an on-site excursion desk in the lobby and an office by the café at the front of the hotel that offers a wide variety of activities ranging from a low-impact sight-seeing city tour (I recommend that if you want to get a snap-shot glimpse of the city, do this tour, cost: around $45), to highly active zip-lining, mountain trekking, volcano and/or water excursions, etc. They have an entire menu to fit every budget and activity pace, and they arrange the on-site hotel pick-up and drop off too, all included in the price.

Over-all, this Marriott property is truly worth your consideration. My lodging choice was an essential focal point of my planned 4-day restful vacation in Costa Rica, and I can truly say that this property lived up to my best expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear MiramarRN_Prof, such a nice description of our hotel, we are so glad that you have experienced our coffee hacienda as the way you did, you have described our hotel as the paradise we work hard for it to be.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful comments.
Looking forward to meet you on your next visit.

At your service,

Oscar Bolaños
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent stay for business or pleasure. Near the airport. Nice Spa, driving range and tennis court. Executive lounge all day. Easy check in and check out. The staff was EXCELLENT and service was exceptional.

It was easy to have the hotel arrange transportation but we had a rental car. If you rent a car make sure to also get a GPS and not one from the USA as they do not work.

I frequent Marriott hotels and this hotel is very lovely...it has a rustic feel to it. The hotel use to be a Coffee plantation before it became a Marriott.

I highly recomment this hotel but the location is not near any eating facilities. However, the hotel has lovely restaurants. We ate in the Antigua restaurant and the food (or at least what I ate) was superb! We ate there on Saturday night July 6th and enjoyed the Argentinian grill.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a walkout pool view and it was AMAZING!...room# 216. The view was very nice. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Miaangela, thank you for staying with us, and for your loyalty to Marriott, we are proud of our staff, they do an excellent job as you described it.
Looking forward for your next visit to our beautiful hacienda.

Regards,

Oscar Bolaños
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My dad works for Marriott so I have been staying at Marriott's for a very long time. I always have a high expectation for the amenities and staff when I check in but my expectations aren't always met. However, that certainly is not the case with this Marriott. My expectations were well exceeded.

Usually when staying on an employee rate, I am given the least desirable room in the hotel. However, when the front desk agent learned we were celebrating my birthday, without hesitation, she gave us a large room with an incredible view.

Fabian in the coffee shop shared with us the rich history of coffee plantations in Costa Rica and specifically the history of the coffee plantation that was previously where the Marriott now stands. He not only made us the best traditional Costa Rican coffee we have had, but he served us a wealth of knowledge and pride of his home country as well.

We weren't able to take advantage of the amenities aside from the hot tub, which was very well designed with slanted backs to optimize relaxation, but we enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel.

We live in Costa Rica and have decided to make this Marriott our "staycation" place of choice. We look forward to returning in a few months.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OscarFOM, Gerente at Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Leeah K, first of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for such a very special occasion.
knowing that our associates are doing a great job, make us very proud, all of them are always looking for the service excellence, and Fabian is not an exception.
We really appreciate your kind comments, and we would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you.

Oscar Bolaños
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose

Address: 700 mts West from Bridgestone/Firestone, San Antonio De Belen 502-4005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > San Antonio De Belen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Antonio De Belen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Marriott San Jose
Marriott San Antonio De Belen
Marriott San Jose
Marriott Costa Rica
San Jose Marriott
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose San Antonio De Belen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.